Author Of The Week: Chat with Jessica Cluess (A Sorrow Fierce and Falling), Plus Giveaway!

unnamed-1

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

Introducing Jessica Cluess , YABC's Author of the Week!!

Jessica Cluess

JESSICA CLUESS is a writer, a graduate of Northwestern University, and an unapologetic nerd. After college, she moved to Los Angeles, where she served coffee to the rich and famous while working on her first novel, A Shadow Bright and Burning. When she’s not writing books, she’s an instructor at Writopia Lab, helping kids and teens tell their own stories. Visit her at jessicacluess.com and follow her on Twitter at @JessCluess.

 

Website * Twitter

 
 

Meet A Sorrow Fierce and Falling!

 36443576

It’s time for war.

After suffering terrible losses, Henrietta and Lord Blackwood have led their warriors to Sorrow-Fell, a vast estate where only those invited by a Blackwood may enter–and the ideal place to plan a final assault against the Ancients.

It’s time for a wedding.

Henrietta nervously awaits her marriage to Blackwood, but when the ritual to become his bride reveals a dark secret, she realizes that Sorrow-Fell is not a safe haven; it’s a trap. Convincing the sorcerers of this, however, is not easy. So with Maria, the true chosen one, and Magnus, the young man who once stole her heart, at her side, Henrietta plots a dangerous journey straight into the enemy’s lair. Some will live. Some will die. All will be tested.

In this stunning conclusion to the Kingdom on Fire series, Henrietta must choose between the love from her past, the love from her present, and a love that could define her future. While battles rage, the fate of the kingdom rests on her decision: Will she fall or rise up to become the woman who saves the realm?

It’s time for Henrietta to make her stand. 

 

 
 
 
~ Author Chat ~

 YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

Honestly, I think Henrietta. She finally makes real strides in dealing with her flaws in this one—her lying, her trust issues, etc. She also goes through quite the emotional wringer, so it’s hard not to feel a bit sorry…



 YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

The title. We knew what our titles were back in 2014. It’s been a long road.

 

 

 YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

You need to build up your friendships with others in the community, both because they’re a great resource when things are rocky, and because writers are a delightful group of people. The second one’s more important, really.



 

 YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

The explosions, honestly. There’s a lot of excitement, mayhem, and intensity in the third book, so seeing that hinted at visually was really excellent. Also, the flower is a blue snow-sorrow, which is present in ASFAF, so that was a nice touch.



 

 YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I can’t really say too much, unfortunately. I can say that it’s fantasy, and it has dragons. Also, I’m excited about it.



 YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

I can’t spoil it, but there’s a scene that takes place in the woods, on a fallen tree. That’s it. That’s all I can say. I cried, and my editor cried.

 



 YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Revising. For me, that’s when the book becomes a book. Drafting is throwing words onto a page so I can have something to play with later on. I’m not one of those people who’s inspired by the blank page. I honestly find it kind of exhausting.



 YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

I can get word counts done every day. I almost never slack in them. Also, I brew a good cup of tea.



 

 

 

 

 

A Sorrow Fierce and Falling 

By: Jessica Cluess

Publisher: Random House BYR

Release Date: October 16th, 2018

 

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will recieve a copy of A Sorrow Fierce and Falling (Jessica Cluess) ~ US Only 
 
   

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Excerpt & Giveaway:...
YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ October 15th, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments 10

Already Registered? Login Here
M.A. Briones on Tuesday, 16 October 2018 21:29

THIS COVER IS HEAVENLY!!!!!i adore the brightcolors, and ugh, the synopsis. I am so intrigued

0
THIS COVER IS HEAVENLY!!!!!i adore the brightcolors, and ugh, the synopsis. I am so intrigued
Marisa Fort on Wednesday, 24 October 2018 16:27

I love the colors on the cover, the synopsis sounds amazing!

0
I love the colors on the cover, the synopsis sounds amazing!
Shannon Mizikoski on Monday, 05 November 2018 20:37

The cover is gorgeous! And I have already heard some fabulous things about this one, which is exciting because I get so worried about finales, so all the love I have heard for this one is extra great!

0
The cover is gorgeous! And I have already heard some fabulous things about this one, which is exciting because I get so worried about finales, so all the love I have heard for this one is extra great!
Debra Branigan on Tuesday, 06 November 2018 20:49

This cover is absolutely beautiful and will attract those YA readers. I cannot wait to finish the series.

0
This cover is absolutely beautiful and will attract those YA readers. I cannot wait to finish the series.
Candice Gigous on Wednesday, 07 November 2018 07:56

The cover is beautiful. The synopsis is exciting. The entire series sounds awesome.

0
The cover is beautiful. The synopsis is exciting. The entire series sounds awesome.
Hannah on Monday, 12 November 2018 00:36

Beautiful cover

0
Beautiful cover
Danielle Hammelef on Tuesday, 13 November 2018 15:39

The cover is gorgeous. The synopsis sounds so amazing.

0
The cover is gorgeous. The synopsis sounds so amazing.
Penny Olson on Tuesday, 13 November 2018 22:41

The cover is spectacular. I would like to read this entire series.

0
The cover is spectacular. I would like to read this entire series.
Renee Moore on Wednesday, 14 November 2018 21:30

Beautifyl, bright, and bold cover! Synopsis sounds awesome!

0
Beautifyl, bright, and bold cover! Synopsis sounds awesome!
Amy on Thursday, 15 November 2018 15:16

i like the exciting plot of this series finale and the gorgeous cover.

0
i like the exciting plot of this series finale and the gorgeous cover.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.8
"This is a beautiful book—both in how it is designed and how it is written. The prose is lyrical, yet..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."