Author Of The Week: Chat with Lori M Lee (Forest of Souls), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

unnamed-1

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

Introducing Lori M Lee, YABC's Author of the Week!!

Lori M. Lee is the author of FOREST OF SOULS, first in the Shamanborn series, as well as GATES OF THREAD AND STONE and THE INFINITE. She’s also a contributor to the anthologies A THOUSAND BEGINNINGS AND ENDINGS and COLOR OUTSIDE THE LINES. She considers herself a unicorn aficionado, enjoys marathoning TV shows, and loves to write about magic, manipulation, and family.

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 
 
 
 
 
 

Meet Forest of Souls!

  

Danger lurks within the roots of Forest of Souls, an epic, unrelenting tale of destiny and sisterhood, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Susan Dennard.

Sirscha Ashwyn comes from nothing, but she’s intent on becoming something. After years of training to become the queen’s next royal spy, her plans are derailed when shamans attack and kill her best friend Saengo.

And then Sirscha, somehow, restores Saengo to life.

Unveiled as the first soulguide in living memory, Sirscha is summoned to the domain of the Spider King. For centuries, he has used his influence over the Dead Wood—an ancient forest possessed by souls—to enforce peace between the kingdoms. Now, with the trees growing wild and untamed, only a soulguide can restrain them. As war looms, Sirscha must master her newly awakened abilities before the trees shatter the brittle peace, or worse, claim Saengo, the friend she would die for.
 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
~ Author Chat ~
 
 

 

      YABC:    What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

High fantasy has always been where my heart is, so I knew I wanted to write something with the kind of scale and breadth that I love reading about. Beyond that, though, it's actually been so long since I wrote the first draft that I can't really remember what inspired it haha. I do know, however, that I wanted the book to be about the friendship between two girls. I kept reading books with friendships that fell apart for superficial reasons, and it drove me up a wall. I desperately wanted a book where the girls remained friends and actually fought to hold onto each other. Since I couldn't find it, I determined to write it myself.

      

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?

While I love Sirscha and I relate to her the most, my favorite character might be Theyen. He’s so much fun to write, which provided for small moments of levity in some generally dark scenes.

      

 

YABC:   Which came first, the title or the novel?

Definitely the novel. I’m the actual worst at coming up with titles and names. I almost always leave them for last. Sometimes, I just use stand-in names for the entire first draft, because I can’t decide on a better one. Some people are so good at coming up with thought-provoking titles like "We Set The Dark on Fire" (amazing book btw) or “A Song Below Water”, but I don't have that talent AT ALL haha.

      

 

YABC:   What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I’m pretty proud of the scene where Sirscha and Saengo enter the Dead Wood for the first time. I really enjoyed trying to elicit a sense of dread and a slow building fear or unease. I’m generally not great at writing horror, so it was a fun challenge!

     

 YABC:   Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

This is such a great question. I think the most important thing I've learned, and in fact something I’m still learning, is to trust myself. I’m never quite sure how a story will go until I sit down to write it, no matter how much planning and outlining I’ve done. I’m always convinced it’ll be terrible or I won’t be able to do it or I’ll let someone down, and more often than not, that hasn’t been the case. I’m trying to be more confident in my abilities, and to stop being my own worst enemy or my own barrier to success, or at least to embracing my successes.

      

 

YABC:   What do you like most about the cover of the book?

There is SO much to love about the cover, but I think my favorite part is the eerie glow of Sirscha's eyes through the shadows of trees over her face. It’s so atmospheric and unnerving while also being beautiful. It’s just the right blend of fantasy and creepy.

      

YABC:   What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2020?

This is such an impossible question! One of the books I’m most looking forward to is LEGENDBORN by Tracy Deonn. It’s a contemporary fantasy about the descendants of King Arthur’s knights, with a Black girl at its center, and I’m so excited to read it!

      

 

YABC:   What was your favorite book in 2019?

Again with the impossible questions! One of my favorites was THE WINTER OF THE WITCH by Katherine Arden. I’m obsessed with this series, because it has this atmospheric style to the storytelling that evokes a deep sense of history and setting. I love books that can really draw you into the world with that kind of rich and evocative writing.

      

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

The sequel to FOREST OF SOULS is set for release next year! I’m so excited to share more details about it when the time comes, but until then, I hope readers are as eager as I am to get these books out into the world!



 

 

 

 

  

Forest Of Souls 

By: Lori Lee

Publisher: Page Street Kids

Release Date: June 23rd, 2020

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a signed copy of Forest Of Souls (Lori Lee) ~ US Only 
 
   
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Featured Review: Agnes at the End of the World (Ke...
June 2020 Book Haul!

Related Posts

 

Comments 13

Already Registered? Login Here
Autumn on Monday, 15 June 2020 22:37

Her eyes on that cover are amazing!

0
Her eyes on that cover are amazing!
Tiffany Engler on Tuesday, 16 June 2020 07:45

This book sounds so good!

0
This book sounds so good!
Lindsay on Saturday, 20 June 2020 17:02

This book sounds so exciting and the cover is stunning!!

0
This book sounds so exciting and the cover is stunning!!
Andrea Carroll on Sunday, 21 June 2020 11:42

This has been on my "Wait list" for awhile. Can't wait to read it and the the cover it amazing!

0
This has been on my "Wait list" for awhile. Can't wait to read it and the the cover it amazing!
Amanda on Wednesday, 24 June 2020 10:13

This one has been on my list since April. Can't wait! The cover is stunning.

0
This one has been on my list since April. Can't wait! The cover is stunning.
Alivia Hartz on Monday, 29 June 2020 17:08

This has been on my TBR for a while! I can’t wait to read it!

0
This has been on my TBR for a while! I can’t wait to read it!
Gabby Roberts on Monday, 29 June 2020 22:45

This is a gorgeous cover and I'm very excited for it!

0
This is a gorgeous cover and I'm very excited for it!
Morgan on Thursday, 02 July 2020 14:43

This sounds awesome!

0
This sounds awesome!
Liz on Tuesday, 07 July 2020 03:22

can't wait to switch positions for this in my goodreads' shelf!

0
can't wait to switch positions for this in my goodreads' shelf!
Jessica Robayo on Tuesday, 07 July 2020 11:14

More female friendships!! Cover is stunning, looking forward to reading this.

0
More female friendships!! Cover is stunning, looking forward to reading this.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a tiny mouse as she searches for the biggest...
The Shadow War
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. ...

Latest Member Reviews

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."