Author Of The Week: Chat with Maurene Goo (The Way You Make Me Feel), Plus Giveaway!!

unnamed-1

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

Introducing Maurene Goo, YABC's Author of the Week!!

Maurene Goo is the author of several books for young adults, including I Believe in a Thing Called Love, which received starred reviews from Kirkus and Publishers Weekly. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband and her cat, Maeby. 

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

Meet The Way You Make Me Feel!

From the author of I Believe in a Thing Called Love, a laugh-out-loud story of love, new friendships, and one unique food truck.

Clara Shin lives for pranks and disruption. When she takes one joke too far, her dad sentences her to a summer working on his food truck, the KoBra, alongside her uptight classmate Rose Carver. Not the carefree summer Clara had imagined. But maybe Rose isn't so bad. Maybe the boy named Hamlet (yes, Hamlet) crushing on her is pretty cute. Maybe Clara actually feels invested in her dad’s business. What if taking this summer seriously means that Clara has to leave her old self behind? With Maurene Goo's signature warmth and humor, The Way You Make Me Feel is a relatable story of falling in love and finding yourself in the places you’d never thought to look.

 

Amazon  * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?

My favorite character ended up being Clara's dad, Adrian. (Clara is the main character.) He's this hard-working, young, single Asian dad that you don't often see in YA—a former punk kid turned entrepreneur. He's a great dad with a big heart and his relationship with Clara was really a delight for me to write.

 

YABC:   Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel! I've had this idea brewing for years and the title came up many drafts in when I knew what the heart of the book would be (being ok with feeling all the feels!) and when I knew I wanted it to be another song title.

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I really love a scene at the end of the book, which I won't spoil. But it's kind of the big "ah-ha" moment for Clara, my main character. She has this sudden realization of how awesome her dad is and how much emotional labor he's put into raising her. I sobbed while I wrote it, which is always a good sign for me.

 

YABC:   What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Omg what DON'T I like??? I am obsessed with my own cover. Elizabeth Clark designed it and she did an amazing job. In my pushy notes to her I asked for something conveying LA summer sunsets and the ombre colors over the amazing cover model (another lovely Asian face!) was EXACTLY what I was hoping for.

 

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

I have a book coming out next year called Somewhere Only We Know. It's a one-day romance YA set in Hong Kong! About a K pop star! And inspired by one of my favorite films, Roman Holiday. I am SUPER excited for this one, too.

 

YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

I have a few scenes where Rose, the enemy-turned-friend Clara has to work with, shows signs of, and then discusses, her anxiety. I have generalized anxiety disorder and didn't really know this about myself until I was an adult. I had to go back and think about my teen years and what it felt like to struggle with it. Rose's anxiety manifests quite differently from my own but the struggle is the same and I wanted to make sure I treated it thoughtfully and realistically without it being her ONLY story.

YABC:   Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Drafting! I am terrible about taking things apart and putting it back together again, even when it is ALWAYS an improvement! Drafting is more fun for me—when I can be blissfully ignorant of all the hard work ahead and just let the story move me forward.

 

YABC:   What would you say is your superpower?

I am really good at knowing what time it is without a clock—like, within two minutes, ALWAYS. Is this even special? Haha.

 

 

 

The Way You Make Me Feel

By: Maurene Goo

Publisher: FSG BYR

Release Date: May 8th, 2018 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a copy of The Way You Make Me Feel (Maurene Goo) & SWAG ~ (US Only)

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Ace Of Shades (Amanda Foody)
YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ April 16th, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments 15

Already Registered? Login Here
Tiffany Engler on Monday, 16 April 2018 16:19

I think this book sounds cute and I love the cover!

0
I think this book sounds cute and I love the cover!
Kristie Padilla on Monday, 16 April 2018 23:09

Love the cover ♡ sounds super cute!

0
Love the cover ♡ sounds super cute!
Kristy Petree on Monday, 16 April 2018 23:21

The cover is cute and the story sounds really great. I love stories with good father-daughter relationships and I also loved her book I Believe in a Thing Called Love. Thanks.

0
The cover is cute and the story sounds really great. I love stories with good father-daughter relationships and I also loved her book I Believe in a Thing Called Love. Thanks.
Shenwei Chang on Tuesday, 17 April 2018 14:17

I love the cover and can't wait to read this, especially because of the centrality of food and humor.

0
I love the cover and can't wait to read this, especially because of the centrality of food and humor.
Dianna G. on Friday, 20 April 2018 20:13

What a fun way to incorporate the food truck trend into the story. I love the cover, it's very artsy!

0
What a fun way to incorporate the food truck trend into the story. I love the cover, it's very artsy!
John on Monday, 23 April 2018 22:01

The cover's very different! I would love to learn more about a unique food truck!

0
The cover's very different! I would love to learn more about a unique food truck!
Julie Daniels on Wednesday, 25 April 2018 07:34

I've been waiting for this one since I first saw it and read the synopsis. I love that it's about a father/daughter relationship with a single dad for once and yay for the gorgeous Asian girl on the cover! I have a largely Asian family(Japanese and Filipino) so I love seeing more books that represent my loved ones not only in the story but on the cover. And as someone diagnosed with anxiety it means a lot to me to see that representation in a book as well. I can't wait to read Clara and Rose's stories in this book.

0
I've been waiting for this one since I first saw it and read the synopsis. I love that it's about a father/daughter relationship with a single dad for once and yay for the gorgeous Asian girl on the cover! I have a largely Asian family(Japanese and Filipino) so I love seeing more books that represent my loved ones not only in the story but on the cover. And as someone diagnosed with anxiety it means a lot to me to see that representation in a book as well. I can't wait to read Clara and Rose's stories in this book.
Marisa Fort on Wednesday, 25 April 2018 14:13

The cover is beautiful, love it! The synopsis sounds amazing!

0
The cover is beautiful, love it! The synopsis sounds amazing!
Kristi Housman on Sunday, 29 April 2018 18:58

I love this cover and it goes well for the book. I thought the book was really good, too (read an arc).

0
I love this cover and it goes well for the book. I thought the book was really good, too (read an arc).
Jasmine on Saturday, 05 May 2018 22:09

the cover is soo cool it looks like the author (it maybe) the synopsis is so cool (Hamlet tho

0
the cover is soo cool it looks like the author (it maybe) the synopsis is so cool (Hamlet tho;)

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."