Author Chat with Tamara Bundy (Walking with Miss Millie), Plus Giveaway!

walking-with-miss-millie

Today we're excited to chat with Tamara Bundy, author of Walking with Miss Millie. Read on for more about Tamara and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

Meet Tamara Bundy!

 
Author Tamara Bundy is a high school English teacher with a Master's degree in writing, and is a former columnist for The Cincinnati Post (her regular column on being a mom also appeared on EWTN global Catholic radio). Walking With Miss Millie is her debut novel.
 

 

Meet Walking with Miss Millie!

Alice is angry at having to move to Rainbow, Georgia—a too small, too hot, dried-up place she’s sure will never feel like home. Then she gets put in charge of walking her elderly neighbor’s dog. But Clarence won’t budge without Miss Millie, so Alice and Miss Millie walk him together.
Strolling with Clarence and Miss Millie quickly becomes the highlight of Alice's day and opens her eyes to all sorts of new things to marvel over. During their walks, they meet a mix of people, and Alice sees that although there are some bullies and phonies, there are plenty of kind folks, too. Miss Millie shares her family’s story with Alice, showing her the painful impact segregation has had on their town. And with Miss Millie, Alice is finally able to express her own heartache over why her family had to move there in the first place.
Tamara Bundy’s beautifully written debut celebrates the wonder and power of friendship: how it can be found when we least expect it and make any place a home.
 

A Chat with Tamara:

 

  1. What gave you the inspiration to write this book?  The premise for the book came from my own family. When my daughter was in middle school, and feeling like she had no friends, she began walking the elderly neighbor’s dog. However, the dog refused to walk with just my daughter, so the neighbor lady went along too. It stayed that way and became a unique and lovely friendship. I knew I wanted to tell that story, but seeing what was going on in the world with matters of race, I wanted to write something that might help students understand each other. I wanted people to see how far we’ve come –and how far we need to go. That’s when I decided it would be a richer story if it took place in the 60’s and the two characters were different races. 
  1. Who is your favorite character in the book? I love and relate to Alice since I, too grew up in the 60’s and had a deaf brother. But I absolutely fell in love with Miss Millie.  She seemed to come from somewhere deep within. I adore talking to older people who have gone through so much and have so much to share. Miss Millie was a combination of every elderly person I’ve had the pleasure of meeting and learning from. 
  1. Which came first, the title or the novel? The novel was always Walking Miss Millie while it was being written since that is how Alice first references the walks –it is also how my daughter used to reference her walks. Shortly before it came out, we decided Walking with Miss Millie better reflects the novel.  
  1. What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why? Oh –that’s a hard, but great question! I think I’d have to say Alice and Miss Millie’s last walk might be one of my favorites. I knew it was going to be their last walk I’d get to write and I was so in love with their relationship, I didn’t want it to end. But as much as I didn’t want it to end, I knew I had to write a scene that was worthy of how far they’d come together. I wanted to do justice to what they’d learned from each other, without being preachy or didactic.  
  1. Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now? I’ve learned to trust my heart. No matter what stage of the journey I was in –just starting, halfway through, or getting reviews—it’s so easy to get swept away with the doubts and worries. But if you trust your heart –understand who you are as a writer and why you write, it takes a lot of the pressure and worry away. You can much more easily write and enjoy the whole process. 
  1. What do you like most about the cover of the book? I love the cover so much. Carrie May did an amazing job of depicting what was in my head and on the pages. Plus, there is such a nostalgic feel to it. The warm colors are so inviting.  It is a cover that just begs you to pick it up and read it.  
  1. What’s up next for you? I am thrilled to say that Nancy Paulsen is going to publish my next book, too. It is an absolute joy to work with this legend in publishing once again. My next novel is also a middle grade historical fiction---taking place in the 1940’s and dealing with farm life, loosing someone and polio. There’s a piece of my mom’s childhood in this one that makes it extra special to me. 
  1. Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?  I like to feel that each character came so naturally that none was troubling. But I did struggle a bit as to how to best show the character of Alice’s brother, Eddie. My brother is also deaf and his deafness played a big part in how I grew up, so I wanted to give that aspect to Alice’s childhood. I gave Eddie several of my own brother’s habits and speech patterns to be authentic. Sometimes it was a challenge to be true to what I knew about deaf communication and not succumb to having him speak in perfect English. I am so happy with the way it all turned out, though.  
  1. Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising? Since I can get a bit obsessive when revising –going over the same sentence too many times to get it “just right” –I enjoy the drafting most. That’s when the story surprises me. I write with an idea of what is happening –but sometimes the characters seem to whisper in my ear and tell me things I hadn’t thought of. That is the most exciting. Sometimes I can’t wait to sit down at the computer and see how it all works out.  
 
 
 

Walking with Miss Millie

By: Tamara Bundy

Release Date: July 4, 2017

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 
         One winner will receive a copy of Walking with Miss Millie. US Only.
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Press Release: Islandborn by Junot Díaz
Giveaway: SERAFINA AND THE SPLINTERED HEART Prize ...

Related Posts

 

Comments 5

Already Registered? Login Here
John on Friday, 28 July 2017 17:52

The cover looks very soft-focus! I bet the book is bursting with insights!

0
The cover looks very soft-focus! I bet the book is bursting with insights!
Maya Le-Pedroza on Thursday, 17 August 2017 14:57

I like the cover, and the story sounds intriguing

0
I like the cover, and the story sounds intriguing :D
Jackeline Gonzalez on Friday, 18 August 2017 19:13

very interesting synopsis and the cover is nice

0
very interesting synopsis and the cover is nice
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 27 August 2017 20:59

I love the cover and it fits this exciting synopsis well. Friendship stories in middle grade are my favorite.

0
I love the cover and it fits this exciting synopsis well. Friendship stories in middle grade are my favorite.
Penny Olson on Monday, 28 August 2017 23:46

I like the bright cheerful cover and the story sounds hopeful.

0
I like the bright cheerful cover and the story sounds hopeful.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."