LoveCurseMelodyMcIntyre_hc__20201203-171209_1

 Today we're excited to chat with Robin Talley author of

The Love Curse of Melody McIntyre.

Read on for more about Robin and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

Meet Robin Talley!

Robin Talley is a queer author who grew up in southwest Virginia and now lives in Washington, D.C., with her wife and their daughter. She worked in digital communications for LGBTQ rights, women’s rights, educational equity, and other progressive causes for fifteen years before she turned to writing full-time, and is now the New York Times-bestselling author of five novels for teen readers: Pulp, Our Own Private Universe, As I Descended, What We Left Behind, and Lies We Tell Ourselves.

 

 Website * Facebook * Instagram * Twitter

 

 

 

 

Meet The Love Curse of Melody McIntyre!

Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Nina LaCour, this #ownvoices romantic comedy from New York Times bestselling author Robin Talley has something for everyone: backstage rendezvous, deadly props, and a seemingly insurmountable obstacle to True Love.

Melody McIntyre, stage manager extraordinaire, has a plan for everything.

What she doesn’t have? Success with love. Every time she falls for someone during a school performance, both the romance and the show end in catastrophe. So, Mel swears off any entanglements until their upcoming production of Les Mis is over.

Of course, Mel didn’t count on Odile Rose, rising star in the acting world, auditioning for the spring performance. And she definitely didn’t expect Odile to be sweet and funny, and care as much about the play’s success as Mel.

Which means that Melody McIntyre’s only plan now is trying desperately not to fall in love.

 

 

Amazon * B & N  * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

     

      YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

This book started with the character of Melody McIntyre herself, who just showed up in my head one afternoon when I was supposed to be working on another project altogether. She set up camp, though, and the next thing I knew, she’d woven an entire world around herself, complete with a few enticing kernels of plot. It’s very convenient when characters do that.

     

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

After Mel, my favorite is probably her best friend, Dom. He’s another character who I can see really clearly in my head. But I’m also a huge fan of Odile, and of Mel’s assistant stage manager, Gabby.

     

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

The title didn’t come to me right away, because it took me a while to hammer out the overall premise. As soon as I realized Mel’s rather complicated love life was cursed, though, the title wrote itself.

     

 

YABC:  Do you have a favorite writing snack?

Not a favorite, favorite, but there’s still leftover Halloween candy in our house, so...

     

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

That the first draft is really just a foundation upon which the novel is built, and it’s okay if it’s not very, um, well… good. Revision is where the real work gets done, for me.

     

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?


I really like all the colors in the detail elements — the confetti falling, the roses and teddy bears on the stage. Even though my wife, who, unlike me, has actually been a stage manager, gets hives looking at it, because that kind of thing is such a pain to clean up, and guess whose job that is. (Hint: the stage manager’s.)

     

 

YABC:  What’s on your TBR pile?

You mean my absurdly ginormous TBR list, spread out across my assortment of ebook apps? :) Right now I’m reading (and obsessed with) Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram. Next up are Plain Bad Heroines by Emily Danforth, The Only Black Girls in Town by Brandy Colbert, and The Five by Hallie Rubenhold.

     

 

YABC:  What’s a book you’ve recently read and loved?

I can’t gush enough about Such a Fun Age by Kiley Reid. It’s both hilarious and deeply upsetting, and the plot whips forward so fast you’re just carried along for the ride. You’re so engrossed in the story, it makes you think without making you realize you’re doing it. I read it on Election Night, and it was such a blessing to disappear into the story for big chunks of time instead of hanging onto every single minute of changing news.  

     

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I’ve got a couple of different projects in the works, but I’ve gotten superstitious about talking about things too far in advance, alas.

   

 

YABC:  Are there any film adaptations, tv shows, audiobooks, or other adaptations in the works for this book?

There’s an audiobook of Love Curse read by the amazing Jennifer Jill Araya, available now!

   

 

YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate? 

There’s an early scene where Mel and her crush, Odile, have their first real conversation on Mel’s porch. They’re not actually supposed to be talking at all, but before they know what’s happening, the conversation becomes the most meaningful one either of them has ever had. That scene took quite a lot of tries to get right.

   

 

YABC:  Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Several characters went through wholesale changes as this book moved through the writing and revision process, but Odile probably changed the most. She was a tricky one until I got to know her.

   

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Definitely revising. My first drafts are all over the place. Revision is when I figure out the story I really want to tell.

     

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

I am extremely good at procrastination. Though when I asked my wife how I should answer this question she said, “literary birthday gifts,” so I suppose there’s also that.

   

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

There are so many — but right now, we all need to be lending as much support as we can to local food banks due to the economic devastation the pandemic has brought on so many families. If you’re in the U.S., here’s a link to find a food bank in your community.

 

 

 

 

The Love Curse of Melody McIntyre

By: Robin Talley

Publisher: HarperTeen

Release Date: December 1st, 2020

 

  

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Two winners will each receive a copy of The Love Curse of Melody McIntyre (Robin Talley) ~ (US Only)

 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway