Author Chat with Syed M Masood (More Than Just A Pretty Face) Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

4265533_20200721-153124_1

 Today we're excited to chat with Syed M Masood author of

More Than Just A Pretty Face.

Read on for more about Syed and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

Meet Syed M Masood!

        

Syed M. Masood grew up in Karachi, Pakistan, and now lives with his wife and children in Sacramento, California, where he is a practicing attorney. He wrote a few couplets in Urdu when he was a teenager, and his family still tells everyone he is an Urdu poet. He is not. More Than Just a Pretty Face is his debut young adult novel.

 

 Website * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

 

Meet More Than Just A Pretty Face!

For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a sweetly funny YA rom-com debut about falling in love, familial expectations, and being a Renaissance Man.

Danyal Jilani doesn't lack confidence. He may not be the smartest guy in the room, but he's funny, gorgeous, and going to make a great chef one day. His father doesn't approve of his career choice, but that hardly matters. What does matter is the opinion of Danyal's longtime crush, the perfect-in-all-ways Kaval, and her family, who consider him a less than ideal arranged marriage prospect.

When Danyal gets selected for Renaissance Man--a school-wide academic championship--it's the perfect opportunity to show everyone he's smarter than they think. He recruits the brilliant, totally-uninterested-in-him Bisma to help with the competition, but the more time Danyal spends with her...the more he learns from her...the more he cooks for her...the more he realizes that happiness may be staring him right in his pretty face.
 

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

Do you have a favorite writing snack?

No, but only because coffee isn’t a snack. Usually when I’m drafting or revising, I only get to sleep three or four hours a night. I definitely don’t recommend it. But I have a demanding day job and kids, so I have to make time to write somewhere. Basically, when I’m on a deadline or the words are flowing, caffeine becomes my main food group.

 

 

Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

I prefer drafting. It’s more painful, but it is also more exciting. I don’t plot. At all. I just start writing. This is not exactly efficient—I end up discarding a lot of words—but what’s cool about it is that I don’t know where the story is going any more than the reader does. I’m always interested to see how things are going to end. Drafting is like telling myself the story for the first time.

 

 

What’s on your TBR pile?

How much space do we have? Seriously though, right now I’m reading Kylie Schachte’s YOU’RE NEXT. I’ve got THE KINGDOM OF COPPER by S.A. Charkaborty and Leah Johnson’s YOU SHOULD SEE ME IN A CROWN up next, probably to be followed by Gary Shteyngart’s LITTLE FAILURE. I’m also reading Rumi’s MASNAVI, which makes me wish I had Persian as a language. I could go on and on. It’s an unending list.

 

 

What’s a book you’ve recently read and loved?

RADICAL LOVE edited by Omid Safi. It’s a collection of Sufi poetry. I urge anyone who picks it up to not skip the introduction.

 

 

Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel. I’m not good with titles for some reason. So far my agent or my editors have had to come up with those. That probably isn’t going to change any time soon.

 

 

Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate? 

There is a scene relatively early on in the book where Danyal, the protagonist, stands up to Bisma Akram’s father when her father is being cruel to her. There were tears in my eyes when I was writing that. It was also the moment I knew I had something. What was it Robert Frost said? “No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader.”

 

 

Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Write the truth you know. This is especially true if you’re working on an #ownvoices book and you’re writing about a sensitive and complex identity—in my case, Muslims. You’re never going to be able to please everyone either within or without the identity you’re writing about. People have their own notions about how certain groups of people ought to live, how they ought to behave and how they ought to be portrayed.

I’ve come to realize that as long as you’ve told the truth as you know it, as best you can and with love, you’ll always be happy with your work no matter what anyone says.

 

 

What’s up next for you?

My next book, which is for adults, THE BAD MUSLIM DISCOUNT comes out on 11/17/20, and I’m very excited about that. I’m also currently revising a YA manuscript about a boy who has been raised and homeschooled by his hundred-year-old great-grandfather and who is having to adjust to a more mainstream life now that he’s attending high school. He ends up as the dance partner of a girl who confuses him entirely, and vice-versa. It’ll be out next year.

 

 

 

 

More Than Just A Pretty Face

By: Syed M Masood

Publisher: Little Brown BYR

Release Date: August 4th, 2020

 

  

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Three winners will receive a copy of More Than Just A Pretty Face (Syed M Masood) ~ (US Only)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway: Roaring (Lindsay Duga) ~ INT
Spotlight on The Falling in Love Montage (Ciara Sm...

Related Posts

 

Comments 12

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Tuesday, 21 July 2020 11:47

Book looks great, looking forward to reading it!

0
Book looks great, looking forward to reading it!
Keia on Tuesday, 21 July 2020 14:54

I read an arc of this and loved it!

0
I read an arc of this and loved it!
Victoria Scott on Friday, 24 July 2020 21:43

Sounds like a book both my daughter and I will enjoy!

0
Sounds like a book both my daughter and I will enjoy!
Alivia Hartz on Sunday, 26 July 2020 15:27

This sounds so awesome!!!

0
This sounds so awesome!!!
Faith on Monday, 03 August 2020 12:46

This book looks so cute!!

0
This book looks so cute!!
Tiffany Engler on Thursday, 06 August 2020 11:42

Love this cover!

0
Love this cover!
Gabby Roberts on Sunday, 09 August 2020 22:03

Sounds so adorable! We all need a little cuteness!!

0
Sounds so adorable! We all need a little cuteness!!
Morgan on Monday, 10 August 2020 10:31

Love this cover. It's so cute.

0
Love this cover. It's so cute.
Asteria on Tuesday, 11 August 2020 02:58

Aww the cover is cute

0
Aww the cover is cute
Lin Ryals on Saturday, 15 August 2020 08:49

This sounds like such a sweet read. I think my daughter would LOVE it! Adorable cover, too.

0
This sounds like such a sweet read. I think my daughter would LOVE it! Adorable cover, too. :)

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I'm Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter meets Emergency Contact...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved Bangladeshi...
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hot dogs and hamburgers to ice cream and pizza,...

Latest Member Reviews

Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact ogagaspellcastertemple@gmail.com or WhatsApp +2347059387282 for Urgent effective love..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: FORESTS OF THE WORLD is an approachable nonfiction book that teaches about different kinds of forests, from..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."