unnamed-1

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

Introducing Candace Robinson, YABC's Author of the Week!

        

Candace Robinson spends her days consumed by words and hoping to one day find her own DeLorean time machine. Her life consists of avoiding migraines, admiring Bonsai trees, watching classic movies, and living with her husband and daughter in Texas—where it can be forty degrees one day and eighty the next.

 

Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Pinterest | Twitter | Instagram

 

 
 
   
 
 

Meet Lyrics & Curses!

Lark Espinoza could get lost in her music—and she’s not so sure anyone in her family would even care to find her. Her trendy, party-loving twin sister and her mother-come-lately Beth, who’s suddenly sworn off men and onto homemaking, don’t understand her love of cassette tapes, her loathing of the pop scene, or her standoffish personality. For outcast Lark, nothing feels as much like a real home as working at Bubble’s Oddities store and trying to attract the attention of the cute guy who works at the Vinyl shop next door—the same one she traded lyrical notes with in class.

Auden Ellis silences the incessant questions in his own head with a steady stream of beats. Despite the unconditional love of his aunt-turned-mother, he can’t quit thinking about the loss of his parents—or the possibility he might end up afflicted with his father’s issues. Despite his connection with lyric-loving Lark, Auden keeps her at arm’s length because letting her in might mean giving her a peek into something dangerous.

When two strangers arrive in town, one carrying a mysterious, dark object and the other playing an eerie flute tune, Lark and Auden find that their painful pasts have enmeshed them in a cursed future. Now, they must come to terms with their budding attraction while helping each other challenge the reflection they see in the mirror. If they fail, they’ll be trapped for eternity in a place beyond reality.

*Set in 1985 and full of nostalgia! Perfect for fans of Stranger Things and Pretty in Pink!

 

 

Link to Pre-Order! 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
~ Author Chat ~
 

YABC:   What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

First, I'm a big fan of the 80s! But my daughter is actually becoming more and more interested in older decades so I thought it would be a cool thing to do! I'm also hoping for anyone who doesn't know the songs that they may Google them and take a listen! Sort of like discovering an Easter egg!

 

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

Such a tough question! But I'd have to say Lark. She was just such a fun character to write, and I love how much she cares for Auden! Plus, I love her all black style and red lips and fingernails.

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

The title actually came first on this one! I knew Lark and Auden would be exchanging lyrical notes and there would be a curse! So bam, there it was.

 

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

There's so many! But there's one scene between Auden and Lark in his van, named Jenny, that was just extra special. Lark comforted him for a reason that you will have to read the book to see. But I loved it!

 

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

To go slower on my read throughs, to focus on each of the sentences to make sure each one connects in a unified way.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

The 80s and paranormal vibe it has, and the cover definitely matches the story!

 

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2021?

There are a lot! But definitely The Wisdom of Blood by A.G. Howard and A Court of Silver Flames by Sarah J. Maas. Anything with dark things and romance calls to me.

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2020?

So many good ones! Possibly Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco, though! It was dark, swoony, and all around awesome!

 

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I have several releases next year including more Faeries of Oz books with my co-author, Amber R. Duell, as well as my stand alone dark romantic fantasy, The Bone Valley.

 

 

YABC:  Is there anything that you would like to add?

Just if you have any good 80s movie or song recs, send them my way!

 

 

YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

Someone dying is always hard to do. Just to make sure you get the reader to feel that scene. I can't say what scene but it was definitely a kill to my heart.

 

 

YABC:  Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

I actually didn't have a problem with either character from Lyrics & Curses, but in the companion sequel, Music & Mirrors, releasing next year, I had the most trouble with Leni. It took me longer than usual to find her voice, but when I did, I wanted to yell from the rooftops!

 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Revising for sure. That first draft seems to take eons and eons but the revising part is more like stitching. I like to think that my first draft is Frankenstein's monster, and the second draft is stitching him to life.

 

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

Dependable. I get things done quick and on time but that may also be a flaw because my anxiety is what kicks me in gear to do these things!

 

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

Anything having to do with epilepsy because my daughter started having seizures at an early age. Luckily, she hasn't had one in four years.

 

 

 

 

     

Lyrics & Curses

By: Candace Robinson

Publisher: Midnight Tide Publishing

Release Date: November 11th, 2020

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*    

One winner will receive a copy of Lyrics & Curses (Candace Robinson) ~ (US Only)

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway