Author Of The Week: Chat with Claire LeGrand (Sawkill Girls), Plus Giveaway!!

unnamed-1

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

 

 

Introducing Claire LeGrand , YABC's Author of the Week!!

Claire Legrand is the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn, the first book in the Empirium Trilogy. She is also the author of several other titles for children and teens, most notably The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, Winterspell, and the Edgar Award-nominated Some Kind of Happiness. Sawkill Girls is her seventh novel. Claire lives in central New Jersey, where she works as a librarian.

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

Meet Sawkill Girls!

From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things.

Who are the Sawkill Girls?

Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find.

Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or maybe everyone else is.

Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.

Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight…until now.

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

 

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I'd always wanted to write a book set on an island, as the idea of living on an island--being so isolated, and being totally surrounded by water--both fascinates and terrifies me. Similar, I was fascinated and horrified by the tragic story of the Slender Man stabbing. I started thinking about how monsters gain power, how they can become real if enough people believe in them, and how and why a monster might prey upon girls, who are often kept vulnerable and unprotected by the influence of a patriarchal society. Also intriguing to me is the connection between girls and nature throughout various mythologies. I put all those sparks of ideas into a blender, and out came Sawkill Girls.

 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?

I love all three narrators of Sawkill Girls--Marion, Zoey, and Val--but I think Zoey is my favorite. She's funny and smart and creative; she's nerdy and has a passion for writing. She's unstoppably determined and fiercely loyal and loving. Plus, she injects a lot of humor into very tense scenes, which I think readers will appreciate! 

 

 

YABC:   Which came first, the title or the novel?

The idea for the book came first, and then, a couple of years ago, I was on a writing retreat in the Catskills and saw a sign for Sawkill Road. Those two words painted such a vivid picture in my mind, and lingered there long after I had traveled home. I think that word, "Sawkill," was the final puzzle piece I needed to finish crafting the atmosphere and setting of this book.

 

 

YABC:   What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I really, really love the last chapter. It's weird and beautiful, and touches on a universe and mythology much more expansive than what I was able to explore in the book. It was also very emotional for me to write, for reasons I can't get into right now, because spoilers!

 

 

YABC:   Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

I'm constantly learning new things about how to be a better writer, but the one I keep coming back to, and using to re-center myself, is that it's ok to take your time. It's even, I would argue, crucial to take your time. At least, it is for me. Obviously that's not always possible when deadlines and, you know, life come into play, but I've learned that my brain needs lots of recovery time, and lots of space in which ideas can simmer unhurried. I draft and revise pretty quickly, but between those frantic rounds of work, I need lots of slow time to think and dream and recharge my creativity, and I've learned that that's ok. It's ok to work at your own pace.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Oh goodness. I love absolutely everything about this cover. I think what struck me most when I first saw it was the stark simplicity of it. It's clean and fresh and modern, sophisticated in a way that I think appeals to both teen and adult readers. (Also, the moths! I adore them!)

 

 

YABC:   What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

Wicked Saints by Emily A. Duncan! It's the first in a Gothic fantasy series inspired by Slavic folklore. I have an ARC at home and am itching to read it. I love following Emily on social media; she loves her book so much, and her joy and delight in it is contagious.

 

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2018?

Damsel by Elana K. Arnold! I read an ARC earlier this year and was completely blown away. Gorgeous writing, moments of stark, startling beauty, and an ending that literally made my mouth fall open. The ferocious feminist fairy tale of my dreams.

 

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

Kingsbane, the sequel to Furyborn, releases May 21, 2019!

 

 

Sawkill Girls

By: Claire LeGrand

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Release Date: October 2nd, 2018

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a signed copy of Sawkill Girls (Claire LeGrand) ~ (US Only)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: Emerge: The Betrayal (Im...
Behind the Scenes of Indie Publishing with Rebecca...

Related Posts

 

Comments 15

Already Registered? Login Here
Penny Olson on Wednesday, 17 October 2018 23:23

The cover is very powerful and creepy. As for the synopsis, you had me at "ravenous evil".

0
The cover is very powerful and creepy. As for the synopsis, you had me at "ravenous evil".
wendy rinebold on Thursday, 18 October 2018 21:02

The cover drew me right away. The excerpt sounds like a great book for this time of year.

0
The cover drew me right away. The excerpt sounds like a great book for this time of year.
Danielle Hammelef on Friday, 19 October 2018 13:56

The cover is very creepy and the synopsis makes me want to read this book.

