Author Chat with Whitney Grandison (The Right Kind of Reckless)!

The-Right-Side-of-Reckless-9781335402486_SHC_pr_20210716-054613_1

 Today we're excited to chat with Whitney Grandison author of

The Right Kind of Reckless!

 Read on for more about Whitney and her book!

 

 

 

Meet Whitney Grandison!

Whitney D. Grandison is an American young adult fiction writer. Some of her works can be found on Wattpad, one of the largest online story sharing platforms, where she has acquired over 30,000 followers and an audience of over fifteen million dedicated readers. Outside of writing, she is a lover of Korean dramas, all things John Hughes, and horror films. Whitney currently lives in Akron, Ohio.

 

Website * Twitter * Instagram

 

  

 

 

 

Meet The Right Kind of Reckless!

He’s never met a rule he didn’t break… She’s followed the rules her whole life… When they meet, one golden rule is established: stay away. Sparks fly in this edgy own voices novel, perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon, S. K. Ali, and Kristina Forest.

They were supposed to ignore each other and respect that fine line between them…

Guillermo Lozano is getting a fresh start. New town, new school, and no more reckless behavior. He’s done his time, and now he needs to right his wrongs. But when his work at the local community center throws him into the path of the one girl who is off-limits, friendship sparks…and maybe more.

Regan London needs a fresh perspective. The pressure to stay in her “perfect” relationship and be the good girl all the time has worn her down. But when the walls start to cave in and she finds unexpected understanding from the boy her parents warned about, she can’t ignore her feelings anymore.

The disapproval is instant. Being together might just get Guillermo sent away. But when it comes to the heart, sometimes you have to break the rules and be a little bit reckless…
 

 

Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

YABC – Whitney D. Grandison

  1.       What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

The basis for this story was that I wanted to write about a bad boy trying to redeem himself while navigating his feelings for a girl who is off limits. With the female lead, I wanted a good girl who doesn’t get much say in her life, and then she meets a guy who otherwise listens to her voice, and it just leaves her wanting more. And outside of that, I wanted to write a story that represented where I come from, because my high school was very diverse, so I wanted to write about a school that features teens of color trying to find their way.

  1.       Who is your favorite character in the book?

   

My favorite character would have to be Guillermo, he’s my baby. He’s been through a lot and he’s got an honest heart to want to be an ear or a guide for those around him. He’s a protector and I love that about him.

  1.       Which came first, the title or the novel?

I came up with the new title long after the novel was finished. So definitely the novel

  1.       What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

It sounds cheesy, but I LOVE the final chapter, it feels so earned for both characters. When you consider what Guillermo’s been through and how much Regan’s put up with, the final chapter feels like such a win.

  1.       Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

One thing I learned since becoming a published author is that just because someone looks like you, doesn’t mean they’re going to get your story, and just because they don’t look like you doesn’t mean they won’t get your story. I believe all you can do is write from the heart and cherish those who get what’s in those pages and connect with and love the story and characters. 

  1.       What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love that the artist, Noa, really captured their features and how they’re deadlocked on each other. It’s like they’re frozen in a moment in time. It really illustrates the instant when Regan and Guillermo first lock eyes on each other.

  1.       What was your favorite book in 2020?

One book I was obsessed with as soon as I was done reading was You by Caroline Kepnes, the writing kept me hooked.

  1.       What’s up next for you?

I’m hoping The Right Side of Reckless is well-received because I have written more books attached to this world and I’d love to share them!

  1.      Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

There’s a story thread about Regan’s dog Tanner that comes from real life for me. When I initially started putting this story together in 2011, I had a dog named Tanner, and then my dad lost him and it was heartbreaking for my mom and me. Having Regan relive this, and even just writing about him in the beginning when he’s around was hard for me.  

  1.      Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

I definitely enjoy drafting the most. Revising can be stressful at times when you have to think of new content to add. Drafting the initial idea for a book is always just pure fun and excitement. 

