Author Of The Week: Chat with Sarah Henning (The Princess Will Save You), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

unnamed-_20200704-035529_1

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

Introducing Sarah Henning, YABC's Author of the Week!

SARAH HENNING is a recovering journalist who has worked for Palm Beach PostKansas City Star, and Associated Press, among others. Her novels include Sea Witch and Throw Like a Girl. When not writing, she runs ultramarathons, hits the playground with her two kids and hangs out with her husband Justin, who doubles as her long-suffering IT department.

 

Website * Twitter * Instagram

 
 
 
 
 
 

Meet The Princess Will Save You!

     

A PRINCESS
A STABLE BOY
A QUEST

When her father dies, Princess Amarande is given an ultimatum: Marry the leader of one of the four neighboring kingdoms, or lose her crown—and possibly her life. And to force her hand, her beloved, the stable boy Luca, is kidnapped.

But Amarande was raised to be a warrior, not a sacrifice.

And nothing will stop her from saving her true love and rescuing her kingdom.

The acclaimed author of Sea Witch turns the classic damsel-in-distress tale on its head with this story of adventure, identity, and love.
 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
~ Author Chat ~
 


YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?


I think they actually came at the same time. The Princess Will Save You is the story of Princess Amarande of Ardenia, whose commoner true love, a stable boy named Luca, is kidnapped in a bid to push her into a political marriage. But rather than play the game, she changes it—setting out to rescue Luca, and possibly her kingdom’s future in the process. I knew I wanted not only for Amarande’s resolve to be questioned by the kidnappers but also for Luca to know she would come for him and insist upon it. Of course, one of the kidnappers scoffs at Luca’s insistence and throws it back in his face, saying, “The princess will save you? Yes, yes, that’s right. That’s how all the storybooks go.” So, that had to be the title.

 

 

      YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?


This book is very obviously and proudly inspired by The Princess Bride, which I love to death. It’s not a retelling, but it definitely takes the things I love about story and highlights them with a gender-bent twist. It also addresses the one piece of the story that I’m not crazy about: the scene after Buttercup’s sham of a wedding to Humperdinck. Buttercup has given up on everything. Somehow she has managed to secure not only a dagger but also a private room, and decides that she must end it—a future with the traitorous Humperdinck is far too bleak without the hope of ever seeing Westley again. The Buttercup we met at the beginning of this story, or even in the middle of it, would’ve taken that dagger and paid revenge. As fierce as she was, she would have done whatever she could have to reclaim her life and her love. And yet she didn’t. I wanted to address the discomfort I had with her inaction—and that of other damsel-type characters—in my own way.



 

      YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

This is so hard to answer without giving things away! I’ll have to say that the last third went exactly as I wanted in pretty much every way. Sorry/not sorry.



 

YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate? 

Again, I don’t want to give away too much but I have my own take on the “Pit of Despair” scene from The Princess Bride and it was way more painful to write than I expected. When these characters live in your head for months and eventually years on end, it’s so hard to hurt them—and that was so very difficult in this case. I actually lucked out in that I was able to project my personal reaction onto another character as part of this dramatic event and that was therapeutic in a way. It added some relief!

 

 

    YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Drafting. 100 percent. I know not every writer agrees with me but it most definitely is my favorite part. Living in my characters’ world, getting to know them, being surprised when they are, and getting that jolt out of turning around the perfect piece of dialogue, paragraph, scene. I live for that.



 

      YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?


The only thing you can control is the story. Start there and everything else will follow. This is hard for me because I’d like to control more than that but it’s impossible to move every piece, no matter how hard you try.



 

      YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I have been so very lucky with all my covers. With my fantasies, I’ve had beautiful illustrated covers with the most fierce-looking girls in the world. Seriously. Sea Witch and Sea Witch Rising were amazing covers by Anna Dittmann, and then The Princess Will Save You has the very identifiable signature of Charlie Bowater. Charlie’s art perfectly captured Amarande’s and Luca’s determination, fierceness, and love, while bringing in the unforgiving nature of the land that’s home to their quest.



 

      YABC:  What’s up next for you?

The sequel to The Princess Will Save You comes out in summer 2021 and I am so excited to share it with you!

 

 

 

     

The Princess Will Save You 

By: Sarah Henning

Publisher: Tor Teen

Release Date: July 7th, 2020

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 

Two winners will receive a copy of The Princess Will Save You (Sarah Henning) ~ (US Only)
 
   
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

It's Live! Cover Reveal: Fractured by Shay Siegel ...
YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ June 6th, 2020

Related Posts

 

Comments 13

Already Registered? Login Here
Shilo Quetchenbach on Monday, 06 July 2020 20:47

I like the cover and the synopsis sounds like it could be great. I do like the Princess Bride...

0
I like the cover and the synopsis sounds like it could be great. I do like the Princess Bride...
Zachary Snyder on Monday, 06 July 2020 21:40

Book looks great! Look forward to reading it!

0
Book looks great! Look forward to reading it!
Davianna Nieto on Monday, 13 July 2020 18:26

The cover is absolutely gorgeous and the synopsis is intriguing.

0
The cover is absolutely gorgeous and the synopsis is intriguing.
Morgan on Tuesday, 14 July 2020 13:26

I hear such amazing things about this book! I can't wait to read it1

0
I hear such amazing things about this book! I can't wait to read it1
Lindsay on Wednesday, 15 July 2020 22:44

This cover art is gorgeous!! This sounds like such a good retelling of The Princess Bride!

0
This cover art is gorgeous!! This sounds like such a good retelling of The Princess Bride!
Madeline Tebo on Friday, 17 July 2020 21:31

I can't wait to read this! It sounds amazing!

0
I can't wait to read this! It sounds amazing!
Alivia Hartz on Saturday, 18 July 2020 09:36

The cover is gorgeous, and I cannot wait to read this book!!!

0
The cover is gorgeous, and I cannot wait to read this book!!!
Kacie on Sunday, 26 July 2020 12:54

This cover is beautiful! This book sounds like something I would definitely enjoy. I can't wait to read it!

0
This cover is beautiful! This book sounds like something I would definitely enjoy. I can't wait to read it!
Lily M. on Monday, 27 July 2020 21:59

Loving this cover and the title, can't wait to check it out ?

0
Loving this cover and the title, can't wait to check it out ?
Andrea Cerda on Tuesday, 28 July 2020 17:24

Cover and sypnosis look awesome!!!

0
Cover and sypnosis look awesome!!!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."