Author Chat with Terry Lynn Johnson (Dog Driven), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

40500411._SY475_20191203-154705_1

 Today we're excited to chat with Terry Lynn Johnson author of

Dog Driven

Read on for more about Terry and her book, plus an giveaway.

 

 

 

 

Meet Terry Lynn Johnson!

Terry Lynn Johnson, author of Ice Dogs, Sled Dog School, and the Survivor Diaries series, lives in Whitefish Falls, Ontario where for ten years she owned a team of eighteen Alaskan Huskies. Learn more at terrylynnjohnson.com.

 

Website * Twitter * Facebook

 


 

 

Meet Dog Driven!

  

From the author of Ice Dogs, comes a riveting adventure about a musher who sets out to prove her impaired vision won't hold her back from competing in a rigorous sled race through the Canadian wilderness. Perfect for fans of Gary Paulsen.

McKenna Barney is trying to hide her worsening eyesight and has been isolating herself for the last year. But at the request of her little sister, she signs up for a commemorative mail run race in the Canadian wilderness—a race she doesn’t know if she can even see to run.

Winning would mean getting her disease—and her sister's—national media coverage, but it would also pit McKenna and her team of eight sled dogs against racers from across the globe for three days of shifting lake ice, sudden owl attacks, snow squalls, and bitterly cold nights.

A page-turning adventure about living with disability and surviving the wilderness, Dog Driven is the story of one girl’s self-determination and the courage it takes to trust in others.

 

 

Amazon * B & N * Indiebound


 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

     

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

My sled dogs were the reason I started writing about dogsledding. I wanted to share how amazing the dogs are and how much they love running. Mostly, I was interested in showing the special relationship that mushers have with their team. For DOG DRIVEN, I’d been wanting to write a story that takes place during a dogsled race, but it somehow never worked. In 2017, I contracted a tick-borne illness and one of the consequences was a scare with my own vision. But once I started writing about a character with low vision, this story came together.

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

Probably Guy since he has a Canadian sense of humour and my husband is French.

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

Interesting you should ask that. The title came first. I’d tried several versions of a racing novel, all with this title. When I finally added the low vision aspects of the story, it felt like the title had been trying to tell me for years how the story should evolve. The double meaning was very appropriate.

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

The cave scene because I’d researched it, visited some actual ice caves along the north shore, and crawled inside to absorb their awesome. I wanted to capture the feeling of real-life Iditarod musher accounts of being holed up in the wind, having to hunker down in a storm. It’s one of the first scenes I had in mind before writing this story – one of the “cookie” scenes that authors envision and can’t wait to write. And writing it made me laugh, so I’d have to say it’s my favourite scene.

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

There is no rush! Everything takes time in the publishing industry and it’s okay.

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2020?

Can’t wait for Race the Sands by Sarah Beth Durst

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2019?

My favourite book I’ve read this year was Storm of Locusts by Rebecca Roanhorse

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

I definitely like revising more because in the drafting stage you never know how it’s going to end or if it will work. Drafting is like driving in heavy fog without a road map.

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

I can pee anywhere. Seriously, off a kayak bobbing in Lake Superior, off a dogsledding bouncing down a trail, or even in a traffic jam on the 401. That’s probably TMI, right?

 

 

 

 

 

Dog Driven

By: Terry Lynn Johnson

Release Date: December 3rd, 2019

 Publisher: HMH BYR

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Five winners will receive a copy of Dog Driven (Terry Lynn Johnson) ~ (US Only)

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Waiting On Wednesday ~ December 4th, 2019
5th Annual 12 Days of Christmas Giveaway Extravaga...

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

Already Registered? Login Here
Brittany on Wednesday, 04 December 2019 08:30

This reminds me of a movie I watched as a kid, but I can't remember the title for the life of me. Anyone know what I'm talking about?

0
This reminds me of a movie I watched as a kid, but I can't remember the title for the life of me. Anyone know what I'm talking about?
Alex Colpitts on Wednesday, 04 December 2019 12:56

Looks good! Adding to my TBR

0
Looks good! Adding to my TBR
Debra Branigan on Thursday, 05 December 2019 17:39

As a big fan of Gary Paulsen and Jack London, I look forward to reading this. It sounds quite adventurous.

