Author Of The Week: Chat with Jenn Lyons (The Ruin Of Kings), Plus Giveaway!

b2ap3_large_unnamed-1

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

 

 

Introducing Jenn Lyons, YABC's Author of the Week!!

Jenn Lyons was a graphic artist and illustrator for 20 years and has worked in video games for over a decade. She previously worked on The Saboteur and Lord of the Rings: Conquest at EA Games. She is based out of Atlanta, Georgia. The Ruin of Kings is her fantasy debut. Follow her on Twitter: @jennlyonsauthor

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Meet The Ruin Of Kings!
 
 
 
  There are the old stories. And then there’s what actually happens.

Kihrin is a bastard orphan who grew up on storybook tales of long-lost princes and grand quests. When he is claimed against his will as the long-lost son of a treasonous prince, Kihrin finds that being a long-lost prince isn't what the storybooks promised.

Far from living the dream, Kihrin finds himself practically a prisoner, at the mercy of his new family's power plays and ambitions. He also discovers that the storybooks have lied about a lot of other things things, too: dragons, demons, gods, prophecies, true love, and how the hero always wins.

Then again, maybe he’s not the hero, for Kihrin isn’t destined to save the empire.

He’s destined to destroy it . . .

Uniting the worldbuilding of a Brandon Sanderson with the storytelling verve of a Patrick Rothfuss, debut author Jenn Lyons delivers an entirely new and captivating fantasy epic. Prepare to meet the genre’s next star.

 

 

Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 ~ Author Chat ~

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

No single event inspires to a book like this: it's too big with too much going on. Authors pour their lives into their books in ways that aren't always obvious. I will say, however, that when I was much younger a group of men I used to game with provided a whole lot of inspiration. The main character, Kihrin, is in many ways an amalgam of their best and worst qualities.

 

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

I have so many, to be honest, but I'd have to say Tyentso. She was originally supposed to be a very minor character, but she kept demanding more book space. I like a woman who refuses to sit quietly and do what she's told.

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

Oh, the novel, by rather a large margin. I think we probably went through about seventeen iterations before we settled on a book title that everyone liked!

 

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

The very last one in the book. I'm not going to fully explain why, except to say that particular scene wasn't planned so much as evolved. I'm mostly an outline and planned scenes kind of writer, but that last scene was a lovely bit of serendipity when I realized the inevitable conclusion of the situation I'd created. I love the unexpected discoveries in writing.

 

 

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Don't slow down. I've learned that I'm not one of those authors who can afford to write slowly. That only gives time for my insecurities and anxieties to catch up with me.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Oh, the dragon, without question. I remember when my editor told me she wanted to put a dragon on the cover. I laughed and said, "Do you seriously think I'm going to say no?" Added bonus: Lars Grant-West, the artist, did a truly incredible job.

 

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

There are a LOT (including my own, of course) but I am very excited about Arkady Martine's A Memory of Empire, Max Gladstone's The Empress of Forever, Charlie Jane Ander's The City in the Middle of the Night, Anne Leckie's The Raven Tower, and Roshani Chokshi's The Gilded Wolves. Okay, I guess I can't pick just one. There's a lot of fantastic stuff coming out next year.

 

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2018?

There were so many! And they were so amazing! Truly I am in awe of what an extraordinary group of writers are publishing in SFF these days. It would be almost impossible to just pick one.

 

 

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I'm currently finishing up the third book in the series (there are five books in total planned) so...book four is next. Ideally, I'd like to have the entire series written (at least in first draft form) by the end of 2019.

 

 

YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

There's a scene where Kihrin's father discovers him flagrante delicto with a woman. Instead of punishing Kihrin, his father chooses to take out his rage on the woman. As a victim of abuse myself, that was incredibly difficult scene for me to write. For that matter, all the abuse scenes with Kihrin's father were tough to write.

 

 

 

YABC:  Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Thurvishar D'Lorus. I had certain intentions towards Thurvishar in terms of behavior and sexuality, and he just refused to cooperate. Once I let the character 'have his way' as it were, everything flowed beautifully.

 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Oh, drafting, without question. Revising is important, but I wouldn't call it fun.

 

 

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

Apparently intricate world building!

 

 

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

Habitat for Humanity has always been a favorite of mine.

 

 

 

 

 

The Ruin Of Kings

By: Jenn Lyons

Publisher: Tor Teen

Release Date: February 5th, 2019 

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 

Three winners will receive a copy of The Ruin Of Kings (Jenn Lyons) ~ US Only

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

Author Of The Week: Chat with Robin LaFevers (Cour...
YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ February 4th, 2019

Related Posts

 

Comments 12

Already Registered? Login Here
Debra Branigan on Saturday, 09 February 2019 16:47

The cover is attractive and the fantasy sounds very intriguing. Good luck with your novel.

0
The cover is attractive and the fantasy sounds very intriguing. Good luck with your novel.
Emma McAndrew on Tuesday, 12 February 2019 23:37

I love a good long-lost child of someone important plot! And I have been craving a good dragon fantasy since watching The Dragon Prince show. This may just fit the bill!

0
I love a good long-lost child of someone important plot! And I have been craving a good dragon fantasy since watching The Dragon Prince show. This may just fit the bill!
John on Sunday, 17 February 2019 18:59

Bastard orphans make the best heroes!

0
Bastard orphans make the best heroes!
Courtney Gendreau on Sunday, 17 February 2019 20:00

I love this cover so much! The cover is beautiful!

0
I love this cover so much! The cover is beautiful!
Lisa Mandina on Tuesday, 26 February 2019 09:45

The cover is gorgeous! And I love the story synopsis. Sounds like a really good read!

0
The cover is gorgeous! And I love the story synopsis. Sounds like a really good read!
Penny Olson on Wednesday, 27 February 2019 23:35

I love the dragon on the cover. It sounds like a great anti-hero story.

0
I love the dragon on the cover. It sounds like a great anti-hero story.
Julie Holden on Friday, 01 March 2019 08:26

Cool cover & can't wait to read it!

0
Cool cover & can't wait to read it!
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 02 March 2019 10:18

The cover is stunning. The synopsis sounds exciting and epic.

0
The cover is stunning. The synopsis sounds exciting and epic.
Kacie on Saturday, 02 March 2019 13:41

The cover is gorgeous! This book sounds like it will be amazing!

0
The cover is gorgeous! This book sounds like it will be amazing!
Tiffany Engler on Sunday, 03 March 2019 09:42

I love the cover! Can't wait to read it!

0
I love the cover! Can't wait to read it!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
"A compilation of excerpts from fifteen noteworthy speeches, selected from across American history. The chosen pieces represent great variety,..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."