Author Chat with Syed M Masood (More Than Just A Pretty Face) Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

4265533_20200721-153124_1

 Today we're excited to chat with Syed M Masood author of

More Than Just A Pretty Face.

Read on for more about Syed and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

Meet Syed M Masood!

        

Syed M. Masood grew up in Karachi, Pakistan, and now lives with his wife and children in Sacramento, California, where he is a practicing attorney. He wrote a few couplets in Urdu when he was a teenager, and his family still tells everyone he is an Urdu poet. He is not. More Than Just a Pretty Face is his debut young adult novel.

 

 Website * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

 

Meet More Than Just A Pretty Face!

For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a sweetly funny YA rom-com debut about falling in love, familial expectations, and being a Renaissance Man.

Danyal Jilani doesn't lack confidence. He may not be the smartest guy in the room, but he's funny, gorgeous, and going to make a great chef one day. His father doesn't approve of his career choice, but that hardly matters. What does matter is the opinion of Danyal's longtime crush, the perfect-in-all-ways Kaval, and her family, who consider him a less than ideal arranged marriage prospect.

When Danyal gets selected for Renaissance Man--a school-wide academic championship--it's the perfect opportunity to show everyone he's smarter than they think. He recruits the brilliant, totally-uninterested-in-him Bisma to help with the competition, but the more time Danyal spends with her...the more he learns from her...the more he cooks for her...the more he realizes that happiness may be staring him right in his pretty face.
 

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

Do you have a favorite writing snack?

No, but only because coffee isn’t a snack. Usually when I’m drafting or revising, I only get to sleep three or four hours a night. I definitely don’t recommend it. But I have a demanding day job and kids, so I have to make time to write somewhere. Basically, when I’m on a deadline or the words are flowing, caffeine becomes my main food group.

 

 

Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

I prefer drafting. It’s more painful, but it is also more exciting. I don’t plot. At all. I just start writing. This is not exactly efficient—I end up discarding a lot of words—but what’s cool about it is that I don’t know where the story is going any more than the reader does. I’m always interested to see how things are going to end. Drafting is like telling myself the story for the first time.

 

 

What’s on your TBR pile?

How much space do we have? Seriously though, right now I’m reading Kylie Schachte’s YOU’RE NEXT. I’ve got THE KINGDOM OF COPPER by S.A. Charkaborty and Leah Johnson’s YOU SHOULD SEE ME IN A CROWN up next, probably to be followed by Gary Shteyngart’s LITTLE FAILURE. I’m also reading Rumi’s MASNAVI, which makes me wish I had Persian as a language. I could go on and on. It’s an unending list.

 

 

What’s a book you’ve recently read and loved?

RADICAL LOVE edited by Omid Safi. It’s a collection of Sufi poetry. I urge anyone who picks it up to not skip the introduction.

 

 

Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel. I’m not good with titles for some reason. So far my agent or my editors have had to come up with those. That probably isn’t going to change any time soon.

 

 

Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate? 

There is a scene relatively early on in the book where Danyal, the protagonist, stands up to Bisma Akram’s father when her father is being cruel to her. There were tears in my eyes when I was writing that. It was also the moment I knew I had something. What was it Robert Frost said? “No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader.”

 

 

Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Write the truth you know. This is especially true if you’re working on an #ownvoices book and you’re writing about a sensitive and complex identity—in my case, Muslims. You’re never going to be able to please everyone either within or without the identity you’re writing about. People have their own notions about how certain groups of people ought to live, how they ought to behave and how they ought to be portrayed.

I’ve come to realize that as long as you’ve told the truth as you know it, as best you can and with love, you’ll always be happy with your work no matter what anyone says.

 

 

What’s up next for you?

My next book, which is for adults, THE BAD MUSLIM DISCOUNT comes out on 11/17/20, and I’m very excited about that. I’m also currently revising a YA manuscript about a boy who has been raised and homeschooled by his hundred-year-old great-grandfather and who is having to adjust to a more mainstream life now that he’s attending high school. He ends up as the dance partner of a girl who confuses him entirely, and vice-versa. It’ll be out next year.

 

 

 

 

More Than Just A Pretty Face

By: Syed M Masood

Publisher: Little Brown BYR

Release Date: August 4th, 2020

 

  

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Three winners will receive a copy of More Than Just A Pretty Face (Syed M Masood) ~ (US Only)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway: Roaring (Lindsay Duga) ~ INT
Spotlight on The Falling in Love Montage (Ciara Sm...

Related Posts

 

Comments 12

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Tuesday, 21 July 2020 11:47

Book looks great, looking forward to reading it!

0
Book looks great, looking forward to reading it!
Keia on Tuesday, 21 July 2020 14:54

I read an arc of this and loved it!

0
I read an arc of this and loved it!
Victoria Scott on Friday, 24 July 2020 21:43

Sounds like a book both my daughter and I will enjoy!

0
Sounds like a book both my daughter and I will enjoy!
Alivia Hartz on Sunday, 26 July 2020 15:27

This sounds so awesome!!!

0
This sounds so awesome!!!
Faith on Monday, 03 August 2020 12:46

This book looks so cute!!

0
This book looks so cute!!
Tiffany Engler on Thursday, 06 August 2020 11:42

Love this cover!