0
As a big fan of Gary Paulsen and Jack London, I look forward to reading this. It sounds quite adventurous.
Kacie on Thursday, 05 December 2019 21:06

This is a beautiful cover. The focus is mostly on the dogs. The book sounds interesting.

0
This is a beautiful cover. The focus is mostly on the dogs. The book sounds interesting.
Jeana Kwiecinski on Tuesday, 17 December 2019 15:19

Oh wow this sounds amazing! I’m going to have to read this one.

0
Oh wow this sounds amazing! I’m going to have to read this one.
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 29 December 2019 08:58

The cover is awesome! I love the premise and this author's books are very fun to read.

0
The cover is awesome! I love the premise and this author's books are very fun to read.
Penny Olson on Tuesday, 31 December 2019 23:44

The cover conveys the action and tension of the story.

0
The cover conveys the action and tension of the story.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peppermint Post
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
'Twas the night before Christmas, when the North Pole's Peppermint...
Stolen from the Studio (Case Closed, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren Magaziner’s hilarious and high-stakes middle grade series gets a...
The Wizenard Series: Season One
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reggie has never felt destined for greatness. He dreams about...
TURBO Racers: Escape Velocity
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fast and the Furious meets Transformers in the second...
Bread Lab!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s a sleepy Saturday morning for most people, but not...
A Thousand No's
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
This empowering picture book teaches readers that even great ideas...
Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death (Ronan Boyle, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The hilarious sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller,...
Sharko and Hippo
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
With tongue-twisty wordplay and escalating absurdity, this is a fall-down-funny...
The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A LOVE POEM FROM A FATHER TO HIS TWO SONS,...
The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kings become outcasts and lovers become foes in The Faithless...
Zora's Zucchini
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first zucchini of a summer garden is always exciting,...
Libby Loves Science
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Libby loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, a companion...
The Hidden Rainbow
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
All the colors of the rainbow are hidden in the...
The Places We Sleep
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A family divided, a country going to war, and a...
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Crossing Lines
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Midwestern high school seniors and swim teammates Alli and Brandon...

Latest Member Reviews

Peppermint Post
 
5.0
"PEPPERMINT POST is an adorable new story about Christmas and Santa. The Peppermint Post is the busiest post office in..."
Stolen from the Studio (Case Closed, #2)
 
4.0
"STOLEN FROM THE STUDIO is a fun middle grade mystery with a choose-your-own-adventure plot. Carlos travels with his mother, a..."
The Wizenard Series: Season One
 
4.0
"THE WIZENARD SERIES: SEASON ONE is written by Wesley King and created by Kobe Bryant. The MG fantasy follows Reggie,..."
The Triumphant Tale of Pippa North
 
4.0
"THE TRIUMPHANT TALE OF PIPPA NORTH combines magic and humor in a middle grade fantasy full of charm. Pippa is..."
TURBO Racers: Escape Velocity
 
4.0
"TURBO RACERS: ESCAPE VELOCITY is a fast-paced, high-stakes adventure. Mace Blazer is a TURBOnaut, a high-speed vehicle racer. He recently..."
Bread Lab!
 
4.0
"BREAD LAB! is a cute picture book that walks through the steps of making sourdough bread through the eyes of..."
A Thousand No's
 
3.5
"A THOUSAND NO'S is a cute picture book about the way that feedback can change an idea. A girl has..."
Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death (Ronan Boyle, #2)
 
4.0
"RONAN BOYLE AND THE SWAMP OF CERTAIN DEATH is a comedic middle grade fantasy that features a young boy on..."
Sharko and Hippo
 
4.5
"SHARKO AND HIPPO is a clever and comical book about two best friends who are going fishing for the day...."
The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter
 
5.0
"THE THING ABOUT BEES: A LOVE LETTER is an informative and gorgeously illustrated picture book about bees. The book describes..."
The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow, #2)
 
5.0
"THE FAITHLESS HAWK is one of my favorite reads of 2020. I laughed, I sighed, I cried, and this book..."
Zora's Zucchini
 
5.0
"ZORA'S ZUCCHINI is a delightful picture book that explores growing vegetables and sharing with neighbors. Zora is a little bored..."