Author Chat with Tami Charles (Muted), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

Muted_FrontCove_20210202-175250_1

 Today we're excited to chat with Tami Charles author of

        Muted.

Read on for more about Tami and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

Meet Tami Charles!

Tami Charles is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous books for young readers, including the picture book All Because You Matter (illustrated by Bryan Collier) and the novels Like Vanessa and Becoming Beatriz. In her teens and early twenties, Tami enjoyed a taste of fame as a member of an all-girl R&B trio. They performed for Boyz II Men, BET, and Showtime at the Apollo, and had a one-hit wonder on the radio. After college, Tami worked as an educator for thirteen years before pursuing her childhood dream of becoming an author. For more information on Tami and Muted, visit tamiwrites.com and mutedbook.tumblr.com.

 

 Website * Instagram * Twitter * Amazon Author Page

 

 

 

 

Meet Muted!

A ripped-from-the-headlines novel of ambition, music, and innocence lost, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Jason Reynolds! Be bold. Get seen. Be Heard.

For seventeen-year-old Denver, music is everything. Writing, performing, and her ultimate goal: escaping her very small, very white hometown. So Denver is more than ready on the day she and her best friends Dali and Shak sing their way into the orbit of the biggest R&B star in the world, Sean "Mercury" Ellis. Merc gives them everything: parties, perks, wild nights -- plus hours and hours in the recording studio. Even the painful sacrifices and the lies the girls have to tell are all worth it. Until they're not. Denver begins to realize that she's trapped in Merc's world, struggling to hold on to her own voice. As the dream turns into a nightmare, she must make a choice: lose her big break, or get broken. Inspired by true events, Muted is a fearless exploration of the dark side of the music industry, the business of exploitation, how a girl's dreams can be used against her -- and what it takes to fight back.

 

 

Amazon * B & N  * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

      

 YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

In the 1990s, I had the pleasure of meeting two girls in middle school who also held the same dreams as I had. Together we formed an R&B singing group, modeled after our favorite of all time, En Vogue. We had the talent, the passion, and the drive. My besties and I would sign up for every talent show, every festival, any opportunity to get seen and be heard.

Trying to make it in the music industry was like being on a rollercoaster, and we shared some unforgettable moments. Always coming so close to making it big, but never quite hitting the mark. The search for fame does the most incredible thing. It sucks you in, gets you hooked, spits you out at will leaving you to decide if the journey is truly worth pursuing. This experience launched the book that would eventually become Muted.

A bit about the book:

Seventeen-year-old Denver and her best friends Shak and Dali want to be stars. They get that chance when they start recording a demo with legendary singer/songwriter Sean “Mercury” Ellis. An angel at first but a monster in the end. It’s up to Denver to raise her voice, mute the monster, and reclaim power for both herself and her friends.

     

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel for sure. It was actually titled something else, and I really liked it,

but Muted worked so much better. I’m going to save that other title for a future book.

     

 

YABC:  Do you have a favorite writing snack?

Give me ALL the plantain chips! It’s an addiction.

     

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Denver’s eyes. She has a condition called Heterochromia where each eye is a different color.

I wanted deep symbolism behind her eyes. The blue eye represents the sky, which is literally

where she’s narrating the story from. She’s on a plane ride home. And that sky also represents

the limitlessness of Denver’s dreams. Her other eye is brown, representative of Earth, soil, home, which

is exactly where she’s headed. She’s on her way home.

     

 

YABC:  What’s a book you’ve recently read and loved?

SPIN by Lamar Giles. Dude is the master of whodunits, I tell ya!

     

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I’m hoping to write a couple more picture books, especially after Muted.

This is my way. I’ll write a novel with heavy themes, and then I turn to picture books for an emotional cleanse. It’s important for me to strike that balance.

   

 

YABC:  Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

I had a hard time with Dalisay. I wanted to show her vulnerability, but there were also

some things that took place behind Denver’s back. I had to make the choice to leave a few of those moments up to the reader so they could ultimately interpret Dali’s intentions. Were there reasons Dali kept secrets from Denver? Was it out of love? Loyalty? The pursuit of her own dreams? Maybe a combination of all? Layering this into her character was difficult and I can only hope that readers see her in the nuanced way I aimed to write her.

   

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Give me revisions any day over drafting! For me, the magic is in the fixing. My first drafts

are always a hot mess. I typically need to step away from it for a bit and then come back with fresh eyes.

Once I’m revising, I’m picturing the book in my head like a movie and then I’m hooked!

   

 

YABC:  What advice would you give to new writers?

Don’t compare your journey to anyone else’s. Celebrate the moments without quantifying them.

If you wrote a sentence today, great. If you wrote nothing and maybe just “thought” about the

story you’re writing, that’s a win, too. Clap for other authors, for sure. But don’t forget to clap

for yourself along the way!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Muted

By: Tami Charles

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Release Date: February 2nd, 2021

 

  

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Three winners will each receive a copy of Muted (Tami Charles) ~ (US Only)

 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Featured Review: The Obsession (Jesse Q. Sutanto)
Author Chat with Gita Trelease (Everything That Bu...

Related Posts

 

Comments 9

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Wednesday, 03 February 2021 14:21

Book looks great, look forward to reading it!

0
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Dianna G. on Saturday, 06 February 2021 10:00

I love the cover! Denver is just beautiful, and I like the font/lettering on the cover. This isn't a book I'd usually read, but after reading the summary and seeing it's based on actual events, it pulls me to it.

0
I love the cover! Denver is just beautiful, and I like the font/lettering on the cover. This isn't a book I'd usually read, but after reading the summary and seeing it's based on actual events, it pulls me to it.
Keia on Wednesday, 10 February 2021 12:01

One of my most anticipated reads. Can't wait to read it!

0
One of my most anticipated reads. Can't wait to read it!
Madeline Tebo on Tuesday, 16 February 2021 18:57

Can't wait to read!

0
Can't wait to read!
Tiffany Engler on Wednesday, 17 February 2021 08:55

I love this cover! Can't wait to read this book!

0
I love this cover! Can't wait to read this book!
Lauren on Monday, 22 February 2021 12:10

Sounds like a raw take on the music industry. And the girl on the cover looks so compelling!

0
Sounds like a raw take on the music industry. And the girl on the cover looks so compelling!
Jana Leah on Friday, 26 February 2021 00:00

Enjoyed the interview. This story sounds good.

0
Enjoyed the interview. This story sounds good.
Danielle Hammelef on Friday, 26 February 2021 13:18

I love the cover and the synopsis makes me want to read this novel.

0
I love the cover and the synopsis makes me want to read this novel.
Simone on Monday, 01 March 2021 23:52

I'm loving the themes that are brought up, this book is so timely.

0
I'm loving the themes that are brought up, this book is so timely.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved Bangladeshi...
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hot dogs and hamburgers to ice cream and pizza,...
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...

Latest Member Reviews

Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. The..."
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
"While I was familiar with most of the information in the book, due to apparently all too frequent deep..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: OUTER SPACE is another fun collection of paint-by-sticker images with an outer space theme. The book..."