0
The cover is very creepy and the synopsis makes me want to read this book.
Crista cast on Tuesday, 23 October 2018 16:59

I like the look and colors of the cover it draws me to the book and the story sounds suspenseful.

0
I like the look and colors of the cover it draws me to the book and the story sounds suspenseful.
Lisa Mandina on Wednesday, 24 October 2018 09:51

That cover is so awesome! The synopsis grabs my attention to read it as well. I also read Furyborn and loved it, so am up to read all books by this author now!

0
That cover is so awesome! The synopsis grabs my attention to read it as well. I also read Furyborn and loved it, so am up to read all books by this author now!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Thousand Questions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set against the backdrop of Karachi, Pakistan, Saadia Faruqi’s tender...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Second in a new series about a bright and determined...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
There's a chill in the air and frost on the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Disney’s classic animated films come to life in the latest...
Fence: Striking Distance
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The boys of Kings Row bout with drama, rivalry, and...
Pirate Nell's Tale to Tell
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From the author/illustrator team behind The Snatchabook comes a book-filled...
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Once Upon a Time meets Game of Thrones in...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. A team of...
Finding Balance
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Jase Ellison doesnt remember having acute lymphocytic leukemia when...
Be a Voter!: 450 Stickers for Democracy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Get out the vote! It’s...
I Believe In You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A charming picture book that inspires confidence, boosts self-esteem, and...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling...
Of Thorns and Beauty (Twisted Pages Book 1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
You think you know the tale as old time,...
The Verity
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When being eaten alive is the least of your...
Meanwhile
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate 10 years of this completely original graphic novel take...
Grant Beagan: The Finder's Code
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s just an ordinary teenager who likes astronomy, video games,...

Latest Member Reviews

A Thousand Questions
 
5.0
"A THOUSAND QUESTIONS is a heartfelt contemporary middle grade that transports the reader to Pakistan. Mimi is 11 years old..."
My Skull Possession
 
3.5
"My Skull Possession is a book which seems to be scaring people to death. Brighton wants to find out the..."
 
5.0
"Beautiful book. This book is beautiful inside and out. That's the first thing a reader will notice. The artwork is..."
 
5.0
"So cute, and just in time for Christmas! This book had me at bears. From the front cover in,..."
 
5.0
"So much fun. Disney Block is a board book for any age of Disney fan. Whether you're with a kid..."
Fence: Striking Distance
 
5.0
"FENCE: STRIKING DISTANCE is a charming YA contemporary fiction that takes place at a boys' boarding school. We follow different..."
Crossing Lines
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central And engaging story about how our differences shape our worldview. ..."
Focused
 
4.0
"!"
Horrid
 
4.7
"After Jane's father sudden dies, Her mother, Ruth, ends up moving them across the country. They move into her mother's..."
Pirate Nell's Tale to Tell
 
4.5
"PIRATE NELL'S TALE TO TELL is a charming picture book about Nell, who has always dreamed of being a pirate...."
Be a Voter!: 450 Stickers for Democracy
 
4.5
"BE A VOTER! is a delightful collection of stickers that encompass the power of voting, the democracy, and the reasons..."
I Believe In You
 
5.0
"I BELIEVE IN YOU is a delightfully encouraging book with bright colors and a charming story. While the main text..."
The Oracle Code
 
4.0
"THE ORACLE CODE visits Barbara Gordon (aka Batgirl and Oracle) in her teens after an accident that paralyzes part of..."
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
"THE GLASS QUEEN is an intense and fantastically written fairytale retelling of Cinderella. In the kingdom of Enchantia, fairytales are..."
The Kingdom of Back
 
5.0
"Marie Lu’s The Kingdom of Back is an historical fantasy based on real-life talents, Wolfgang Amedeus Motzart and his sister,..."
Meanwhile
 
3.7
"'Meanwhile' by Jason Shiga is a graphic novel adventure that will remind readers of the types of books in which..."
Fisher- Price Fun in the Jungle: Explore, Touch, and Feel
 
4.5
"FUN IN THE JUNGLE is an adorable board book great for infants and young toddlers who are exploring the world..."
Glitter Globes: The Night Before Christmas
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS modifies the original poem to be more modern and easily understood by young children. The classic..."
Twisting Minds
 
4.8
"The story: At seventeen, Claire Harper’s life has taken a turn for the worse – her mother..."
Breathless
 
4.0
"BREATHLESS is a book about change, secrets, and the aftermath. Claudine (Claude) is about to graduate high school, and she..."