0
Love this cover!
Gabby Roberts on Sunday, 09 August 2020 22:03

Sounds so adorable! We all need a little cuteness!!

0
Sounds so adorable! We all need a little cuteness!!
Morgan on Monday, 10 August 2020 10:31

Love this cover. It's so cute.

0
Love this cover. It's so cute.
Asteria on Tuesday, 11 August 2020 02:58

Aww the cover is cute

0
Aww the cover is cute
Lin Ryals on Saturday, 15 August 2020 08:49

This sounds like such a sweet read. I think my daughter would LOVE it! Adorable cover, too.

0
This sounds like such a sweet read. I think my daughter would LOVE it! Adorable cover, too. :)

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic...
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey through a magical woodland, with poems to read and...
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the endless imagination of Jason Tharp comes a hilarious...
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new picture book from Jennie Palmer starring Milo, a...
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Slow down to watch 50 nature stories that command calm...
Once Upon A Pizza: Eight Crazy Ways Pizza Wasn't Really Invented, And One It Might Have Been
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone loves pizza, but how was it invented? ...
A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-Fic, Cosplay, Gaming, Podcasting, and More in the Geek World!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Help young fans get in touch with their inner geeks...
Awaken    Book 1 The A'vean Chronicles
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
SOME PEOPLE AREN'T DESTINED TO BE ORDINARY. With a...
Pipsqueaks, Slowpokes, and Stinkers: Celebrating Animal Underdogs
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Underdogs, unite! Celebrated nonfiction author Melissa Stewart offers young readers...
Beneath the Waves
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Open this charming read-aloud book and you'll find amazing animal...
Small Favors
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ellerie Downing is waiting for something to happen. Life in...
Fearghus Academy: October Jewels
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
London, 1864. Fifteen year-old Anna Addison finds herself held at...
Chasing Fireflies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everything happens for a reason. ...
Mine
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A twisty, terrifying ghost story about twelve-year-old Lily, her creepy...
Gold Spun
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
If Nor can't spin gold, she can always spin lies....
Off the Record
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The behind-the-scenes access of Almost Famous meets the searing revelations...

Latest Member Reviews

Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1)
 
4.3
"INCENDIARY is an intriguing YA fantasy with rebellion, magic, and intrigue. Renata was stolen from her parents as a child..."
Love and Other Sins
 
5.0
"Read it in one sitting and can’t wait to read the next one!!"
 
4.3
"This was definitely an interesting book. I really enjoyed all of the witchy aspects of the book! It starts off..."
Tell No Tales: Pirates of the Southern Seas
 
4.5
"TELL NO TALES is a graphic novel that features Anne Bonny and her tale of pirating. She has an amazing..."
Into Darkness (Stuffed, Book 2) (Stuffed, 2)
 
4.0
"STUFFED INTO DARKNESS features Clark who is so excited to go to camp, where the Stuffies protect them from monsters...."
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
"IF YOU GO DOWN TO THE WOODS TODAY has a poem on each page which opens up to the items..."
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
"Bear wants nothing more than for Bunny to jump, but he won't do it. Bunny doesn't want to jump and..."
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
"MILO'S CHRISTMAS PARADE features a little opossum who wants nothing more than to join the Christmas parade. For this reason,..."
Taking Care of Mama Rabbit
 
3.5
"When Mama Rabbit falls ill, it's up to Papa Rabbit to go get medicine and her children to make her..."
More Ryan's World of Science: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
5.0
"MORE RYAN'S WORLD OF SCIENCE features science experiments that are Ryan approved. Not only is this book full of science,..."
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
"SLOW DOWN contains 50 moments in nature that people will miss on a normal day. Everyone is so busy with..."
A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-Fic, Cosplay, Gaming, Podcasting, and More in the Geek World!
 
5.0
"A KID'S GUIDE TO FANDOM is exactly what it says and is full of anything and everything nerdy. From cosplaying,..."
Pipsqueaks, Slowpokes, and Stinkers: Celebrating Animal Underdogs
 
4.7
"PIPSQUEAKS, SLOWPOKES, and SQUEAKERS highlights the underdogs of the animal kingdom. There's an Amau from who is small enough to..."
Beneath the Waves
 
5.0
"BENEATH THE WAVES includes everything ocean related, from Secrets of the Shell, to poems, to creatures and their food sources...."
Mine
 
4.0
"Lily isn’t thrilled about her family’s move from Colorado to Florida. In Colorado, she had her drama club and her..."
Small Favors
 
4.7
"SMALL FAVORS is a compelling, spooky, and atmospheric YA fantasy/horror that keeps the reader guessing. Ellerie is a young woman..."
The Republic of Birds
 
3.0
"Once, birds and humans lived together until a war erupted over a firebird’s egg. Now, the humans have their own..."
Sidelined
 
4.7
"Julian is looking forward to his senior year in Meridien, Texas. He wants to play football and hopefully get scouted..."
Gold Spun
 
4.8
"WHAT I LOVED: GOLD SPUN is a fairytale reimagining of Rumpelstiltskin. To ensure peace following the war between Faradisia..."
Spectacle
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Nathalie Baudin is an extraordinary girl even before she discovers her psychometric abilities. She’s just sixteen,..."