Author Of The Week: Chat with Derek Milman (Swipe Right For Murder), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

b2ap3_large_unnamed-1

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

Introducing Derek Milman, YABC's Author of the Week!!

Derek Milman has worked as a playwright, screenwriter, film school teacher, DJ, and underground humor magazine publisher. A classically trained actor, he has performed on stages across the country and appeared in numerous TV shows, commercials, and films. Derek currently resides in Brooklyn, New York, where he writes full time. Swipe Right for Murder is his second novel for young adults. 

 

 WebsiteTwitterInstagram


 


 

 

Meet Swipe Right For Murder!

On the run from the FBI.
Targeted by a murderous cult.
Labeled a cyber-terrorist by the media.
Irritated texts from his best friend.
Eye contact with a nice-looking guy on the train.
Aidan has a lot to deal with, and he's not quite sure which takes top priority.

Finding himself alone in a posh New York City hotel room for the night, Aidan does what any red-blooded seventeen-year-old would do---he tries to hook up with someone new. But that lapse in judgement leads to him waking up next to a dead guy, which sparks an epic case of mistaken identity that puts Aidan on the run from everyone---faceless federal agents, his eccentric family, and, naturally, a cyber-terrorist group who will stop at nothing to find him.

He soon realizes the only way to stop the chase is to deliver the object everyone wants, before he gets caught or killed. But for Aidan, the hardest part is knowing who he can trust not to betray him---including himself.
 

 

 

 Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

The main character Aidan for sure. He's a multi-layered kid. He has a troubled past and a complex psychology. He's experienced some tragedy, but he has a big heart, a sharp sense of humor, and despite everything, he really loves the world (and the people in it). He will always remain close to my heart. 

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

In this case, the novel. Early drafts of the book were called Night Flight.

 

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

Endings are hard to get right, I always struggle to achieve the perfect one, and I'm proud of this one. It makes me tear up, which does not usually happen. It ties everything together, and there's a lovely metaphor involved. 

 

 

YABC:   Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Write the most beautiful story you can using the least amount of words that are necessary. Build a deep interiority for your MC and let the characters drive the action of the plot.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

In discussions regarding the cover concept, I said I wanted something cyber, queer, urban, and Neo-noir, and wow, they achieved it.

 

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

The Institute by Stephen King.

 

 

YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

This comes later on in the book so... slight * SPOILER WARNING HERE * ...but when Aidan is trying to explain to the Feds who are trying to exploit him for their own purposes, how much his brother meant to him, how his memory of him is fragile and somewhat endangered, and how he's just a kid, a human being, that was definitely a heavy one. Aidan trying to get everyone to see the humanity in what they're doing, when everyone has these blinders on, was kind of heartbreaking to write. 

  

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

I really enjoy revising in the later stages. The book is already in existence, it's a thing, and the process of just sharpening it, making every word and every line better, is very enjoyable to me; I wake up feeling light and empowered during that process. Drafting can be an enormously inspirational and fun process too, but I find there's a measure of relief when that stage is over. It's akin to filmmaking (literally no one is going to be surprised I'm making this connection). Many filmmakers experience a lot of stress and torment getting those images onto film, but thoroughly enjoy their time in the editing suite pulling a tight, coherent story together out of the images they struggled to obtain. I'm not so different in that regard.

 

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

I started out as an actor and was trained in the Meisner technique which teaches you how to listen. But it also teaches you extraordinary observational skills, so I can always figure someone out pretty quickly, what's going on in their heads. Sometimes people think I'm psychic, but it's just my training. It's given me a deeper level of understanding, of people, their individual psychologies, and has definitely helped me as a writer.

 

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

These two: True Colors United (working to end youth homelessness with a focus on queer youth) and the Trevor Project (crisis intervention and suicide prevention for LGBTQ youth).

 

 

 

Swipe Right For Murder

By: Derek Milman

Publisher: Jimmy Patterson

Release Date: August 6th, 2019

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Five winners will each receive a copy of Swipe Right For Murder (Derek Milman) ~ (US Only)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Gods Of Jade And Shadow (Silvia M...
Author Chat with Rebekah Crane (Postcards For A So...

Related Posts

 

Comments 1

Already Registered? Login Here
Lily M. on Saturday, 24 August 2019 16:30

I always enjoyed reading murder mysteries ?

0
I always enjoyed reading murder mysteries ?

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."