Author Chat with Terry Lynn Johnson (Dog Driven), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

40500411._SY475_20191203-154705_1

 Today we're excited to chat with Terry Lynn Johnson author of

Dog Driven

Read on for more about Terry and her book, plus an giveaway.

 

 

 

 

Meet Terry Lynn Johnson!

Terry Lynn Johnson, author of Ice Dogs, Sled Dog School, and the Survivor Diaries series, lives in Whitefish Falls, Ontario where for ten years she owned a team of eighteen Alaskan Huskies. Learn more at terrylynnjohnson.com.

 

Website * Twitter * Facebook

 


 

 

Meet Dog Driven!

  

From the author of Ice Dogs, comes a riveting adventure about a musher who sets out to prove her impaired vision won't hold her back from competing in a rigorous sled race through the Canadian wilderness. Perfect for fans of Gary Paulsen.

McKenna Barney is trying to hide her worsening eyesight and has been isolating herself for the last year. But at the request of her little sister, she signs up for a commemorative mail run race in the Canadian wilderness—a race she doesn’t know if she can even see to run.

Winning would mean getting her disease—and her sister's—national media coverage, but it would also pit McKenna and her team of eight sled dogs against racers from across the globe for three days of shifting lake ice, sudden owl attacks, snow squalls, and bitterly cold nights.

A page-turning adventure about living with disability and surviving the wilderness, Dog Driven is the story of one girl’s self-determination and the courage it takes to trust in others.

 

 

Amazon * B & N * Indiebound


 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

     

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

My sled dogs were the reason I started writing about dogsledding. I wanted to share how amazing the dogs are and how much they love running. Mostly, I was interested in showing the special relationship that mushers have with their team. For DOG DRIVEN, I’d been wanting to write a story that takes place during a dogsled race, but it somehow never worked. In 2017, I contracted a tick-borne illness and one of the consequences was a scare with my own vision. But once I started writing about a character with low vision, this story came together.

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

Probably Guy since he has a Canadian sense of humour and my husband is French.

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

Interesting you should ask that. The title came first. I’d tried several versions of a racing novel, all with this title. When I finally added the low vision aspects of the story, it felt like the title had been trying to tell me for years how the story should evolve. The double meaning was very appropriate.

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

The cave scene because I’d researched it, visited some actual ice caves along the north shore, and crawled inside to absorb their awesome. I wanted to capture the feeling of real-life Iditarod musher accounts of being holed up in the wind, having to hunker down in a storm. It’s one of the first scenes I had in mind before writing this story – one of the “cookie” scenes that authors envision and can’t wait to write. And writing it made me laugh, so I’d have to say it’s my favourite scene.

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

There is no rush! Everything takes time in the publishing industry and it’s okay.

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2020?

Can’t wait for Race the Sands by Sarah Beth Durst

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2019?

My favourite book I’ve read this year was Storm of Locusts by Rebecca Roanhorse

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

I definitely like revising more because in the drafting stage you never know how it’s going to end or if it will work. Drafting is like driving in heavy fog without a road map.

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

I can pee anywhere. Seriously, off a kayak bobbing in Lake Superior, off a dogsledding bouncing down a trail, or even in a traffic jam on the 401. That’s probably TMI, right?

 

 

 

 

 

Dog Driven

By: Terry Lynn Johnson

Release Date: December 3rd, 2019

 Publisher: HMH BYR

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Five winners will receive a copy of Dog Driven (Terry Lynn Johnson) ~ (US Only)

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Waiting On Wednesday ~ December 4th, 2019
5th Annual 12 Days of Christmas Giveaway Extravaga...

Related Posts

 

Comments 4

Already Registered? Login Here
Brittany Colpitts on Wednesday, 04 December 2019 08:30

This reminds me of a movie I watched as a kid, but I can't remember the title for the life of me. Anyone know what I'm talking about?

0
This reminds me of a movie I watched as a kid, but I can't remember the title for the life of me. Anyone know what I'm talking about?
Alex Colpitts on Wednesday, 04 December 2019 12:56

Looks good! Adding to my TBR

0
Looks good! Adding to my TBR
Debra Branigan on Thursday, 05 December 2019 17:39

As a big fan of Gary Paulsen and Jack London, I look forward to reading this. It sounds quite adventurous.

