Author Guest Post with Erin Estrada Kelly

Author Guest Post with Erin Estrada Kelly

Contributed by Erin Entrada Kelly

When I was a little girl, I wasn’t a Ramona, Harriet, or Matilda. I wasn’t Clementine or Madeline. I didn’t get in trouble—well, not until later—so I was never carted off to the principal’s office. I kept my nose in books, not corners. And I was quiet. Not shy; pensive. I spent time in my head. Played make-believe with my dolls. One day my room was an apartment in New York, the next day it was a schoolhouse. I was an excellent teacher with a real-life grade book and I had backstories for all my students. Sometimes my room was a church, busy office, or retail shop. One time I accidentally smeared lipstick on one of my dolls, so I pretended she’d suffered a grave injury. I rushed her to the ER immediately, of course. Coincidentally, my room became an ER and I was both doctor and mother.

I didn’t spend much time outside. For one thing, I was—and am—sickly and asthmatic. For another thing, that’s where the dirt and bugs are. People who went outside climbed tress and broke bones. My sister broke her ankle playing basketball. Within days her cast was cluttered with signatures. (I had a sneaky suspicion that my cast would not be so well- decorated.) No rough outdoor play for me. Too risky.

As a bonadfide bookworm, I spent a lot of time wandering through Waldenbooks. But I didn’t see myself in Ramona, Harriet, or Matilda, and I was no Madeline. So what was I?

A quiet, lonely bookworm who liked to spend time alone, that’s what.

So when I started writing books for young people, those were the kinds of characters I wanted to write. Those were the readers I wanted to reach. But there’s a challenge to hanging your hat on Quiet Characters. They spend a lot of time in their heads. They don’t interact with their world that much. This makes it difficult to put them on the page. Imagine watching a movie where the person is thinking the whole time. Their thoughts might be magical, but you’re not privy to them, so why would you hang around for ninety minutes?

There are many kids out there who would rather blend with the wallpaper than step into the party. Kids who feel lonely, but don’t know why, and are unsure of what they have to say, or who to say it to. In celebration of those quiet ones, I’d like to share some of my favorite books with characters who don’t have the loudest voice, but still manage to leave the greatest mark.

The Year of Billy Miller, by Kevin Henkes

Last year I had the opportunity to meet Mr. Henkes at a HarperCollins event. The first thing I blurted out was, “I love Billy Miller!” I may have talked about Billy Miller before I even introduced myself. I’m not sure. But that’s how close Billy is to my heart.

The Only Child, by Guojing

This book is so quiet it doesn’t even have words. Instead, there’s gorgeous, glorious, and imaginative art. The Only Child tells the story of a lonely little girl who falls asleep on a city bus on the way to see her grandmother. When she wakes up, she is lost and alone in an unfamiliar world. It’s completely transporting and original.

The One and Only Ivan, by Katherine Applegate

It would be impossible for me to love Ivan more. I have two gorilla stuffed animals at home and they’re both wearing IVAN T-shirts that I special-ordered for them. I know this may sound strange at first, but I found many similarities between Jane Eyre and Ivan—and I even made a case that they would make great friends.

Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte

While we’re on the subject, let’s talk about Jane. She is proof that you can be quiet and unassuming, yet still be a total rock star. Jane might be quiet, but she’s no pushover. She doesn’t say something unless she’s certain it needs to be said and she’s the one who has to say it. She is principled, kind, patient, and loyal. Here’s how you can be awesome like Jane.

Speak, by Laurie Halse Anderson

In Speak, the character hasn’t lost her voice—it’s been stolen through trauma. This book reminds us that your voice and identity are intertwined, and sometimes the road to find them is a difficult one, to say the least. 

 

Meet Erin Entrada Kelly

Erin Entrada Kelly was raised in Lake Charles, Louisiana, but now lives in the Philadelphia area. Her debut novel, Blackbird Fly, received three starred reviews and was named a 2015 Junior Library Guild Selection, 2015 SIBA Best Book of the South, and finalist for the Pat Conroy Southern Book Prize. Blackbird Fly was also nominated for the ALA Notable Children’s Book Award, earned an Asia Pacific Librarians Association Honor Award for Literature, and received the Golden Kite Honor Award. KirkusSchool Library Journal, and the Center for Multicultural Literature all named Blackbird Fly one of the best books of 2015.

