Author Of The Week: Chat with CJ Redwine (The Traitor Prince), Plus Giveaway!!

unnamed-1

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

Introducing CJ Redwine, YABC's Author of the Week!!

C.J. Redwine is the New York Times bestselling author of THE SHADOW QUEEN, THE WISH GRANTER, and the DEFIANCE series. She adores Harry Potter, Sherlock, most of the shows on the CW, and Batman.

To get sneak peeks, behind the scenes info, giveaways and more, join her fan group here:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1536518933271462/

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram * Pinterest

 

 

 

Meet The Traitor Prince

Javan Najafai, crown prince of Akram, has spent the last ten years at an elite boarding school, far away from his kingdom. But his eagerly awaited return home is cut short when a mysterious imposter takes his place—and no one believes Javan is the true prince.

After barely escaping the imposter’s assassins, Javan is thrown into Maqbara, the kingdom’s most dangerous prison. The only way to gain an audience with the king — and reveal Javan’s identity — is to fight in Maqbara’s yearly tournament. But winning is much harder than acing competitions at school, and soon Javan finds himself beset not just by the terrifying creatures in the arena, but also a band of prisoners allied against him, and even the warden herself.

The only person who can help him is Sajda, who has been enslaved by Maqbara’s warden since she was a child, and whose guarded demeanor and powerful right hook keep the prisoners in check. Working with Sajda might be the only way Javan can escape alive — but she has dangerous secrets.

Together, Javan and Sajda have to outwit the vicious warden, outfight the deadly creatures, and outlast the murderous prisoners intent on killing Javan. If they fail, they’ll be trapped in Maqbara for good—and the secret Sajda’s been hiding will bury them both. 

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

YABC:   What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

The Traitor Prince is based on an old Arabian fairy tale called "The False Prince," which is basically like The Prince and the Pauper if the prince had no choice in the switch and had to compete in a tournament to convince his father the king of his true identity.

 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?

I love all my characters, but for this one I have to say Sajda, the heroine. She is complicated, fierce, secretive, and believes she should strike first or risk being destroyed. She's very vulnerable on the inside, but masks it for her own protection. Her journey throughout the book was both heartbreaking and beautiful to write.

 

 

YABC:   Which came first, the title or the novel?

Oh the novel, definitely. Titles are almost always the very last thing I put in place.

 

YABC:   Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

It's important to shut out all the outside voices and just fall in love with the story in your head as you write. And it's important to push yourself and take risks.

 

 

YABC:    What do you like most about the cover of the book?

The gorgeous purple sand! (Which matches the gorgeous purple map on the inside!)

 

 

YABC:    What was your favorite book in 2017?

Wow, it's hard to pick just one! I guess I have to say One Dark Throne by Kendare Blake. I am obsessed.

 

 

YABC:    What’s up next for you?

The next installment in the Ravenspire series (which is a series of companion novels based on fairy tales and can be read in any order) is based on the Cinderella fairy tale, but with some very dark twists. :)

 

YABC:   Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

The scene where Sajda realizes Javan is in love with her but can't accept it because she's so convinced that everyone who says they love her ends up leaving. I pulled on my own emotional journey from when I met my husband while we were in college, and it was both painful and ultimately hopeful because I could see the redemption in Sajda's journey before she could.

 

YABC:   Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Revising! I love being able to craft the messy draft into a polished story.

 

 

YABC:   What would you say is your superpower?

Sadly, if there's a food-related disaster waiting to happen, I'm the girl who will cause it.

 

 

YABC:   Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

Yes! Both Hands is a non-profit organization that does incredible fundraisers with adoptive families to both raise money for the adoption and also help repair and refurbish a widow's home at the same time. We did a fundraiser with them for our first adoption, and we know the head of the organization personally. Both Hands is changing the world one child and one widow at a time.

 

 

 

 

The Traitor Prince

By: CJ Redwine

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Release Date: February 13th, 2018

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a SIGNED copy of The Traitor Prince (CJ Redwine) ~ (International)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Spotlight on Road To Eugenica (A.M. Rose), Plus Gu...
YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ February 12th, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments 14

Already Registered? Login Here
Precious J Hernandez on Tuesday, 13 February 2018 07:23

I enjoyed the first 3, but I’ve always been a fan of stories inspired by Prince and the Pauper, so im definitely interested. ANd the cover is gorgeous.

0
I enjoyed the first 3, but I’ve always been a fan of stories inspired by Prince and the Pauper, so im definitely interested. ANd the cover is gorgeous.
John on Tuesday, 13 February 2018 22:04

The cover has a nice crown, and this sounds like another intriguing Redwine read!

0
The cover has a nice crown, and this sounds like another intriguing Redwine read!
Carina Olsen on Friday, 16 February 2018 09:35

Eee, I love this interview so so much CJ is the best person. Hugs. And loved this book so so so much Eee. And it looks so gorgeous. Sigh. Not entering the giveaway, as I have already ordered my own personalized copy of the book, eee.

0
Eee, I love this interview so so much :D CJ is the best person. Hugs. And loved this book so so so much :D Eee. And it looks so gorgeous. Sigh. Not entering the giveaway, as I have already ordered my own personalized copy of the book, eee.
Lily M. on Sunday, 18 February 2018 05:35

Love this cover, can't wait to check it out ?

0
Love this cover, can't wait to check it out ?
Vani Chitkara on Sunday, 18 February 2018 23:45

Loved the cover! It is gorgeous. Can't wait to read this book.

0
Loved the cover! It is gorgeous. Can't wait to read this book.
Mindy on Monday, 19 February 2018 21:57

I love this cover and the synopsis sounds great. I can't wait to read this!

0
I love this cover and the synopsis sounds great. I can't wait to read this!
Courtney Gendreau on Tuesday, 27 February 2018 14:29

I love the cover and the synopsis!

0
I love the cover and the synopsis!
Kelly G on Friday, 02 March 2018 17:09

I think this cover is the nicest one yet! I can't wait to read this.

0
I think this cover is the nicest one yet! I can't wait to read this.
Candice Gigous on Saturday, 03 March 2018 08:00

The cover has great imagery and colors. The synopsis is very intriguing. I really like fairy tale retellings.

0
The cover has great imagery and colors. The synopsis is very intriguing. I really like fairy tale retellings.
Tiffany Engler on Monday, 05 March 2018 08:56

This cover is absolutely dark and beautiful! I'm really excited for this book!

0
This cover is absolutely dark and beautiful! I'm really excited for this book!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."