Author Chat with Samuel Miller (Redemption Prep), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

49609750._SX318_SY475_

 Today we're excited to chat with Samuel Miller author of

Redemption Prep.

Read on for more about Samuel and his book, plus an giveaway.

 

 

 

Meet Samuel Miller!

        

Samuel Miller, the author of A Lite Too Bright, was born and raised in Vermillion, South Dakota, and now resides in Los Angeles where, in addition to writing, he directs music videos and coaches little-league baseball. He began writing his first novel while on tour in a fifteen-passenger van with the rock band Paradise Fears. Currently, he attends graduate school at the University of Southern California.

 

 

 

 

 

Meet Redemption Prep!

Everyone knows Emma. Neesha’s her best friend, Aiden’s her basketball star boyfriend, and Evan’s her shadow, following Emma’s every move. She stands out, which is hard to do at Redemption Prep, a school where every student has been handpicked to attend its remote campus in the forest of Utah. So when she goes missing in plain sight, everyone notices. And everyone becomes a suspect, especially at a school with strict rules: Don’t skip mass. Don’t break curfew. Don’t go into the woods.

Emma’s disappearance ignites an investigation, and Neesha, Aiden, and Evan all want to find her—for different reasons. But they each have their own secrets to hide, and not everyone wants Emma to be found.

As the search continues, the students realize that they’re not the only ones trying to hide something. Redemption Prep has secrets, too—secrets bigger than any of the students could have imagined, and Emma could be the key to finding out the truth… if anyone can find her.
 

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

 YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I had stumbled across an article in the newspaper about the male coach of a high school girls soccer team. He’d been fired for “inappropriate conduct” relating to a team sleepover, because he was texting the girls throughout the night and giving them instructions and challenges to accomplish, some of which bordered on hazing. But his dismissal tore the team apart because while some girls felt he deserved to be fired, others were very against it. 

 

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

Mmm, probably Emmalynn, the one who goes missing, because, as I constantly had to remind myself, the myths of people are often easier to love that the reality of them— & she gets mythologized like crazy after she goes missing.

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

The title!! From the formation of the idea, I knew I wanted to code some of the school’s history into its name, & ‘Redemption Preparatory Academy’ ended up driving a lot of how I thought about the school.  

 

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

I’m constantly trying to teach myself to read more. I imagine this will be a lifelong quest. Times when I’m reading a lot, I’m learning a lot, I feel better, I write more. Moments where I’m struggling to work, it’s often because I’m forcing too much output with not enough input. I wish I’d built better habits when I was younger

 

 

YABC:  What’s on your TBR pile?

It has become two piles, but we’re starting to cut into it. ‘Sapiens,’ ‘Everybody Sees the Ants,’ ‘Spectacular Now,’ ‘Flights,’ & ‘Someone Who Will Love You in all Your Damaged Glory,’ a book I bought because it’s my favorite title of all time.

 

 

YABC:  What’s a book you’ve recently read and loved?

So many! There, There by Tommy Orange has been the one I talk about the most, and I’ve probably recommended it to a hundred people in the last few months. More recently, I really enjoyed ‘Trick Mirror’ by Jia Tolentino & ‘This is How You Lose the Time War’ by Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone is one for the ages.

 

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I’m working on a few projects in the film & TV space, as well as developing a third YA mystery novel, this one by far the most ambitious! 

 

 

YABC:  Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

There’s a character who has experienced quite a bit of trauma and passes an emotional attachment onto a person who he doesn’t know, which results in a really unhealthy obsession. That’s challenging, because I want to have empathy for the kid— I want to have empathy for everybody— but his behavior crosses the line a lot. I had to fight both the instinct to punish him too severely, or let him off the hook too easily, & ultimately, be okay with the fact that justice comes in a lot of forms.

 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Drafting, usually, but I will say — there is no feeling on Earth like when you’re lost in your 10th draft, & all of a sudden, you discover something you’ve been missing that solves like ten of your problems at the same time. In everything I’ve ever written, there has been a moment where adding a character— or more often, subtracting / combining characters— has a ripple effect that all of a sudden feels like it’s revising the book for you.

 

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

Do we have a ‘I can eat snack foods at incredible speeds’ super hero? Because if not I call that one. 

 

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

Many! My Friends Place is a day shelter helping with youth homelessness in my local community, in a lot of really creative ways, so we’ve been trying to raise some money to help with their COVID-19 response systems. 

      

 

Redemption Prep

By: Samuel Miller

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Release Date: April 14th, 2020

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a copy of Redemption Prep (Samuel Miller) ~ (US Only)

 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Author Chat with Frances Hardinge (Deeplight), Exc...
Rockstar Book Tours: Aru Shah and the Tree Of Wish...

Related Posts

 

Comments 6

Already Registered? Login Here
Brittany on Monday, 20 April 2020 12:03

Added to my list, looking forward to it!

0
Added to my list, looking forward to it!
Colleen Burns on Wednesday, 22 April 2020 18:32

This book sounds so good!

0
This book sounds so good!
Alex Colpitts on Friday, 24 April 2020 08:59

Added to my goodreads

0
Added to my goodreads
Davianna Nieto on Sunday, 26 April 2020 17:12

Beautiful, eye catching cover and interesting synopsis!

0
Beautiful, eye catching cover and interesting synopsis!
Yara Presley on Monday, 04 May 2020 19:34

Very good blurb! I'm intrigued!

0
Very good blurb! I'm intrigued!
Danielle Hammelef on Monday, 11 May 2020 11:22

I like the cover and secrets and mysteries are fun to read about.

0
I like the cover and secrets and mysteries are fun to read about.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...

Latest Member Reviews

Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
"SISTER OF THE BOLLYWOOD BRIDE is an engaging YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and community with a dash of..."
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
"NOSOTROS MEANS US is a beautiful bilingual picture book about the enduring and unconditional love between mother and child. The..."
On the Way to Birdland
 
5.0
"Reviewed By Vincent Dublado for Readers’ Favorite A touching coming of age novel by Frank Morelli, On..."
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
"I AM THE SHARK is a fun and educational picture book about self-confidence. A great white shark is introducing the..."
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
"This book had some good ideas, especially a young man coming to terms with his sexuality, but it felt somewhat..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."