Author Guest Post with SF Said (Phoenix) + Giveaway!

Author Guest Post with SF Said (Phoenix) + Giveaway!

Today we're excited to share a guest post from SF Said

author of Phoenix!  Below you'll find more about SF,

his book, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

I want to start by sharing the best writing advice I've ever read.  It comes from JD Salinger's Seymour: An Introduction:

"If only you'd remember before you sit down to write that you've been a reader long before you were ever a writer.  You simply fix that fact in your mind, then sit very still and ask yourself, as a reader, what piece of writing in all the world would you most want to read if you had your heart's choice?  The next step is terrible, but so simple I can hardly believe it as I write it.  You just sit down shamelessly and write the thing yourself."

I think that's the truth about writing.  A writer is nothing more than a reader who took the next step, and decided to write the stories they wanted to read themselves.  

That's certainly how I wrote Phoenix.  One of its biggest inspirations is Star Wars, which I saw as a wide-eyed 10 year old when it was released in 1977.  I've wanted to write a great big space epic for young readers ever since.  And so Phoenix is a story about a human boy with the power of a star, and an alien girl who wants to save the galaxy from the war that's destroying it.  If you share my love of Star Wars, I hope you'll read Phoenix, because it was written for someone just like you.

Ancient mythology is another big inspiration.  I'm fascinated by the parallels between world mythologies, and I wanted to read a story that connected them all and imagined what might lie behind them.  So Roger Lancelyn Green's retellings of ancient myths are deep in Phoenix's DNA, as are books that create their own mythology, like Ursula Le Guin's Earthsea stories.  

Le Guin is a vital touchstone for me.  I love the way she uses science fiction and fantasy to communicate big ideas about the real world.  Her books have things to say about philosophy, spirituality, politics; about the interconnectedness of all existence; about the values and ideals that might help us live in dark times.  I wanted Phoenix to do all those things, as well as to entertain readers with spectacular action.

I love comics as much as books and films.  Phoenix could be seen as a superhero story about young people discovering how powerful they can be.  It also shares something with the cosmic end of Marvel, like The Silver Surfer, and Neil Gaiman's The Sandman.  I'm very lucky that my books are illustrated by Dave McKean, who did The Sandman coversand is my all-time favourite artist.  It's an awe-inspiring thing to work with someone whose own work influenced you!

You can't choose your influences.  You love what you love.  But the things you love are the wellsprings of your writing, and the truer you are to them, the stronger your work will be.  I can see all these influences when I look at Phoenix.  As Salinger would say, it's the piece of writing I most want to read in all the world, and I hope readers around the world will enjoy it too.  

 
 
 
Meet Phoenix!
 
 

A boy with unprecedented power must turn to the terrifying Alien enemies of humanity to discover his true nature and bring peace to a galaxy at war.

Lucky lives a relatively normal life on a remote moon of the planet Aries One, safe from the turmoil and devastation of the interstellar war between Humans and Aliens. Lucky has seen images of the horned, cloven-hooved Aliens before, but he’s never seen one up close. Then one night, he dreams that the stars are singing to him—and wakes to evidence suggesting that he is not so normal after all. When Lucky’s mother sacrifices herself to help him escape an elite Human military force called the Shadow Guards, he must rely on the Alien crew of a ramshackle starship, where he finds that humanity’s deadly enemies seem surprisingly Human up close. In fact, they may be more Human than Lucky himself, who has a dangerous power that could change the course of the war and the fate of the galaxy—if he can learn how to use it. Star Wars fans seeking another saga to love need look no further than this epic middle-grade adventure from SF Said, illustrated by Dave McKean with remarkable white-on-black spacescapes.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Meet SF Said!
 
SF Said is the Nestlé Smarties Book Prize–winning author of Varjak Paw. He was born in Lebanon in 1967, but has lived in London since he was two years old.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Phoenix

By: SF Said

Release Date: October 10th, 2016 

Publisher: Candlewick Press

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Three winners will receive a copy of Phoenix (SF Said) ~ (US only)
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Spotlight: Cursing Fate by Brenda Drake, Plus Exce...
Waiting On Wednesday ~ November 23rd, 2016
 

Comments 7

Already Registered? Login Here
John on Tuesday, 29 November 2016 00:57

I found the cover fun and beautifully designed. I found the synopsis insightful.

0
I found the cover fun and beautifully designed. I found the synopsis insightful.
Maggie on Monday, 12 December 2016 00:33

The cover is striking and seems to fit with the book very well!

0
The cover is striking and seems to fit with the book very well!
Anne on Thursday, 15 December 2016 10:51

Love the cover because yellow is one of my favorite colors!

0
Love the cover because yellow is one of my favorite colors! ;)
Dianna G. on Monday, 19 December 2016 16:58

The cover is full of drama. I am not usually into science fiction, but this synopsis makes me curious.

0
The cover is full of drama. I am not usually into science fiction, but this synopsis makes me curious.
Danielle Hammelef on Tuesday, 20 December 2016 16:07

The cover is so bright and eye-catching, definitely full of power. I think this book promises so much suspense, adventure and a unique plot/world.

0
The cover is so bright and eye-catching, definitely full of power. I think this book promises so much suspense, adventure and a unique plot/world.
Dan Denman on Thursday, 22 December 2016 13:40

I like the colors and imagery of the book cover. I think this sounds like a great science fiction story! I think I will like the characters!

0
I like the colors and imagery of the book cover. I think this sounds like a great science fiction story! I think I will like the characters!
Nancy Hernandez on Thursday, 22 December 2016 23:39

Cover is amazing and the story sounds like apocalypse is imminent. yes.

0
Cover is amazing and the story sounds like apocalypse is imminent. yes.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
"I AM THE SHARK is a fun and educational picture book about self-confidence. A great white shark is introducing the..."
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
"This book had some good ideas, especially a young man coming to terms with his sexuality, but it felt somewhat..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Photos Framed: A Fresh Look at the World's Most Memorable Photographs
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Book Nerd
 
N/A
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."