Author Chat with Sharon Creech (Saving Winslow), Plus Giveaway!

9780062570703

Today we're excited to chat with Sharon Creech, author of Saving Winslow. 

 Read on for more about Sharon and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

Meet Sharon Creech!

Sharon Creech is the author of the Newbery Medal Winner Walk Two Moons, the Newbery Honor Winner The Wanderer, and the Carnegie Medal winner Ruby Holler. Her other works include Moo, The Boy on the Porch, The Great Unexpected, The Unfinished Angel, Hate That Cat, The Castle Corona, Replay, Heartbeat, Granny Torrelli Makes Soup, Love that Dog, Bloomability, Absolutely Normal Chaos, Chasing Redbird, and Pleasing the Ghost, as well as three picture books, A Fine, Fine School, Fishing in the Air, and Who’s That Baby? Sharon Creech and her husband live in Camden, Maine. You can visit her online at www.sharoncreech.com [sharoncreech.com]

 

Website * Twitter 

 

 

 

 

Meet Saving Winslow!

Perfect for fans of Charlotte’s Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie’s quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~ 

 

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

        I was inspired by my grandchildren’s rescue of orphaned lambs: an intriguing combination of dedication, vulnerability, sweetness, humor, fear. Instead of a lamb, though, I chose a mini-donkey.

 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?       

        Louie. But then, also Winslow. But then, also Nora. Hard to choose!

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

        The title and the vague idea of the story (a child rescuing an orphaned animal) arrived simultaneously. I like it when the title arrives early on, as it helps to inspire, direct and contain the story.

 

 

YABC:   What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

        This is a hard question to answer because I very much wanted to convey the story through a series of succinct scenes, each complete in itself, and I worked to pare each chapter down to its essentials. It’s not so much pride that I feel about any one part—so much as appreciation for the way they all scenes work individually and together.

 

 

YABC:   Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now ?

        The most important thing I’ve learned is to trust my own instincts and get out of the way of the story—to not over think or over plan it—to let the story emerge naturally.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?       

        I love the bright colors and the simplicity and the way those reflect the tone of the book.

 

 

YABC:   What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?       

        I don’t yet know of any books to be released in 2019, but I trust that there will be many great ones for me to discover!

       

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?  

        I’m working on a novel whose characters intrigue me, but they are being stubborn and unpredictable, and it is hard to say what this book is about! Still, I expect to finish it in 2019, for publication in 2020.

 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

        In the beginning, drafting is more exciting, but after completing a first draft, revising becomes more enjoyable. The framework is there and revising is the time to enhance that frame.

 

 

YABC:  Is there anything that you would like to add?      

        Thank you for the time to connect with readers!

 

 

 

 

Saving Winslow

By: Sharon Creech

Publisher: Harpercollins Books

Release Date: September 11th, 2018

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Three winners will each receive a copy of Saving Winslow (Sharon Creech) ~ (US only)

 
 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Featured Review: Twice Dead (Caitlin Seal)
Spotlight on The Journal Of Angela Ashby (Liana Ga...

Related Posts

 

Comments 11

Already Registered? Login Here
Alyssa Annico on Tuesday, 02 October 2018 08:38

This looks and sounds so cute. I love animal stories! :

0
This looks and sounds so cute. I love animal stories! :D:
Debra Branigan on Wednesday, 03 October 2018 22:36

I love Sharon Creech's work with The Wanderer as one of my favorites. I look forward to reading this novel. Cover is cute.

0
I love Sharon Creech's work with The Wanderer as one of my favorites. I look forward to reading this novel. Cover is cute.
Renee Moore on Thursday, 04 October 2018 22:23

I LOVE Charlootes Web! This story sounds so sweet, would love to read!

0
I LOVE Charlootes Web! This story sounds so sweet, would love to read!
Melanie Bracco on Saturday, 06 October 2018 14:23

Love the cover and the synopsis sounds great!

0
Love the cover and the synopsis sounds great!
Victoria Scott on Tuesday, 16 October 2018 15:54

Looks like a terrific read!

0
Looks like a terrific read!
Danielle Hammelef on Friday, 19 October 2018 13:52

I think the cover is adorable and I love the synopsis.

0
I think the cover is adorable and I love the synopsis.
Janell Goode on Sunday, 21 October 2018 23:14

love the cover and the synopsis

0
love the cover and the synopsis
Dan Denman on Monday, 22 October 2018 09:22

The cover is colorful and fun. This sounds like a really heartwarming story.

0
The cover is colorful and fun. This sounds like a really heartwarming story.
Marisa Fort on Tuesday, 23 October 2018 16:43

How cute is this cover?!? The synopsis sounds amazing!

0
How cute is this cover?!? The synopsis sounds amazing!
Jana Leah on Tuesday, 23 October 2018 20:27

The cover is adorable & the story sounds fun.

0
The cover is adorable & the story sounds fun.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sweet treats and friendship mix-ups abound in this story about...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From award-winning Carolyn Mackler, the story of Willa, who has...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This book is about the Stonewall Riots, a series of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Emily is flying with her parents to China to...
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a family car gets a flat on the way...
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In cut-paper artist Nikki McClure’s latest picture book, a kitten...
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
 
4.0
"June 28th marks the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots in Greenwich Village, New York City, so it's great to..."
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old foster kid Elle Zoellner's life turns topsy turvy when a father, she never knew about, wants her to move..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
Finding Esme
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
"FIVE LITTLE PUMPKINS ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT is a cute board book that celebrates Halloween with a counting of pumpkins! In..."