Author Guest Post--Maggie Thrash

Author Guest Post--Maggie Thrash

 

Fifteen is a cool and weird age because you think you know yourself, but in reality you have no idea what you're capable of. And I don't mean that in a hollow “reach for the stars!” way, or in a condescending “you're just a kid!” way either. At that age, you really don't know what you can do, and your potential could go in about 100 different directions. Your brain and your body are still growing. Sorry this sounds like a commercial for Omega‐3 enriched milk or something, but it's true. Every day you could wake up and be pretty much an entirely different person from who you were before.

I was figuring this out in some very literal ways the summer I was fifteen, which is what my graphic novel HONOR GIRL is about. It's set at a 100‐year‐old all‐girls camp in the Appalachian Mountains where I went every summer. They had a riflery program, and I was suddenly getting really good at it after years of being a mediocre shooter. The reason this happened is that I had a great counselor on the range who basically said to me, If you think you suck, that's 90% of the why you suck. Get out of your head. Don't screw yourself by assuming you know your own limits.

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_pg-69.jpg

HONOR GIRLCopyright © 2015 by Maggie Thrash. Reproduced by permission of the publisher, Candlewick Press, Somerville, MA.

 

During this time, I also had a sleep‐walking problem. At night I'd often wander into the woods and then wake up with no idea where I was. The fact that my body was capable of operating without my conscious mind's participation was pretty creepy. What’s ironic is that there were strict rules about us campers going into the woods. Our very scary camp director would threaten to beat us with a canoe paddle if we ever set foot outside the orderly confines of tent row. I don't think he ever actually committed child abuse, but we were still terrified of him. I never would have broken the rules while I was awake, yet I did it compulsively in my sleep.

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_pg-196.jpg

HONOR GIRLCopyright © 2015 by Maggie Thrash. Reproduced by permission of the publisher, Candlewick Press, Somerville, MA.

 

And at the same time, I was realizing I was in love with an older female counselor at the camp. She was from Colorado, and played the guitar, and knew all the constellations, and suddenly I was so obsessed with her I could barely get through the day. Up until this point, the principal love interest of my life had been Kevin Richardson from the Backstreet Boys. So this came out of nowhere for me, and slammed me with the force of a thousand meteors. And not many people (including myself) at this untouched‐by‐ time Christian camp were equipped to deal with it.

Realizing you have actually no idea who you are can be scary and depressing, because you're pretty much waving goodbye to your childhood. But it's exciting too, because anything could happen.

 

A big thank you to  Maggie Thrash for sharing!

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_honor-girl.jpg

Honor Girl

  1. By: Maggie Thrash

  2. Release Date: September 8, 2015 

Maggie Thrash has spent basically every summer of her fifteen-year-old life at the one-hundred-year-old Camp Bellflower for Girls, set deep in the heart of Appalachia. She’s from Atlanta, she’s never kissed a guy, she’s into Backstreet Boys in a really deep way, and her long summer days are full of a pleasant, peaceful nothing . . . until one confounding moment. A split-second of innocent physical contact pulls Maggie into a gut-twisting love for an older, wiser, and most surprising of all (at least to Maggie), female counselor named Erin. But Camp Bellflower is an impossible place for a girl to fall in love with another girl, and Maggie’s savant-like proficiency at the camp’s rifle range is the only thing keeping her heart from exploding. When it seems as if Erin maybe feels the same way about Maggie, it’s too much for both Maggie and Camp Bellflower to handle, let alone to understand.

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

 

Three winners will receive a  copy of Honor Girl, US only.
 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

Love Letters to Literature #2
Exclusive Sneak Peek at the Extraction Series by S...

Related Posts

 

Comments 2

Already Registered? Login Here
Angela Kunkel (website) on Friday, 02 October 2015 12:02

I have been dying to read this!

0
I have been dying to read this!
Candace Bullington (website) on Wednesday, 07 October 2015 13:27

looks good

0
looks good

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
"YOU ARE FANTASTIC! is a brightly colored and cheerful read celebrating YOU! The book walks through some metaphorical compliments, such..."
Early One Morning
 
3.5
"EARLY ONE MORNING is a picture book walk around a farm. A little boy heads out to find a couple..."
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
"LITTLE SAP is a beautifully illustrated story about growing up, seasons, and forests. Little Sap can't wait to be a..."
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
"THE LITTLE THINGS is a charming and powerful story about the contagious nature of kindness. A little girl heads to..."
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CRUELEST MERCY is an intriguing second book in an enthralling YA fantasy series. After the rush and danger of..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
4.0
"What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma..."
Fiver Finds Home
 
5.0
"'Fiver Finds Home' by Jill Bugbee, illustrated by Jennifer Davison, is a story of friendly Fiver, a blue giraffe who..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"The Lost Legends is one of those books that has everything in it. A princess, an evil king, pirates, a..."
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
"CURIOUS ABOUT INSECTS is a great non-fiction board book that lays out some basic facts about insects. Each page has..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Whose Big Rig?
 
4.7
"WHOSE BIG RIG? is a delightful board book that takes children through the vehicles involved in building a light rail,..."