Author Of The Week: Chat with Roshani Chokshi (The Gilded Wolves), Plus Giveaway!

unnamed-1

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

 

 

Introducing Roshani Chokshi, YABC's Author of the Week!!

Roshani Chokshi is the New York Times bestselling author of Aru Shah and the End of Time, The Star-Touched Queen, A Crown of Wishes, and The Gilded Wolves. Her work has been nominated for the Locus and Nebula awards, and her books have appeared on Barnes and Nobles Best New Books of the Year and Buzzfeed Best Books of the Year lists. Chokshi lives in Georgia, but doesn’t have much of a Southern accent. Alas. For more information, visit her website, www.RoshaniChokshi.com, or follow her on Twitter @Roshani_Chokshi and Instagram @roshanichokshi.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Meet The Gilded Wolves!!
 
 

From New York Times bestselling author Roshani Chokshi comes a novel set in Paris during a time of extraordinary change--one that is full of mystery, decadence, and dangerous desires...No one believes in them. But soon no one will forget them.

It's 1889. The city is on the cusp of industry and power, and the Exposition Universelle has breathed new life into the streets and dredged up ancient secrets. Here, no one keeps tabs on dark truths better than treasure-hunter and wealthy hotelier Séverin Montagnet-Alarie. When the elite, ever-powerful Order of Babel coerces him to help them on a mission, Séverin is offered a treasure that he never imagined: his true inheritance.

To hunt down the ancient artifact the Order seeks, Séverin calls upon a band of unlikely experts: An engineer with a debt to pay. A historian banished from his home. A dancer with a sinister past. And a brother in arms if not blood.

Together, they will join Séverin as he explores the dark, glittering heart of Paris. What they find might change the course of history--but only if they can stay alive.

 

 

 Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

 ~ Author Chat ~ 

 

 YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

For me, the most important thing I’ve learned has been how to keep going. We often think about books as these definitive commentaries on our style as artists, the future of our careers, the print we will leave in the collective imaginations of readers. I don’t think that’s true anymore. Each book I write defines a part of me, but it doesn’t encompass the whole of me. I have more stories to offer the world, and if I’m stuck or trapped believing that I will never reach higher or never fall lower than this, I’m doing a disservice to my imagination. 

 

 YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love how lush and sinister it feels. Kerri Resnick did an amazing job at bringing the atmosphere of the book to life on the cover.

 

 

 YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

THE WICKED SAINTS by Emily Duncan. I had the chance to read it early, and it’s just a wonderful, treacherous dream of a read.

 

 YABC:  What’s up next for you?

Up next, I’m working on Book 3 of the PANDAVA series, which follows Aru and her sisters on their next adventures ☺I’m also working on my first round of revisions for THE GILDED WOLVES sequel. There’s a secret, passion project I’ve been sneaking some words on hither and thither, but for now, there’s not much to say about it.

 YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

The end. You’ll see.

 

 

 YABC:  Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Zofia. She digests the world around her in a vastly different way from me, so I relied on the wisdom of sensitivity readers on the autism spectrum, and also did a lot of research on how she might react to certain sensory stimuli; jokes; touch, etc. She was the hardest to write, but certainly the most rewarding.

 

 

 YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Revising!

 

 

 YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

I’d like to think my superpower is the ability to find good at the heart of things. In reality, I think my superpower is always guessing the expiration date of a gallon of milk.

 

 

 

 

 

The Gilded Wolves

By: Roshani Chokshi

Publisher: Wednesday Books

Release Date: January 15th, 2019 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 

Three winners will receive a copy of The Gilded Wolves (Roshani Chokshi) ~ US Only

 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

Spotlight on The Field Guide To The North American...
YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ January 7th, 2019

Related Posts

 

Comments 9

Already Registered? Login Here
Debra Branigan on Tuesday, 08 January 2019 12:25

The cover is gorgeous and fits the setting time period perfectly. The storyline sounds mysterious and adventurous and will certainly delight YA readers of this particular genre.

0
The cover is gorgeous and fits the setting time period perfectly. The storyline sounds mysterious and adventurous and will certainly delight YA readers of this particular genre.
Jayda on Saturday, 12 January 2019 19:02

The cover is gorgeous and the colors mix so well. I think the story sounds really good!