 

 

 

 

The Right Side of Reckless

By: Whitney Grandison

Release Date: July 13th, 2021

Publisher: Inkyard Press

 

 

 

 

Featured Review: Tokyo Ever After (Emiko Jean)
Teaser Trailer & Giveaway: Jackaby Series (William...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Imposters
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
Frey and Rafi are inseparable . . . but very...
Better Than the Movies
 
4.7
 
5.0 (1)
Liz Buxbaum has always known that Wes Bennett was not...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Cuddle up with your little one and get ready to...
The Mystery of the Meanest Teacher: A Johnny Constantine Graphic Novel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
THE MYSTERY OF THE MEANEST TEACHER: A JOHNNY CONSTANTINE GRAPHIC...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A shocking thriller about a group of friends who go...
Bird Boy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take flight in this heartwarming story about a boy who...
Love You By Heart
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Acclaimed creator of The Word Collector, Happy Dreamer, Say Something,...
Fa-La-La Llama (Touch-and-Feel Board Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Get ready to deck the halls with these joyful, singing,...
The Oddmire, Book 3: Deepest, Darkest
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The third adventure in the beloved fantasy series full of...
The Oddmire, Book 2: The Unready Queen
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Human-raised brothers Tinn and Cole join forces with Fable, daughter...
The Oddmire, Book 1: Changeling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is fading from the Wild Wood. To renew it,...
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
To All the Boys I've Loved Before meets Morgan Matson...
The Last Gate of the Emperor
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Kwame Mbalia and Prince Joel David Makonnen comes an...
Traitors Among Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
World War II may be over. But two sisters are...
The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
When Tess and Eliot stumble upon an ancient book hidden...

Latest Member Reviews

Imposters
 
5.0
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Better Than the Movies
 
5.0
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Imposters
 
4.0
"IMPOSTERS by Scott Westerfeld is a YA dystopian novel, set in the future after many different and unique time periods..."
Breeder
 
4.0
"BREEDER by Honni van Rijswijk is a YA Dystopian, Post-Apocalyptic novel in which natural disasters and war have killed off..."
Better Than the Movies
 
4.7
"BETTER THAN THE MOVIES by Lynn Painter is just about the cutest YA Rom-Com to ever exist. The story follows..."
Made in Korea
 
3.7
"MADE IN KOREA by Sarah Suk is a YA Contemporary that follows Valerie, a young entrepreneur, who’s obsessed with the..."
Mary, Will I Die?
 
3.0
"It started off as a prank among friends five years ago. All they had to do was say Bloody Mary..."
Bee a Good Human: A Pollinators' Guide to a Better Life
 
4.0
"Bee a Good Human: A Pollinator’s Guide to a Better Life is a compilation of artwork from Ali Beckman, or..."
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
"In her introduction to this book, Ms. Baptiste mentions that every February, for Black History Month, her children would bring..."
Kyle's Little Sister
 
4.0
"Grace is just entering 6th grade, and will be rejoining her older brother Kyle at school, where he is a..."
Willa of Dark Hollow (Willa of the Wood, 2)
 
4.5
"What I Loved: In the first book, I left wanting to see Willa interact more in nature. In this..."
Small Favors
 
4.0
"Amity Falls is a small, quiet, religious town surrounded by forests. Ellerie Downing lives there with her sisters, brother, and..."
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
4.0
"Rosie Singer knows something is wrong with her mom. She doesn’t comfort her or look at her the way her..."
The Oddmire, Book 1: Changeling
 
5.0
"What I Loved: The Oddmire, Book 1 Changeling delivered a lot of heart and humor in this first installment...."
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
"Beginning with a quote from Martin Luther King, Jr. about love, COUNT TO LOVE! is a cute poem that encourages..."
The Mystery of the Meanest Teacher: A Johnny Constantine Graphic Novel
 
4.5
"THE MYSTERY OF THE MEANEST TEACHER is an adventure-filled graphic novel about Johnny (Kid) Constantine. We start by meeting Kid..."
The Cup and the Prince
 
4.8
"I always love stories that flip gender roles. I feel like there is a character for every type of personality..."