Her second novel, The Land of Forgotten Girls, was named one of the best contemporary books of the year and one of the top 10 multicultural books of 2016 by BooklistThe Land of Forgotten Girls earned three starred reviews, was a 2016 Junior Library Guild Selection, and earned the Parents Choice Foundation Gold Award for Fiction.

Erin’s third novel, Hello, Universe (March 2017), has earned four starred reviews.

Erin is also a short story writer. Her short fiction has been nominated for the Philippines Free Press Literary Award for Short Fiction and the Pushcart Prize. She has an MFA in creative writing from Rosemont College.

Erin is mestiza and identifies as Filipina-American. Her mother is Visayan and lives in Cebu, which is why many of Erin’s Filipino characters speak Cebuano rather than Tagalog. Erin loves to read. Some of her favorite books are When You Reach Me, The One and Only Ivan, and The Thing About Jellyfish. She is represented by the illustrious Sara Crowe, and loves to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

Meet Hello, Universe

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly’s Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero).

In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so that he can concentrate on basketball. They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find the missing Virgil. Sometimes four can do what one cannot. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.

Featured Review: Who Killed Christopher Goodman?: ...
Giveaway: MAID OF THE KING'S COURT (US & Canada)

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Faith has always known she was different and her...
The Mall
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The year is 1991. Scrunchies, mixtapes and 90210 are, like,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Poems to Live Your Life By, Chris Riddell, political...
The Claires
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Four beautiful girls. Quadruplets. They are not identical.But each is...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo,...
What He Hides
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
She wants the truth... or does she? They say...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King,...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
"more forgetting time. more midnight dances with yourself."...
The Upside of Falling
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
It’s been years since eighteen-year-old Becca Hart believed in...
More Than His Best Friend
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
She’s got a strict rule against dating. Could her...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...

Latest Member Reviews

Dragon Rising: A Mulan Inspired Fantasy
 
5.0
"The story: Hua Minglan will sacrifice everything to avenge the death of her sister, and when war threatens her..."
Darkblood Academy
 
4.8
"AWESOME"
Falling For My Nemesis
 
4.0
"Mia and Carson have always had it out for each other. But when Carson hits Mia in the face with..."
The Mall
 
3.7
"Cassie Worthy won't let a little thing like Mono hold her back from completing the Plan. It's the summer of..."
TBH, This is SO Awkward
 
4.0
"'TBH, This is SO Awkward: A Novel in Text' by Lisa Greenwald is quite interesting in that it is written..."
 
4.0
"POEMS TO LIVE YOUR LIFE BY is a collection in which each poem has been hand-picked by Chris Riddell, for..."
 
5.0
"This was an adventure from start to finish. I love Polly and her determination to not give up. Gorgeous setting..."
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
"SALTY, BITTER, SWEET is a book about family, forgiveness, grief, and following your passion. Isabella dreams of being a world-class..."
The N Word
 
5.0
"'Dating the Boy Next Door' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven is a wonderful sequel to the first book..."
My Name is Erin, and My Mom's an Addict
 
4.8
"Erin Whitaker's father is dead and her mother is a drug addict. When she is very young her mother..."
Spoken
 
4.5
"Roman has his life turned upside down when, amidst a scandal, his mom decides to leave LA. Roman must learn..."
 
4.0
"break your glass slippers is the first book in the poetry series, “you are your own fairy tale,” by award-winning..."
The Upside of Falling
 
3.3
"THE UPSIDE OF FALLING is a YA contemporary romance by Wattpad author Alex Light. The story follows Becca Hart, an..."
The Winter Duke
 
5.0
"THE WINTER DUKE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes place in a world where magic is controlled by a..."
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
"MOST LIKELY is a fantastic YA contemporary about friendship. The book starts with a woman becoming president and reflecting back..."
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
N/A
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact assurancesolutionhome@gmail.com for Urgent effective love Spell to get..."
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact assurancesolutionhome@gmail.com for Urgent effective love Spell to get..."
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact assurancesolutionhome@gmail.com for Urgent effective love Spell to get..."
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
 
4.8
"This is a beautiful book—both in how it is designed and how it is written. The prose is lyrical, yet..."