Author Of The Week: Chat with April Genevieve Tucholke (The Boneless Mercies), Plus Giveaway!

unnamed-1

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

 

Introducing April Genevieve Tucholke , YABC's Author of the Week!!

April Genevieve Tucholke

April Genevieve Tucholke is the author of Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, Between the Spark and the Burn, Wink Poppy Midnight, and The Boneless Mercies. Her books have been published in thirteen countries, and have received five starred reviews. They have been selected for the Junior Library Guild, Kids' Indie Next picks, and YALSA Teens Top Ten. When she's not writing, April likes walking in the woods, exploring abandoned houses, and drinking expensive coffee. She currently resides in Oregon with her husband.

 

Website * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

Meet The Boneless Mercies!

Frey, Ovie, Juniper, and Runa are the Boneless Mercies—girls hired to kill quickly, quietly, and mercifully. But Frey is weary of the death trade and, having been raised on the heroic sagas of her people, dreams of a bigger life.

When she hears of an unstoppable monster ravaging a nearby town, Frey decides this is the Mercies' one chance out. The fame and fortune of bringing down such a beast would ensure a new future for all the Mercies. In fact, her actions may change the story arc of women everywhere.

Full of fierce girls, bloodlust, tenuous alliances, and unapologetic quests for glory, this elegantly spun tale challenges the power of storytelling—and who gets to be the storyteller. Perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater, V.E. Schwab, and Heidi Heilig.

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I wanted to write a book that depicted the closeness of a group of young, female warriors—my love of Beowulf, and History channel’s Vikings, made me want to set the story in a similar world. I’ve read quite a few fantasies that feature a female main character who is a lone wolf—these are great—but I wanted to focus on the friendship and love between a band of female characters, and what could happen if they fought together to accomplish something daring and extraordinary.



 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?

Juniper, the sweet, mystical Sea Witch . . . no wait. I think it’s actually Ovie, the fierce, stoic warrior who smells like snow and likes to cuddle up beside the main character at night, beside the fire.



 

YABC:   Which came first, the title or the novel?

The title came first. But I actually never intended to keep The Boneless Mercies as the official title—it was a temporary stand-in. The word “Boneless” came from a character in the Icelandic Sagas: Ivar the Boneless. And the word “Mercies” just made sense, considering the nature of the service performed by my main characters (they are mercenaries who provide merciful deaths.) I always meant to change the title, but reader response was very positive to “The Boneless Mercies,” so I kept it . . . and now I can’t imagine it being anything else.

 

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

SPOILER ALERT:

The scene with the hanged girl at the crossroads. Or the scene where the characters race through the prickly Thiss Thorns, on their way to the Sea Witches and their conical witch-huts high in the trees.

 



YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Everything. Especially the font, and the double imagery of the howling wolf with the crescent-moon eye and the trail leading off into the forest . . .

My designer was Will Staehle. Look him up!



 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2018-2019?

There are so many! I was lucky enough to read an early copy of Megan Shepherd’s The Grim Lovelies, and it’s absolutely marvelous. I’m also very excited about Laini Taylor’s next book Muse of Nightmares and Samantha Shannon’s The Priory of the Orange Tree. And Kendare Blake’s Two Dark Reigns of course . . .



 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

I’m working on a very loose companion book to The Boneless Mercies, set in the same world but with very different characters/themes. It will also be a genderflipped retelling of a classic story.

 



YABC:   Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

The ending. Action scenes are always tough (I’d much rather write love scenes, honestly) and the ending for The Boneless Mercies is All. Action. I worked on it for months.



YABC:   Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Revising. Hands down. I’m a perfectionist.



YABC:   What would you say is your superpower?

If I could choose any superpower, I’d like to be able to touch historical objects and see visions of who held them last, and what kind of world this person lived in.

What is my actual superpower? Mixing potions. I’m certain I was witch in a previous life.



YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

Living Lands and Waters

The Boneless Mercies

By: April Genevieve Tucholke

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

Release Date: October 2nd, 2018

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Two winners will each receive one signed HC of The Boneless Mercies, and one wolf pendant necklace.

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Author Chat with Ashley Saunders & Leslie Saunders...
YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ October 1st, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments 22

Already Registered? Login Here
Madeline Tebo on Tuesday, 02 October 2018 11:33

The cover is gorgeous and the book sounds really interesting!

0
The cover is gorgeous and the book sounds really interesting!
Daniela on Wednesday, 03 October 2018 13:42

The wold on the cover so is os awesome!! It's eyes are veryy interesting and the plot sounds even more interesting

0
The wold on the cover so is os awesome!! It's eyes are veryy interesting and the plot sounds even more interesting
Kacie on Thursday, 04 October 2018 00:36

The cover is beautiful and the book sounds great! I can't wait to read The Boneless Mercies!

0
The cover is beautiful and the book sounds great! I can't wait to read [i]The Boneless Mercies[/i]!
Irma Jurejevčič on Friday, 05 October 2018 09:40

This cover is gorgeous and I simply can not wait to read this book. Sounds amazing.

0
This cover is gorgeous and I simply can not wait to read this book. Sounds amazing.
Debra Branigan on Tuesday, 09 October 2018 21:23

The cover is very attractive and will draw YA readers. The story sounds very interesting. I can't wait to read this one.

0
The cover is very attractive and will draw YA readers. The story sounds very interesting. I can't wait to read this one.
Renee Moore on Tuesday, 09 October 2018 22:41

Absolutely beautiful cover! The synopsis sounds amazing, this will be a must read for sure!

0
Absolutely beautiful cover! The synopsis sounds amazing, this will be a must read for sure!
Kara S on Wednesday, 10 October 2018 21:42

Of course I am psyched about this book based on the synopsis, but the cover is great too! I especially like the font used for the title, etc. Thanks! --Kara S

0
Of course I am psyched about this book based on the synopsis, but the cover is great too! I especially like the font used for the title, etc. Thanks! --Kara S
Donna Saunders on Saturday, 13 October 2018 10:16

I love the cover! This sounds like an amazing story.

0
I love the cover! This sounds like an amazing story.
Sam on Saturday, 13 October 2018 20:04

I adore this cover! I love action and adventure so I’m sure I’ll love this book!

0
I adore this cover! I love action and adventure so I’m sure I’ll love this book!
Tiffany Engler on Monday, 15 October 2018 09:33

I love this cover! Can't wait to read this book!

0
I love this cover! Can't wait to read this book!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...
The Art of Holding On
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life happens, whether you’re ready or not. All you can...
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author Sue Macy offers a fresh and timely account...
Outlawed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
OUTLANDER meets Robin Hood. Traveling through time...
The Path We Take
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s alone He’s tattooed He’s badly burnt ...
Half-Blood Mage
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed dragon hunter A half-blood mage...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
If genetic engineering could guarantee you and your family perfect...
Slayer (Slayer, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Into every generation a Slayer is born… ...
Magic Bound
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Starting a new school is never easy and this time...
When Wishes Bleed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Prince. One Witch. One Fate. ...
Dealing in Dreams
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Outsiders meets Mad Max: Fury Road in this fast-paced...

Latest Member Reviews

Kingdom Cold
 
4.8
"What I loved: First and foremost, the characters. Princess Charlotte's fierce, unyielding manner. The way her character is left..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."
Scarred
 
4.8
"Emotionally, I mean. What I loved: As you can guess from the title,..."
The Path Divided
 
5.0
"I'm going to break out of my usual review mold here because this book was so many things. It..."
Girl at Heart
 
4.8
"What I loved: Just about everything. This was an adorable YA Contemporary Romance with a surprisingly well-rounded..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.3
"What I loved: The world building was perfectly illustrated without bogging down the story. Everything from the..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."