Author Of The Week: Chat with Kara Thomas (Little Monsters)!

unnamed-1

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

Introducing Kara Thomas, YABC's Author of the Week!!

Kara is the author of the critically acclaimed THE DARKEST CORNERS. Her new book, LITTLE MONSTERS, is coming July 25th from Random House/Delacorte. She’s written for everything from her high school newspaper to Warner Brothers Television. You can find her on Long Island, bingeing on true crime podcasts and TV shows.

 

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

 

Meet Little Monsters!

For fans of Pretty Little Liars, Little Monsters is a new psychological thriller, from the author of The Darkest Corners, about appearances versus reality and the power of manipulation amongst teenage girls.

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?
It was a combination of a real life case that haunted me once I heard about it, and my own high school experiences being in a three-way friendship with two other girls.
 
 
 
YABC:   Which came first, the title or the novel?
The novel for sure—it’s always such a difficult process titling my books. It’s hard to find thriller titles that A. aren’t overly vague, and B. specific enough to tell the reader something about the book.
 
 
 
YABC:   What do you like most about the cover of the book?
I love that there’s subtle symbolism to it. I can’t say much more without spoilers, but when I saw it, I knew the designer had read the book or at least understood the central theme.



 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2017?
I can’t wait to read Brandy Colbert’s Little & Lion, out in August. I loved her first book, Pointe, and everyone I know who has read Little & Lion raves about it.

 

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2016?
Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley.

 

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?
My next mystery/thriller is called The Cheerleaders and it will be out Summer 2018.
 
 
YABC:  Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?
Kacey was a tough character to pin down in Little Monsters—a big part of her personality is that she is closed off and has difficulty trusting people and opening up to them, so it was hard to get her to open up to me, the writer.

 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?
It depends on the book. I liked revising Little Monsters better, because the first draft of the story was a skeleton, but I liked drafting my newest book, The Cheerleaders, more. I had had more time to plan out that book, so drafting was more enjoyable.
 
 
 
YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?
Every year I support North Shore Animal League, the shelter that rescued my cat, Felix.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Little Monsters

By: Kara Thomas

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Release Date: July 25th, 2017 

 

 

 

 

Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaw...
Headspace: 10 Years of Mental Health in YA Books

Related Posts

 

Comments 4

Already Registered? Login Here
Danielle on Monday, 17 July 2017 21:55

I love the mystery aspect in the story. I read a sample from my library and it really hooked me!

0
I love the mystery aspect in the story. I read a sample from my library and it really hooked me!
Susan Light on Tuesday, 18 July 2017 08:38

I can't wait to read this book. I've been hearing lots of great things about it.

0
I can't wait to read this book. I've been hearing lots of great things about it.
Mindy on Friday, 04 August 2017 23:34

The cover looks amazing and the synopsis sounds great!!!

0
The cover looks amazing and the synopsis sounds great!!!
Lily M. on Saturday, 05 August 2017 04:16

Wow this book sounds good, something i'll like to check out ??

0
Wow this book sounds good, something i'll like to check out ??

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."