0
As a big fan of Gary Paulsen and Jack London, I look forward to reading this. It sounds quite adventurous.
Kacie on Thursday, 05 December 2019 21:06

This is a beautiful cover. The focus is mostly on the dogs. The book sounds interesting.

0
This is a beautiful cover. The focus is mostly on the dogs. The book sounds interesting.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finding out my mother was taken by the demons...
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut about first love and second...
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Two teens meet after tragedy and learn about love,...
Golden Crown
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
No longer only a warrior. Not just a queen....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first vampire. The last Nephilim. The end...
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
What is it like to live in 4519 AD...
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
This action-packed graphic novel based on the New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Rose Hemmersbach aspires to break out of small town...
Stuffed
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome, little one. You have been chosen to join us,...
Estranged #2: The Changeling King
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enter a world of faerie magic and epic adventure in...
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The exciting follow-up to Mightier Than the Sword, the humorous...
Write to Me: Letters from Japanese American Children to the Librarian They Left Behind
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A touching story about Japanese American children who corresponded with...
Children of Virtue and Vengeance (Legacy of Orisha)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After battling the impossible, Zélie and Amari have finally succeeded...
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the New Yorker “20 Under 40” author of Atmospheric...
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Big Nate on a Roll, Nate’s a big deal...
Pippa Park Raises Her Game
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life is full of great expectations for Korean American Pippa...

Latest Member Reviews

Stuffed
 
4.0
"STUFFED follows Clark and Foon. Clark is a boy who loves stuffed animals and feels that they keep him safe...."
Golden Crown
 
4.3
"I have mixed feelings about this book. It follows the second book immediately and starts off with Etta struggling with..."
Juliet Takes a Breath
 
4.7
"Juliet Takes a Breath is a coming of age story about a Latina lesbian from the Bronx who travels to..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
5.0
"Fireborne is a fantasy novel set nine years after a bloody uprising against a brutal regime in which the poor..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"i am from Italy hello. Can you help me translate? /rardor"
Write to Me: Letters from Japanese American Children to the Librarian They Left Behind
 
5.0
"This is a must read book that shows the lives of Japanese American children who ended up being taken from..."
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF THE WORD is another absolutely delightful interactive story, where you are the main character in the book...."
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
"Kali is the hope of saving the world from vampires and demons. She’s a vampire huntress who also happens to..."
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
"THE GALACTIC ADVENTURES OF HAZEL - GURECOA takes place in the far future, where our planet is only vaguely recognizable...."
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
"BATMAN: NIGHTWALKER (THE GRAPHIC NOVEL) converts the YA novel by Marie Lu into graphic novel format. The plot remains the..."
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
 
5.0
"RAT RULE 79 is charming, ridiculous, and completely engaging. Fred is about to turn thirteen in a new place, as..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
4.0
"Jack and Annie get an invitation from "M" to spend Christmas in Camelot, which excites them since they haven't heard..."
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
4.0
"Marty Fontana and his mother move to a new town for her job, and have a house that belonged to..."
The Big Game
 
4.0
"Danny lives in Texas with his mother and former Pittsburgh Steelers player father, who now sells farm machinery. The father..."
Pippa Park Raises Her Game
 
4.0
"Pippa loves to play basketball and struggles a tiny bit in school. She lives with her much older sister, Mina,..."
Adorkable
 
5.0
"ADORKABLE is a book you can easily predict, but the journey is unbelievably delightful. Sally Spitz is a senior in..."
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
 
3.3
"SIX GOODBYES WE NEVER SAID is quite a heavy YA contemporary. We follow Naima and Dew in alternating sections. Naima..."
Superman of Smallville
 
4.0
"Clark Kent is trying to be an ordinary thirteen-year-old boy but he has a very extraordinary pastime. He loves saving..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
5.0
"Jack and Annie are so excited when they receive a Royal Invitation to attend Christmas in Camelot! However, they only..."
DC Super Hero Girls: At Metropolis High
 
3.0
"SUPER HERO GIRLS brings us Batgirl, Wonder Woman, Supergirl, Green Lantern, Bumblebee, and Zatanna as teenagers. When they aren't trying..."