Author Of The Week: Chat with Jessica Cluess (House Of Dragons), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

unnamed-1

 

 

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

Introducing Jessica Cluess , YABC's Author of the Week!!

Jessica Cluess

 

JESSICA CLUESS is a writer, and a graduate of Northwestern University and the Clarion Writers’ Workshop. After college, she moved to Los Angeles, where she served coffee to the rich and famous while working on her first novel in the Kingdom on Fire series, A Shadow Bright and Burning. These days she sits around thinking about dragons far too much. Visit her at jessicacluess.com and follow her on Twitter at @JessCluess.

 

Website * Twitter

 
 
 
 
 
 

Meet House Of Dragons

 

Five royal houses will hear the call to compete in the Trial for the dragon throne. A liar, a soldier, a servant, a thief, and a murderer will answer it. Who will win?

When the Emperor dies, the five royal houses of Etrusia attend the Call, where one of their own will be selected to compete for the throne. It is always the oldest child, the one who has been preparing for years to compete in the Trial. But this year is different. This year, these five outcasts will answer the call....

THE LIAR: Emilia must hide her dark magic or be put to death.

THE SOLDIER: Lucian is a warrior who has sworn to never lift a sword again.

THE SERVANT: Vespir is a dragon trainer whose skills alone will keep her in the game.

THE THIEF: Ajax knows that nothing is free--he must take what he wants.

THE MURDERER: Hyperia was born to rule and will stop at nothing to take her throne.

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
~ Author Chat ~
 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

This really is almost impossible to answer, since I love all of them in different ways. I’m going to be bad and give you two, Ajax and Hyperia. Ajax is the small little 15 year old gremlin boy, and I relate to his way of feeling and thinking entirely too much. Meanwhile, Hyperia is the polar opposite, the regal and elegant young woman who’s willing to do anything—or kill anyone—to get the throne. I like characters with drive, even if it’s scary drive.

 

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

There’s a scene towards the middle of the book where the five competitors have some down time. Faced with the mounting stress of the competition, they have a little party for themselves, get drunk, have some laughs, and argue with one another. I love this scene because a. it’s got a lot of funny moments in it, and I like funny, and b. it allows the characters to play off one another in ways they normally wouldn’t. The party scene’s the last relaxed moment of the book, and it’s very necessary.

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel. I was actually supposed to write something else for my publisher, but after we’d worked on it for a while we decided to shelve it. I came up with House of Dragons on the fly and wrote it without a clue of what we were going to call it. It was an interesting way to work, for sure, but lots of fun surprises were had.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Everything! The swords in particular. I love how all of the hilts are designed to look like a different dragon. The swords even get some of the characters’ personalities and their different cultures across, which is some incredibly detailed work. I like to pick the book up every day and just stare at the cover for a while. Random House has really spoiled me with great covers over the years.

 

 

YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

I can’t really say because it’s such a spoiler, but something happens to one of the competitors’ dragons that is hard for me to read to this day. My friends always texted to yell at me when they got to that scene.

 

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

If I really focus on what time I want to wake up when I fall asleep, I will wake up at that time without an alarm clock.

 

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I’m finishing the conclusion to the House of Dragons duology, which should be out next summer. I’m also sketching out a YA fantasy project, and I’m trying my hand at adult fantasy as well. 

 

 

YABC:  Is there anything that you would like to add?

Honestly, I’d rather subtract.



 

 

 

 

 

Houe Of Dragons 

By: Jessica Cluess

Publisher: Random House BYR

Release Date: May 12th, 2020

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a signed copy of House Of Dragons (Jessica Cluess) ~ US Only 
 
   
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: The Half-Orphan’s Handbo...
Indie Superstars with the Authors of Queen of the ...

Related Posts

 

Comments 4

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Monday, 04 May 2020 11:56

This book looks great, looking forward to reading it!

0
This book looks great, looking forward to reading it!
Candice Gigous on Wednesday, 13 May 2020 07:28

The cover is cool. The synopsis is very interesting. Sounds like an amazing read!

0
The cover is cool. The synopsis is very interesting. Sounds like an amazing read!
Tiffany Engler on Thursday, 14 May 2020 07:57

I love this cover! Can't wait to read this one

0
I love this cover! Can't wait to read this one :)
Danielle Hammelef on Wednesday, 27 May 2020 14:58

Gorgeous cover and this book sounds so exciting!

0
Gorgeous cover and this book sounds so exciting!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"