Author Of The Week: Author Chat with Beth Rodgers (Welcome To Chanu-Con!), Plus Giveaway!

b2ap3_large_unnamed-_20191218-161333_1

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

 

Meet Beth Rodgers, YABC's Author Of The Week!

  

Beth Rodgers is an author and editor. Her newest release is a children's picture book, 'Welcome to Chanu-Con!' She is also the author of two young adult novels, 'Freshman Fourteen' and its sequel 'Sweet Fifteen,' as well as the short story 'Hearts & Homes,' found in the 'Mistletoe & Magic' anthology from YA Books Central. Her world is made up of her three boys, her husband, and good family and friends. She loves spending her time watching TV and movies, volunteering at her kids' schools, taking walks, and, of course, reading great books. Learn more about her at BethRodgersAuthor.com.

 

 

Website * Twitter * Facebook 

 

 

 

Meet Welcome To Chanu-Con!

Join Max and his sister Lila as they navigate their synagogue's Chanukah extravaganza, "Chanu-Con!" Their day's highlights include making a human menorah, dipping Chanukah candles, tasting latkes and Chanukah treats, and dancing to festive music. A comic-book style graphic children's book written in verse and inclusive of the Chanukah story with its deeper meanings, "Welcome to Chanu-Con!" is the first collaboration between Beth Rodgers, author and Chanu-Con! founder, and veteran children's illustrator, Howard Frids

 

 

 AmazonB & NIndiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I have always wanted to write a children's picture book. I used to love reading them as a child (and I still do!), and I've always thought the illustrations in folktales and other stories are so beautiful. I thought it would be so wonderful to write one of my own. I figured having a unique idea would be helpful in making this happen. So when my then three-year-old son (who is now six) said “Happy Chanu-Con” instead of “Happy Chanukah” and my husband said we should have Chanu-Con! at our synagogue, like Comic-Con, but all about Chanukah, I ran with it. The idea from the book stemmed from the success of the event. We just held the fourth annual one in late November.

 

 

YABC: Which came first, the title or the novel?

The title came first. Without the Chanu-Con! event, there would not be a book all about it.

 

 

YABC: What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

My favorite part of the book is the stanza that reads:

“It's the shamash,” Max said,

“And it lights all the rest.

Without it, the other ones

Couldn't be blessed.”

The shamash is the “helper” candle. It is the one that lights the other candles each night of Chanukah. The illustration that goes along with this section of the book makes it all connect in such a beautiful way, and I truly love reading those lines.

 

 

YABC: Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

It takes a lot of work to write a book. Even a 32 page picture book doesn't fly by. There is so much time, energy, and dedication that has to be put into compiling a story to be told. It is a wonderful process, but if you are an impatient person, you need to prepare yourself. Just remember that the end product and the feeling you get when you publish it is worth all of that time, energy, and dedication you put into it along the way.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

My favorite part of the cover is the color that my wonderful illustrator, Howard Fridson, brought to it, along with the sweetness of Max opening the door for people to walk in and seeing all of the people who are inside spending their day at Chanu-Con!

 

 

YABC: What was your favorite book in 2019?

I read a lot of great books this year, so it is hard to narrow it down. Since I'm only supposed to choose one here, I'll pick Bea and the Bad Boy, a young adult sweet romance by Anna Catherine Field. It was an easy, breezy summer read that I really enjoyed. While it is the third in a series, I was definitely able to read it as a standalone novel. I'm actually reading another one in that series now.

 

 

YABC: Is there anything that you would like to add?

Even if you aren't Jewish or don't know much (or anything) about Chanukah, Welcome to Chanu-Con! is a book that you will be able to connect with and understand. It briefly tells the story of Chanukah before delving into the event and how young Max wants to show his sister Lila around so she can be as excited about Chanu-Con! as he is. It includes crafts that kids can enjoy and a page with key words that can help explain what Chanukah might mean to a variety of people. If you've ever been curious about the holiday or know about it but want a book that strives to do more than express the regular Chanukah topics of menorahs, dreidels, and latkes, this is the book for you!

 

 

YABC: Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

If I had to choose, I'd pick drafting. I definitely don't mind the process of revising, because it brings about a finished product, but drafting it and seeing how it all comes together as the words mesh with what my initial ideas were is quite powerful. In the case of my picture book, it is also exciting to see how the illustrations build around the text, and vice versa.

 

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

I would absolutely love to say that flying is my superpower. That would be awesome! Since that's not possible, I'd say that a vast knowledge of TV and movie trivia is my superpower. I love the way that TV shows and movies make me feel. It's one thing to read a book (which is another thing I love to do!), but seeing how the writing on TV and movies brings relevance and meaning to my life and the lives of others is awesome, so I get quite a thrill knowing lots of fun trivia about entertainment.

 

Welcome To Chanu-Con!

Author: Beth Rodgers

Publishing Date: November 1st, 2019

Publisher: Clear Stone Press

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a copy of Welcome To Chanu-Con! (Beth Rodgers) ~ (US Only)

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Link to order Freshman Fourteenhttp://amzn.com/069231444X [amzn.com]

Link to order Sweet Fifteenhttp://amzn.com/0998410802 [amzn.com]

Link to order Mistletoe & Magichttp://amzn.com/B07K23DV7G [amzn.com]

 

 

Featured Review: Welcome To Chanu-Con! (Beth Rodge...
Featured Review: American Royals (Katharine McGee)

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devil Darling Spy
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."