Author Chat with Sam J Miller (Destroy All Monsters), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

42118011

 Today we're excited to chat with Sam J Miller author of

Destroy All Monsters.

 Read on for more about Sam, plus an interview and an giveaway! 

 

 

 

Meet Sam J Miller!

Sam J. Miller lives in New York City now, but grew up in a small town in upstate New York. He is the last in a long line of butchers. In no particular order, he has also been a film critic, a grocery bagger, a secretary, a painter’s assistant and model, and the guitarist in a punk rock band. He is the winner of the 2018 Andre Norton Award for his YA debut novel, The Art of Starving . His fiction has been nominated for the Nebula Award and the Theodore Sturgeon Award, was long-listed for the Hugo Award, and has won the Shirley Jackson Award. He’s a graduate of the Clarion Writers Workshop and the author of the adult fiction novel Blackfish City . His husband is a nurse practitioner and is way smarter and handsomer than Sam. Visit Sam online at www.samjmiller.com.

 

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 


 

 

Meet Destroy All Monsters!

A crucial, genre-bending tale, equal parts Ned Vizzini and Patrick Ness, about the life-saving power of friendship.

Solomon and Ash both experienced a traumatic event when they were twelve.

Ash lost all memory of that event when she fell from Solomon’s treehouse. Since then, Solomon has retreated further and further into a world he seems to have created in his own mind. One that insulates him from reality, but crawls with foes and monsters . . . in both animal and human form.

As Solomon slips further into the place he calls Darkside, Ash realizes her only chance to free her best friend from his pain is to recall exactly what happened that day in his backyard and face the truth—together.

Fearless and profound, Sam J. Miller’s follow up to his award-winning debut novel, The Art of Starving, spins an intimate and impactful tale that will linger with readers.
 

 


Amazon * B & N  * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

   

  • What gave you the inspiration to write this book?
I've always wanted to write a story that was set in two separate worlds, half gritty contemporary and half fantasy novel, because I love both those genres and the different kinds of fun you can have with each! DESTROY ALL MONSTERS was born the way lots of my stuff is born - the characters walked up to me and introduced themselves and then slapped me around until I did what they wanted me to do. In this case it was a pair of troubled teens, best friends, from different worlds, and it seemed like the perfect opportunity to finally a story set in two very different genres - and have those worlds collide in wild and crazy ways.
 
 
 
  1. Who is your favorite character in the book?
I'd say Solomon - I'll always love my sad troubled gay boys trying their hardest to survive a world hell-bent on destroying them! 
 
 
 
  1. What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?
I can't tell you, because it involves a spoiler, but it did cause my editor to use the phrase "tyrannosaurus ex machina" in her edit letter, which felt like a huge win (or at least a very awesome punk rock band name). But I did fix it so hopefully the tyrannosaurus feels a little less ex machina now.  You'll know it when you get there....
 
 
 
  1. Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?
While I've gotten tons of great advice over the years, the real game changer came in 2012 when I had the good fortune to be able to study under Holly Black and Cassandra Clare at the Clarion Science Fiction and Fantasy Workshop, and they impressed upon us that you can do WHATEVER YOU WANT in Young Adult. People think it's gotta be nice and safe and obscenity-free for kids, but that's nonsense, and Holly and Cassie showed us tons of brilliant books that did risky dark messed-up stuff. Without that, I'd never have had the courage to write the sick twisted story of my own teenage struggle with an eating disorder, in my first book THE ART OF STARVING - or this OTHER twisted tale, DESTROY ALL MONSTERS
 
 
 
  1. What do you like most about the cover of the book? 
The little dinosaur hidden on the camera!! But really I love all of it. 
 
 
 
  1. What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?
Randy Ribay's PATRON SAINTS OF NOTHING rocked my world so hard. I think it's the best YA of 2019, and I say that as someone who HAS a YA coming out in 2019, lol. 
 
 
 
  1. What’s up next for you? 
I'm trying to make some time to write more short stories!! I love novels, but short stories are also fun, and sometimes it's hard to make time for both. Folks can check out my website to read a ton of my published stories for free: samjmiller.com/stories
 
 
 
  1. What would you say is your superpower?
Being queer is a superpower!! It gives me super-powered vision - so I can see exactly how messed up the world is - and superhuman sensitivity to great art - and it filled my life with other superheroes, my LGBTQIA chosen family. I thank God every day that she made me gay. 
 
 
 
  1. Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?
For queer folks, it can be hard as hell to find healthcare providers who really understand them and their needs and can give them appropriate care - but it's also a matter of life and death. For fifty years, the Callen-Lorde Community Health Center has done incredible work providing loving safe supportive health care to the most marginalized communities in NYC - LGBTQIA folks, especially youth, but also homeless folks and immigrants and people with AIDS and low income people of color. There's a great short video about their work here (narrated by Whoopi Goldberg!) - folks should check it out and support them in whatever financial way they're able - and if they're a queer person in or near NYC who's having a hard time finding doctors who love and value and support them, they should go check out Callen Lorde. 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

Destroy All Monsters

By: Sam J Miller

Release Date: July 2nd, 2019

Publisher: HarperTeen

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a copy of Destroy All Monsters (Sam J Miller) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

Featured Review: The Exact Opposite Of Okay (Laura...
Top Ten Tuesday ~ Top Ten YA Fantasy Books Releasi...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"