0
The cover is gorgeous and the colors mix so well. I think the story sounds really good!
Julie on Monday, 14 January 2019 18:20

The story sounds really interesting, and I love the cover. It's stunning, and the green really pops.

0
The story sounds really interesting, and I love the cover. It's stunning, and the green really pops.
Sethia on Tuesday, 22 January 2019 15:38

Sounds interesting! The cover is gorgeous!

0
Sounds interesting! The cover is gorgeous!
Danielle Hammelef on Monday, 28 January 2019 12:32

The cover is the most beautiful I've ever seen. The synopsis sounds unique and so exciting!

0
The cover is the most beautiful I've ever seen. The synopsis sounds unique and so exciting!
Hann Remraf on Tuesday, 29 January 2019 04:33

I LOVE the cover s is really interesting. I'm going to read this one regardless of if I win the giveaway or not

0
I LOVE the cover s is really interesting. I'm going to read this one regardless of if I win the giveaway or not
Tiffany Engler on Tuesday, 29 January 2019 17:36

This cover is absolutely gorgeous! Can't wait to read it!!

0
This cover is absolutely gorgeous! Can't wait to read it!!
Dan Denman on Tuesday, 05 February 2019 12:06

I like the book cover design. I think I will like the characters and time period in this story.

0
I like the book cover design. I think I will like the characters and time period in this story.
Lacie on Thursday, 07 February 2019 10:43

Gorgeous cover! Cannot wait to read this book!

0
Gorgeous cover! Cannot wait to read this book!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"3 Reasons TELL ME HOW YOU REALLY FEEL needs to be on your shelf immediately: 1.) The spot-on comparison:..."
 
4.0
"Amy Lukavics is one of my favorite horror writers. All of Lukavics's books are a little odd (in the best..."
 
3.0
"You might think that being the daughter of Eros, Kali might be good at the whole cupid thing. Kali would..."
The Cold is in Her Bones
 
3.7
"What I Loved About THE COLD IS IN HER BONES: Milla lives an isolated life on..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.3
"The top 3 reasons you need WILDER GIRLS by Rory Power on your shelf: 1.) The characters:..."
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
"BUTTERFLY YELLOW is a heartfelt and engrossing historical fiction. H?ng is in the US, searching for her younger brother. After..."
 
5.0
"3 Reasons You Need THE OTHER F WORD on your shelves: 1.) The list of contributors: The range of..."
 
5.0
"Tristan Strong isn't doing too well. He lost his best friend, Eddie, in a bus accident, lost a boxing match,..."
 
5.0
"*This review contains spoilers for book one, A BLADE SO BLACK* A DREAM SO DARK, sequel to A BLADE..."
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
"Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind..."
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
"Hazel lives on a farm with her two mothers and her older brother Rowan. They have a heard of goats..."
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
"Albiorix is a young Medieval wizard from the mystical realm of Bríandalör who is Hall Master for the role playing..."
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
"Why we still need biographies of first wave feminists: "A married woman taking her husband's name reflected that under legal..."
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
"THE LADY ROGUE is an absolutely thrilling historical fiction/fantasy. In the vein of THE MUMMY but in Romania and with..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
3.7
"What worked: I'm a huge fan of the Lux series and LOVE Daemon. The relationship between Daemon and Kat is..."
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
3.0
"THE OWLS HAVE COME TO TAKE US AWAY is a middle grade sci-fi/horror (though not too scary) that follows a..."
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
"Celebrate Halloween with the Pikmi Pops in this cute story about friendship. Wubbs the Bat and Vampy the Bat are..."
Apocalypse Taco
 
4.0
"APOCALYPSE TACO is a horror graphic novel that follows two middle school aged boys, Axl and Ivan. Axl and Ivan..."
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
"VOYAGES IN THE UNDERWORLD OF ORPHEUS BLACK is a story about brotherhood, war, and the power of art. Harry is..."
Awesome Achievers in Technology: Super and Strange Facts about 12 Almost Famous History Makers
 
4.3
"AWESOME ACHIEVERS IN TECHNOLOGY is an approachable middle grade non-fiction book about people behind every day inventions that you may..."