Author Of The Week: Chat with Emily Lloyd-Jones (The Bone Houses), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

b2ap3_large_unnamed-1

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

Introducing Emily Lloyd-Jones, YABC's Author of the Week!!

Emily Lloyd-Jones grew up on a vineyard in rural Oregon, where she played in evergreen forests and learned to fear sheep. She has a BA in English from Western Oregon University and a MA in publishing from Rosemont College. Her novels include Illusive, Deceptive, The Hearts We Sold, and the forthcoming The Bone Houses.

 

 

 WebsiteInstagram * Twitter 


 


 

 

Meet The Bone Houses!

Seventeen-year-old Aderyn ("Ryn") only cares about two things: her family, and her family's graveyard. And right now, both are in dire straits. Since the death of their parents, Ryn and her siblings have been scraping together a meager existence as gravediggers in the remote village of Colbren, which sits at the foot of a harsh and deadly mountain range that was once home to the fae. The problem with being a gravedigger in Colbren, though, is that the dead don't always stay dead.

The risen corpses are known as "bone houses," and legend says that they're the result of a decades-old curse. When Ellis, an apprentice mapmaker with a mysterious past, arrives in town, the bone houses attack with new ferocity. What is it that draws them near? And more importantly, how can they be stopped for good?

Together, Ellis and Ryn embark on a journey that will take them deep into the heart of the mountains, where they will have to face both the curse and the long-hidden truths about themselves.



 

 Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

 

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I read an article that hypothesized people in medieval times dismembered the dead to prevent them from rising again. Immediately my brain jumped on the idea of medieval zombies—because that’s what my brain does. I also found out very soon after that my last living grandparent was in hospice, and somehow the ideas of grief and familial loss merged with the zombie concept. After all, it’s easy to dismiss the dead if they’re strangers… but what if they were people you knew? What if they were people you loved? And I’ve always had an interest in Welsh mythology, so I decided to set the story in Wales. 

 

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

The undead goat. Yes, there is an undead goat. She is adorable, stubborn, and tries to eat everything in sight. She also provides some of the funniest moments in the book, so writing her was an absolute joy. 

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

They happened around nearly the same time. As I was outlining the book, I researched old English slang and stumbled across “bone house,” which was an antiquated term for a corpse. I absolutely loved the idea and decided that’s what my medieval zombies would be called. And the title stuck! 

 

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I really, really love the meet-cute between Ellis and Ryn—the two main characters. Without spoiling too much, it involves Ryn casually dismembering a corpse while Ellis looks on in horror. I cackled aloud as I wrote it because it so clearly illustrates both of these characters’ personalities and how they clash. I loved writing their journey—both physical and emotional—from that beginning until they get to a point where they really trust one another.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Can I say everything? Because I love everything about that cover. I adore all of the intricate little details and flourishes, the flowers and the leaves, and how they form into that gorgeous skull. I remember gasping aloud when I saw the initial sketch. And what’s more is that some of those elements that make up the skull are used in the interior layout of the book. So the entire thing is just really lovely. 

 

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019-2020?

There are so many! I cannot pick just one. Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor is a genre-bending book that plays with both science and fantasy. And I’m very excited for The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne, which is a sci-fi retelling of Persuasion! 

 

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I’m currently in the midst of promoting both The Bone Houses and His Hideous Heart—an anthology of Edgar Allen Poe retellings that I was lucky enough to be included in. But once the dust settles, I would like to dig back into writing again. I never say too much about my secret projects, but let’s just say that I do love writing about creepy forests and monsters. 

 

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

I once cooed at a lone pigeon and somehow managed to summon an entire flock of them. So if villainous breadcrumbs threaten the world, I can bring help. (I might have to find a better superhero name than Bird Woman, though.) 

 

 

 

 

The Bone Houses

By: Emily Lloyd-Jones

Publisher: Little Brown BYR

Release Date: September 24th, 2019

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a signed copy of The Bone Houses (Emily Lloyd-Jones) ~ (US Only)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

Book Blast Tour: Guest Post with Trudi Trueit (Exp...
YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ September 23rd, 2019

Related Posts

 

Comments 1

Already Registered? Login Here
Emily on Tuesday, 22 October 2019 18:41

This book has been in my radar for a while! I love this cover

0
This book has been in my radar for a while! I love this cover

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
Two Worlds of Redemption (Two Worlds, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
Two Worlds of Oblivion (Two Worlds, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."