b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_unnamed-_20210308-161920_1

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

 

Introducing Kathryn Purdie, YABC's Author of the Week!!

Kathryn Purdie is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Burning Glass series. She lives near Salt Lake City, Utah, with her husband and three children. Kathryn is a trained classical actress who studied at the Oxford School of Drama. She also writes songs on her guitar for each of her stories and shares them on her website: www.kathrynpurdie.com

 

Website * Twitter * Facebook * Instagram

 

 

 

Meet Bone Crier's Dawn!

Ailesse and her friends change the afterlife in the gripping conclusion to the fantasy duology that began with Bone Crier’s Moon from New York Times bestselling author Kathryn Purdie—perfect for fans of Stephanie Garber and Roshani Chokshi.

Love is a matter of life and death.

Bone Criers have been ferrying the dead into the afterlife for centuries, a dangerous duty only possible with the powers they gain from sacrificing their amourés, the men destined to love them and die. But Bone Criers Ailesse and Sabine—along with Ailesse’s love, Bastien—are working to chart their own course and rewrite the rules of the afterlife. If they don’t break the soul bond between Ailesse and her amouré, she could die—just as Bastien’s father did.

Sabine struggles to maintain her authority as matrone of her famille—the role always destined for her sister—even as she fights to control the violent jackal power within her.

Bastien is faced with a new dilemma as the spirits of the Underworld threaten the souls of his friends—and his father. 

Ailesse attempts to resist her mother’s siren song as she’s drawn into her own version of the Underworld. How will she save her friends once she’s cut off from their world?

This pulse-pounding follow-up to Bone Crier’s Moon is a story of love, sisterhood, and determination as three friends find the courage and power to shatter the boundary between the living and the dead.

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

      

      YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

While doing research for another book, I stumbled upon “les dames blanches” online. These supernatural “women in white" from French mythology kill the men who deny them dances on bridges. I had so many questions as to why they did what they did and how they justified it, so I filled in the blanks and came up with the idea for this duology.

     

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

I love all of my characters, but I have an extra soft spot for Sabine. She grows in confidence throughout the two books. At first, she doesn’t see her own quieter gifts as strengths, but she comes to embrace them and who she is. I loved writing her journey, and I related to it so much.

   

      YABC:  Do you have a favorite writing snack?

My favorite writing snacks are my own mini version of a charcuterie board: Triscuits, sharp cheddar cheese, and baby carrots. I never grow tired of munching on them!

     

 

      YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Sabine! She has as many point-of-view chapters as Ailesse and Bastien in the duology, so I’m thrilled she finally got her due place on the cover. Charlie Bowater also did an amazing job illustrating her!

     

      YABC:  What’s a book you’ve recently read and loved?

I’m currently reading and loving WINGS OF FURY by Emily R. King. It’s such a unique play on Greek mythology. It shares the “true story” of the downfall of Cronos, Zeus’s father, and the untold tale of the women who brought about the end of his tyranny.

 

    YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

Without giving too much away, the Afterlife and the real world collide in BONE CRIER’S DAWN. Because of that, some of the main characters get to briefly cross paths with their loved ones who are deceased characters. One of those scenes was very cathartic for me to write, as I was able to strongly imagine being able to converse with my dad, who passed away in 2016.

     

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

Hyperfocusing. It’s a blessing and a curse. The blessing is my ability to write for hours on end without getting burned out. The curse is my near inability to multitask in other areas of my life. I have to work very hard to achieve balance and not neglect my other responsibilities and interests.

   

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

My son and three of my brothers have severe hemophilia, a rare bleeding disorder. Before becoming published, I worked for seven years for the Utah Hemophilia Foundation (UHF). We held educational events and raised awareness for all bleeding disorders. For example, did you know 1 in 50 women have von Willebrand disease, another bleeding disorder? Most women don’t realize they’re affected until a dangerous health event occurs. Related to the UHF is the National Hemophilia Foundation. I love these organizations and the communities they serve.

 

 

   YABC:  What advice would you give to new writers?

Learn as much as you can about writing...and then try to forget about it as you draft. That sounds counterintuitive, but perfectionism is paralyzing. It’s better to trust that the knowledge you’ve learned is in the back of your mind and keeping you on track. Having fun and staying emotionally invested is a better way to spend your energy, because it takes a LOT of passion to finish writing a book. Then once you’re done drafting, be hard on yourself as you revise. Now’s the time to think more logically through what you’ve studied and apply it to what you’ve written. 

 

 

 

 

Bone Crier's Dawn

By: Kathryn Purdie

Publisher: Katherine Tegen

Release Date: March 30th, 2021

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Three winners will each receive a copy of Bone Crier's Dawn (Kathryn Purdie) ~ (US Only)

 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway