Author Chat with Syed M Masood (More Than Just A Pretty Face) Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

4265533_20200721-153124_1

 Today we're excited to chat with Syed M Masood author of

More Than Just A Pretty Face.

Read on for more about Syed and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

Meet Syed M Masood!

        

Syed M. Masood grew up in Karachi, Pakistan, and now lives with his wife and children in Sacramento, California, where he is a practicing attorney. He wrote a few couplets in Urdu when he was a teenager, and his family still tells everyone he is an Urdu poet. He is not. More Than Just a Pretty Face is his debut young adult novel.

 

 Website * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

 

Meet More Than Just A Pretty Face!

For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a sweetly funny YA rom-com debut about falling in love, familial expectations, and being a Renaissance Man.

Danyal Jilani doesn't lack confidence. He may not be the smartest guy in the room, but he's funny, gorgeous, and going to make a great chef one day. His father doesn't approve of his career choice, but that hardly matters. What does matter is the opinion of Danyal's longtime crush, the perfect-in-all-ways Kaval, and her family, who consider him a less than ideal arranged marriage prospect.

When Danyal gets selected for Renaissance Man--a school-wide academic championship--it's the perfect opportunity to show everyone he's smarter than they think. He recruits the brilliant, totally-uninterested-in-him Bisma to help with the competition, but the more time Danyal spends with her...the more he learns from her...the more he cooks for her...the more he realizes that happiness may be staring him right in his pretty face.
 

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

Do you have a favorite writing snack?

No, but only because coffee isn’t a snack. Usually when I’m drafting or revising, I only get to sleep three or four hours a night. I definitely don’t recommend it. But I have a demanding day job and kids, so I have to make time to write somewhere. Basically, when I’m on a deadline or the words are flowing, caffeine becomes my main food group.

 

 

Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

I prefer drafting. It’s more painful, but it is also more exciting. I don’t plot. At all. I just start writing. This is not exactly efficient—I end up discarding a lot of words—but what’s cool about it is that I don’t know where the story is going any more than the reader does. I’m always interested to see how things are going to end. Drafting is like telling myself the story for the first time.

 

 

What’s on your TBR pile?

How much space do we have? Seriously though, right now I’m reading Kylie Schachte’s YOU’RE NEXT. I’ve got THE KINGDOM OF COPPER by S.A. Charkaborty and Leah Johnson’s YOU SHOULD SEE ME IN A CROWN up next, probably to be followed by Gary Shteyngart’s LITTLE FAILURE. I’m also reading Rumi’s MASNAVI, which makes me wish I had Persian as a language. I could go on and on. It’s an unending list.

 

 

What’s a book you’ve recently read and loved?

RADICAL LOVE edited by Omid Safi. It’s a collection of Sufi poetry. I urge anyone who picks it up to not skip the introduction.

 

 

Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel. I’m not good with titles for some reason. So far my agent or my editors have had to come up with those. That probably isn’t going to change any time soon.

 

 

Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate? 

There is a scene relatively early on in the book where Danyal, the protagonist, stands up to Bisma Akram’s father when her father is being cruel to her. There were tears in my eyes when I was writing that. It was also the moment I knew I had something. What was it Robert Frost said? “No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader.”

 

 

Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Write the truth you know. This is especially true if you’re working on an #ownvoices book and you’re writing about a sensitive and complex identity—in my case, Muslims. You’re never going to be able to please everyone either within or without the identity you’re writing about. People have their own notions about how certain groups of people ought to live, how they ought to behave and how they ought to be portrayed.

I’ve come to realize that as long as you’ve told the truth as you know it, as best you can and with love, you’ll always be happy with your work no matter what anyone says.

 

 

What’s up next for you?

My next book, which is for adults, THE BAD MUSLIM DISCOUNT comes out on 11/17/20, and I’m very excited about that. I’m also currently revising a YA manuscript about a boy who has been raised and homeschooled by his hundred-year-old great-grandfather and who is having to adjust to a more mainstream life now that he’s attending high school. He ends up as the dance partner of a girl who confuses him entirely, and vice-versa. It’ll be out next year.

 

 

 

 

More Than Just A Pretty Face

By: Syed M Masood

Publisher: Little Brown BYR

Release Date: August 4th, 2020

 

  

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Three winners will receive a copy of More Than Just A Pretty Face (Syed M Masood) ~ (US Only)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway: Roaring (Lindsay Duga) ~ INT
Spotlight on The Falling in Love Montage (Ciara Sm...

Related Posts

 

Comments 12

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Tuesday, 21 July 2020 11:47

Book looks great, looking forward to reading it!

0
Book looks great, looking forward to reading it!
Keia on Tuesday, 21 July 2020 14:54

I read an arc of this and loved it!

0
I read an arc of this and loved it!
Victoria Scott on Friday, 24 July 2020 21:43

Sounds like a book both my daughter and I will enjoy!

0
Sounds like a book both my daughter and I will enjoy!
Alivia Hartz on Sunday, 26 July 2020 15:27

This sounds so awesome!!!

0
This sounds so awesome!!!
Faith on Monday, 03 August 2020 12:46

This book looks so cute!!

0
This book looks so cute!!
Tiffany Engler on Thursday, 06 August 2020 11:42

Love this cover!

0
Love this cover!
Gabby Roberts on Sunday, 09 August 2020 22:03

Sounds so adorable! We all need a little cuteness!!

0
Sounds so adorable! We all need a little cuteness!!
Morgan on Monday, 10 August 2020 10:31

Love this cover. It's so cute.

0
Love this cover. It's so cute.
Asteria on Tuesday, 11 August 2020 02:58

Aww the cover is cute

0
Aww the cover is cute
Lin Ryals on Saturday, 15 August 2020 08:49

This sounds like such a sweet read. I think my daughter would LOVE it! Adorable cover, too.

0
This sounds like such a sweet read. I think my daughter would LOVE it! Adorable cover, too. :)

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Thousand Questions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set against the backdrop of Karachi, Pakistan, Saadia Faruqi’s tender...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Second in a new series about a bright and determined...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
There's a chill in the air and frost on the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Disney’s classic animated films come to life in the latest...
Fence: Striking Distance
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The boys of Kings Row bout with drama, rivalry, and...
Pirate Nell's Tale to Tell
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From the author/illustrator team behind The Snatchabook comes a book-filled...
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Once Upon a Time meets Game of Thrones in...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. A team of...
Finding Balance
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Jase Ellison doesnt remember having acute lymphocytic leukemia when...
Be a Voter!: 450 Stickers for Democracy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Get out the vote! It’s...
I Believe In You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A charming picture book that inspires confidence, boosts self-esteem, and...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling...
Of Thorns and Beauty (Twisted Pages Book 1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
You think you know the tale as old time,...
The Verity
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When being eaten alive is the least of your...
Meanwhile
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate 10 years of this completely original graphic novel take...
Grant Beagan: The Finder's Code
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s just an ordinary teenager who likes astronomy, video games,...

Latest Member Reviews

My Skull Possession
 
3.5
"My Skull Possession is a book which seems to be scaring people to death. Brighton wants to find out the..."
 
5.0
"Beautiful book. This book is beautiful inside and out. That's the first thing a reader will notice. The artwork is..."
 
5.0
"So cute, and just in time for Christmas! This book had me at bears. From the front cover in,..."
 
5.0
"So much fun. Disney Block is a board book for any age of Disney fan. Whether you're with a kid..."
Fence: Striking Distance
 
5.0
"FENCE: STRIKING DISTANCE is a charming YA contemporary fiction that takes place at a boys' boarding school. We follow different..."
Crossing Lines
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central And engaging story about how our differences shape our worldview. ..."
Focused
 
4.0
"!"
Horrid
 
4.7
"After Jane's father sudden dies, Her mother, Ruth, ends up moving them across the country. They move into her mother's..."
Pirate Nell's Tale to Tell
 
4.5
"PIRATE NELL'S TALE TO TELL is a charming picture book about Nell, who has always dreamed of being a pirate...."
Be a Voter!: 450 Stickers for Democracy
 
4.5
"BE A VOTER! is a delightful collection of stickers that encompass the power of voting, the democracy, and the reasons..."
I Believe In You
 
5.0
"I BELIEVE IN YOU is a delightfully encouraging book with bright colors and a charming story. While the main text..."
The Oracle Code
 
4.0
"THE ORACLE CODE visits Barbara Gordon (aka Batgirl and Oracle) in her teens after an accident that paralyzes part of..."
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
"THE GLASS QUEEN is an intense and fantastically written fairytale retelling of Cinderella. In the kingdom of Enchantia, fairytales are..."
The Kingdom of Back
 
5.0
"Marie Lu’s The Kingdom of Back is an historical fantasy based on real-life talents, Wolfgang Amedeus Motzart and his sister,..."
Meanwhile
 
3.7
"'Meanwhile' by Jason Shiga is a graphic novel adventure that will remind readers of the types of books in which..."
Fisher- Price Fun in the Jungle: Explore, Touch, and Feel
 
4.5
"FUN IN THE JUNGLE is an adorable board book great for infants and young toddlers who are exploring the world..."
Glitter Globes: The Night Before Christmas
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS modifies the original poem to be more modern and easily understood by young children. The classic..."
Twisting Minds
 
4.8
"The story: At seventeen, Claire Harper’s life has taken a turn for the worse – her mother..."
Breathless
 
4.0
"BREATHLESS is a book about change, secrets, and the aftermath. Claudine (Claude) is about to graduate high school, and she..."
Fae's Prisoner (Crimes of the Fae)
 
5.0
"This is the book I didn’t know I needed! Fae’s Prisoner by M. Lynn & Melissa A. Craven is the..."