Author Of The Week: Author Chat with Melissa de la Cruz (Never After: The Thirteenth Fairy), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

1.jpg

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

Introducing Melissa de la Cruz, YABC's Author of the Week!

           

Melissa de la Cruz is the #1 New York Times, #1 Publishers Weekly and #1 IndieBound bestselling author of Isle of the Lost and Return to the Isle of the Lost as well as many critically acclaimed and award-winning novels for readers of all ages. Her books have also topped the USA TODAY, Wall Street Journal and Los Angeles Times bestseller lists and have been published in more than twenty countries.

A former fashion and beauty editor, Melissa has written for the New York Times, Marie Claire,Harper's Bazaar, Glamour, Cosmopolitan, Allure, the San Francisco Chronicle,McSweeney's, Teen Vogue, CosmoGirl! and Seventeen. She has also appeared as an expert on fashion, trends and fame for CNN, E! and Fox News.

Melissa grew up in Manila and moved to San Francisco with her family, where she graduated high school salutatorian from the Convent of the Sacred Heart. At Columbia University, she majored in art history and English. Today she lives in Los Angeles and Palm Springs with her husband and daughter. 

 

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

 

 
 
   
 
 

Meet Never After: The Thirteenth Fairy!

Real life and fairy tales collide in Never After: The Thirteenth Fairy, book one in the new middle-grade Never After series from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Descendants series, Melissa de la Cruz.

Nothing ever happens in Filomena Jefferson-Cho’s sleepy little suburban town of North Pasadena. The sun shines every day, the grass is always a perfect green, and while her progressive school swears there’s no such thing as bullying, she still feels bummed out. But one day, when Filomena is walking home on her own, something strange happens.

Filomena is being followed by Jack Stalker, one of the heroes in the Thirteenth Fairy, a series of books she loves about a brave girl and her ragtag group of friends who save their world from an evil enchantress. She must be dreaming, or still reading a book. But Jack is insistent—he’s real, the stories are real, and Filomena must come with him at once!

Soon, Filomena is thrust into the world of evil fairies and beautiful princesses, sorcerers and slayers, where an evil queen drives her ruthless armies to destroy what is left of the Fairy tribes. To save herself and the kingdom of Westphalia, Filomena must find the truth behind the fairytales and set the world back to rights before the cycle of sleep and destruction begins once more.
 

 

 Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
~ Author Chat ~
 

        

      YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

Jack Stalker, the dashing hero of the fictional series in the book, is my favorite. I have a soft spot for dashing Jacks. (Yes I missed Jack Force from Blue Bloods so much I wrote in another Jack in this book!) 



      YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?Which came first, the title or the novel?

The title came to me at a dinner with my agent. I said “It’s called NEVER AFTER!” and it felt like a lightbulb went off in my head.

 

      YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

When Filomena finds out the truth and the truth about her parents it made me cry, I didn’t realize it was such an emotional journey. I thought it was just a fun adventure. But it’s really about family love and what makes a family.

      

 

      YABC:   What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2021?

Very excited for all my releasees, including The Queen’s Secret, the sequel to the Queen’s Assassin coming out in March, then High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip which is an original novel in the High School Musical world, bridging season 1 to season 2, and my new Audible original, The Five Year Hitch, which stars Witches of East End stars Rachel Boston and Daniel di Tomasso. As well as the second book in the Never After Series which comes out in December 2021.

      

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

I’m currently working on Blue Bloods: THE RETURN, which is a return to my favorite vampire world. All yours and my favorite characters are back! It’s super fun being back with the NYC vampire gang.

     YABC:   Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Revising is much easier, once you have words down, it’s just a matter of figuring out the right ones. Much less daunting than a blank page.



     YABC:   What would you say is your superpower?

Speed. I had an IQ test once and my “processing speed” was in the 99.9 level, which means I can absorb and understand and quickly figure out things, which I think is very helpful when I work on multiple projects a year. It doesn’t take me long to get up to speed on a project, I am very fast.

   

YABC:    Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

My sister and brother in law are volunteer organizers for the Society of St. Vincent de Paul’s Friends of the Poor, which is a program in Los Angeles which makes a difference in individual lives—not a sweeping charity for the nameless and the faceless. For instance, they will work with a particular family to get them what they most need at the moment, whether it is shelter or food. It makes a really impactful difference in people’s lives. Please consider a donation if you can. 

 

 

 

 

Never After: The Thirteenth Fairy

By: Melissa de la Cruz

Publisher: Roaring Brook Press/Macmillan

Release Date: December 1st, 2020

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*    

One winner will receive a copy of Never After: The Thirteenth Fairy (Melissa de la Cruz)

~ (US Only) ~

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

6th Annual 12 Days of Christmas Giveaway Extravaga...
YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ December 7, 2020

Related Posts

 

Comments 11

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Monday, 07 December 2020 12:02

Book looks great, look forward to reading!

0
Book looks great, look forward to reading!
Andrea Cerda on Monday, 07 December 2020 21:25

Looks great! like the cover!

0
Looks great! like the cover!
Amanda on Tuesday, 08 December 2020 18:34

Looks so good! I can't wait to read it

0
Looks so good! I can't wait to read it:D
Dianna G. on Tuesday, 08 December 2020 19:48

I'm a 6th grade teacher always looking for middle grades books for my students. This will be a HUGE hit!

0
I'm a 6th grade teacher always looking for middle grades books for my students. This will be a HUGE hit!
Simone on Wednesday, 09 December 2020 14:49

This gives me School for Good and Evil vibes, and I love that. The genie lamp makes me think that there may an Aladdin retelling in there somewhere, which only makes this sound better.

0
This gives me School for Good and Evil vibes, and I love that. The genie lamp makes me think that there may an Aladdin retelling in there somewhere, which only makes this sound better.
Jeana Kwiecinski on Tuesday, 15 December 2020 21:03

This book looks so good! I love that cover!

0
This book looks so good! I love that cover!
Chiara Jucha on Thursday, 24 December 2020 12:54

Oooh, my students would love this!

0
Oooh, my students would love this!
Victoria Scott on Tuesday, 29 December 2020 14:26

Looks awesome! I'd enjoy reading this WITH my daughter!

0
Looks awesome! I'd enjoy reading this WITH my daughter!
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 03 January 2021 11:45

I enjoy the cover and think this will be fun to read.

0
I enjoy the cover and think this will be fun to read.
Cynthia Robinson on Sunday, 03 January 2021 11:56

I love the concept!

0
I love the concept!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...

Latest Member Reviews

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."