Author Guest Post with Cornelia Funke

Author Guest Post with Cornelia Funke

 

When I wrote my first book about MirrorWorld I thought it would be one journey. I should have known better! I thought the same about Inkworld – to find myself still writing that story six years later. To realize that these two worlds are indeed the same, just 500 years apart, bound by a book with silver covers, took me a few years too.

 

Which teaches one thing: stories don’t reveal their secrets easily. They are labyrinths that lure us in with a whisper to then distract and fool us, to lie and trap the writer who tries to find their heart. And the better we get in our craft the bigger the labyrinth grows!

 

I was in Moscow when I realized how big a labyrinth I had stumbled into through a mirror. I stood on the Red Square looking at St. Basil and its otherworldly towers when I suddenly got a glimpse at the Mirrors’ maker – and his involvement with this world. I rushed back to my hotel to write it all down. And then I lay in the dark, with Moscow’s golden roofs outside of my hotel window and thought: ‘Heavens! This will be a fairy tale journey around the world!’

 

When I wrote Book 1 – Reckless, as it is called in the US (I’ll soon re‐publish it under the original title Reckless: The Petrified Flesh) I was still on familiar ground. I wrote about a world inspired by the tales of my German childhood. Most of us associate the Grimms’ tales when we hear ‘Fairy Tale’. I decided to play with their motives in a world closely resembling ours around 1860, a time, when the modern times were born, with no chance of going back. But how would it change the world if there is old and new magic (as they call science behind the Mirrors)? What if all Fairy Tales were historical truth, preserving a long forgotten past?

 

The next step was to take the local origins of the tales seriously. No trolls outside Scandinavia, except emigrants. What are Heinzelmen called in France? Follets. And Hobs in Albion.

You see? I was lost behind the Mirrors as soon as I stepped through them!

 

The second book – Fearless in the US, Reckless: Living Shadows in most other countries – brought me to France. Where I met Bluebeards and learned a few things about giants, mal de mer and puss in boots. Those tales are still quite familiar to us, but the Golden Yarn‐ my third journey behind the Mirrors – led to lesser known tales. My heroes head East, to find creatures and treasures from Russian and Ukrainian tales, from Siberia and Kazakhstan. The tales I discovered for this book were mostly not familiar. They tasted of far away landscapes, of a Shaman tradition almost forgotten, they had powerful women characters in them, who probably once were goddesses….

 

The Golden Yarn is my most exciting adventure behind the Mirrors so far. But the next one is taking shape already in equally exciting ways. I am currently reading fairy tales from Japan and India, which make me feel as if I know nothing about this world!

 

I plan to travel to the Americas in Book 5 and to Africa in Book 6, but let’s see. Only the story knows where this will go. It enchants me with every step I take and every tale I read. It feels like exactly the right journey in a time when we realize every day how little we know about each other and how dangerous this ignorance and lack of understanding is.

 

 

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_the-golden-yarn.jpg

 

 

The Golden Yarn
 
  1. By: Cornelia Funke

  2. About: Jacob Reckless continues to travel the portal in his father's abandoned study. His name has continued to be famous on the other side of the mirror, as a finder of enchanted items and buried secrets. His family and friends, from his brother, Will to the shape-shifting vixen, Fox, are on a collision course as the two worlds become connected. Who is driving these two worlds together and why is he always a step ahead?


    This new force isn’t limiting its influence to just Jacob’s efforts – it has broadened the horizon within MirrorWorld. Jacob, Will and Fox travel east and into the Russian folklore, to the land of the Baba Yaga, pursued by a new type of being that knows our world all too well.
  3.  
  4. Release Date: December 1, 2015

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

 

One winner will receive a copy of The Golden Yarn, US only.

 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. During this giveaway, Cornelia Funke has a question for you to answer in the comments below for more chances to win his book! What folklore inspired the writing of this latest book in the MirrorWorld series?

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_cornelia-funke.jpg

Cornelia Funke is a multiple award-winning German author, best known for writing the Inkworld trilogy as well as The Thief Lord. The Inkworld books, which have won the 2003 Mildred L. Batchelder Award as well as the 2004 and 2006 BookSense Book of the Year Children's Literature Awards, have gained incredible attention and Funke has been dubbed the "German J.K. Rowling” This November, she will launch her own publishing company, Breathing Books. She lives in Los Angeles, California.  

Learn more Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pre-order
 

 

12 Days of Christmas Giveaway Extravaganza - Day 1
Featured Trailer: The Tiara On The Terrace by Kris...

Related Posts

 

Comments 12

Already Registered? Login Here
Sarah Romer (website) on Sunday, 06 December 2015 19:04

The folklore that inspired book three originated in Russian and Ukrainian tales with stories of Baba Yaga.

0
The folklore that inspired book three originated in Russian and Ukrainian tales with stories of Baba Yaga.
Sky (website) on Sunday, 06 December 2015 23:57

The folklore was based off of Baba Yaga!

0
The folklore was based off of Baba Yaga!
Guest - Cindy on Monday, 07 December 2015 01:51

Baba Yaga inspired this latest book in the MirrorWorld series.

0
Baba Yaga inspired this latest book in the MirrorWorld series.
Megan Elaine Schuyler (website) on Saturday, 12 December 2015 16:57

Russian

0
Russian
Guest - Kalani on Sunday, 13 December 2015 17:28

Baba Yaga!

0
Baba Yaga! :D
Guest - bn100 on Friday, 18 December 2015 21:42

Baba Yaga

0
Baba Yaga
Linda Romer (website) on Sunday, 20 December 2015 15:59

Baba yaga ♡ Thank you

0
Baba yaga ♡ Thank you
Guest - Dianna (website) on Friday, 25 December 2015 09:51

Russian and Ukrainian tales sparked this story. Fascinating!

0
Russian and Ukrainian tales sparked this story. Fascinating!
Amy Hart (website) on Saturday, 26 December 2015 23:16

Russian Baba yaga

0
Russian Baba yaga
Guest - danielle hammelef on Tuesday, 29 December 2015 10:17

Russian

0
Russian

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."