Author Chat with Victoria Lee (The Electric Heir), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

45439783

 Today we're excited to chat with Victoria Lee author of

The Electric Heir.

Read on for more about Victoria and her book, plus an giveaway.

 

 

 

 

Meet Victoria Lee!

       

Victoria Lee grew up in Durham, North Carolina, where she spent twelve ascetic years as a vegetarian before discovering that spicy chicken wings are, in fact, a delicacy. She’s been a state finalist competitive pianist, a hitchhiker, a pizza connoisseur, an EMT, an expat in China and Sweden, and a science doctoral student. She’s also a bit of a snob about fancy whiskey. Lee writes early in the morning and then spends the rest of the day trying to impress her border collie puppy and make her experiments work. She currently lives in Pennsylvania with her partner.

   

 

 Website * FacebookInstagram * Twitter 

 

 

Meet The Electric Heir!

  

In the sequel to The Fever King, Noam Álvaro seeks to end tyranny before he becomes a tyrant himself.

Six months after Noam Álvaro helped overthrow the despotic government of Carolinia, the Atlantians have gained citizenship, and Lehrer is chancellor. But despite Lehrer’s image as a progressive humanitarian leader, Noam has finally remembered the truth that Lehrer forced him to forget—that Lehrer is responsible for the deadly magic infection that ravaged Carolinia.

Now that Noam remembers the full extent of Lehrer’s crimes, he’s determined to use his influence with Lehrer to bring him down for good. If Lehrer realizes Noam has evaded his control—and that Noam is plotting against him—Noam’s dead. So he must keep playing the role of Lehrer’s protégé until he can steal enough vaccine to stop the virus.

Meanwhile Dara Shirazi returns to Carolinia, his magic stripped by the same vaccine that saved his life. But Dara’s attempts to ally himself with Noam prove that their methods for defeating Lehrer are violently misaligned. Dara fears Noam has only gotten himself more deeply entangled in Lehrer’s web. Sooner or later, playing double agent might cost Noam his life.

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound


 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

          

 

     YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

It took me a really long to figure out what story I was actually trying to tell with this series. I wrote several versions of The Fever King trying to figure it out! Parts of the book were originally ideas for other books that ended up getting cobbled together Frankenstein-monster style for TFK.

Primarily, I wanted to write about the intersection of intergenerational and personal trauma—about what it means to face our trauma, and the way the world can demand that we “have” to confront our abusers. In The Electric Heir, a lot of the plot also deals with how people come to accept that things that are happening to them are traumatic or abusive, and to show the ways that different people handle abuse both when they’re recovering from it and when it’s still ongoing. I feel like a lot of stories talk about the journey that happens after abuse—but it’s equally important to tell the story of surviving in the moment. The book touches on a lot of adjacent issues, like what it means when you aren’t a “good” victim or don’t react to trauma the way people want you to, or how survivors can victim-blame each other and themselves, and the cognitive dissonance of gaslighting yourself into believing the abuse is acceptable because that’s easier than admitting the truth.

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

This is a hard one! I love Noam, obviously—I mean, he’s the main character—but if I’m brutally honest, Dara is my favorite. He represents so much of what I was trying to say with this book. I relate a lot to his experiences, and honestly I just want him to be happy.

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

The confrontation between Dara and Noam after Dara sees Noam at the gala (this was hard to phrase in a way that isn’t spoilery!). It was hard to balance both of their views in that scene—each character believes that he’s doing what is right, but neither of them are quite able to take the other’s perspective … It was a challenging scene to write, but I think it turned out pretty well. I love a good intense fight scene.

 

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2020?

Soooo many! I’m excited for Legendborn by Tracy Deonn, which is about the descendants of King Arthur’s knights in the modern day US South. I’m also really pumped for These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong, which is Romeo and Juliet in 1920s Shanghai; The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. Schwab, about a girl who sells her soul to the devil to live forever only to be forgotten by everyone she meets; Incendiary by Zoraida Córdova, an epic revenge fantasy set in a second world version of Inquisition-era Spain; and many, many others.

 

YABC: What was your favorite book in 2019?

I loved Wilder Girls by Rory Power—it’s such a deliciously twisted eco thriller and it manages to balance being literary with being suspenseful perfectly. Plus I love what Rory does with structure and language in this book. Just, A++.

 

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

My next book is called A Lesson in Vengeance, and it comes out summer 2021 from Delacorte/Penguin Random House. It’s a sapphic dark academia about a girl who is grieving the death of her former girlfriend, then meets an enigmatic literary prodigy who recruits her to plot the perfect murder as research for a book. It’s very gothic and dramatic and pretentious. Also, there are witches.

 

 

YABC: Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Noam, for sure. It was really hard to write him in this book, because he’s trapped in such a terrible situation and he’s just soooo oblivious to how bad things really are. I wanted to grab him and forcibly inject the truth into his brain. But sadly stories would be very boring if the characters just listened to reason from the get-go.

 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

When I’m drafting, I always say I’d rather be revising, with a completed book in hand that I can pick at and re-weave into a better book. But when I’m revising, I’d rather be writing something new and discovering a world and characters from scratch. So … both! But also neither! I don’t know!

  

 

The Electric Heir

By: Victoria Lee

Release Date: March 17th, 2020

 Publisher: Skyscape Publishing

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a copy of The Electric Heir (Victoria Lee) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

 

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway: Circus Of Scales (Constance Roberts) ~ (...
It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: Mind Riot by Ken Bagnis ...

Related Posts

 

Comments 3

Already Registered? Login Here
Delia Chavez on Saturday, 04 April 2020 20:44

The book sounds really good. The cover is nice.

0
The book sounds really good. The cover is nice.
Danielle Hammelef on Thursday, 09 April 2020 17:21

The cover is eye-catching and the book sounds exciting.

0
The cover is eye-catching and the book sounds exciting.
Penny Olson on Saturday, 18 April 2020 12:23

The cover is striking and the story sounds like a great combination of fantasy and dystopian.

0
The cover is striking and the story sounds like a great combination of fantasy and dystopian.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."