Author Chat with Rebekah Crane (Postcards For A Songbird), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

40129286._SY475_

 Today we're excited to chat with Rebekah Crane author of

Postcards For A Songbird.

 Read on for more about Rebekah and her book, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Rebekah Crane!

Rebekah Crane is the author of several critically acclaimed young-adult novels, including The Infinite Pieces of Us, The Upside of Falling Down, The Odds of Loving Grover Cleveland, Aspen (currently being adapted by Life Out Loud Films), and Playing Nice. Crane is a former high school English teacher who found a passion for writing young-adult fiction while studying secondary English education at Ohio University.

After living and teaching in six different cities, Crane finally settled in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains to write novels and work on screenplays. A yoga instructor and the mother of two girls, Crane spends many of her days tucked behind a laptop at 7,500 feet, where the altitude only enhances the writing experience. Visit www.rebekahcrane.com, follow her on Twitter, or like her on Facebook at authorrebekahcrane.

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 


 

 

Meet Postcards For A Songbird!

Everyone eventually leaves Wren Plumley. First it was her mother, then her best friend, and then her sister. Now living with only her cop father and her upended dreams, Wren feels stranded, like a songbird falling in a storm.

When Wilder, a sickly housebound teen, moves in next door, Wren finally finds what she’s always wanted—a person who can’t leave. But a chance meeting with Luca, the talkative, crush-worthy boy in her driver’s ed class, has Wren wondering if maybe she’s too quick to push people away. Soon, Wren finds herself caught between the safety of a friendship and a love worth fighting for.

Wren starts to dream again. But when postcards begin arriving from her sister, Wren must ultimately confront why her mother left fourteen years before and why her sister followed in her footsteps. For her new life to take flight, Wren will have to reconcile the heartbreaking beauty of lost dreams and the beautiful heartbreak of her new reality.

 

 

 AmazonB & NIndiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~      

 


YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

This book came from a lot of different places. Most influential was Women Who Run With the Wolves by Clarissa Pinkola Estés, a truly extraordinary book that examines feminine archetype. The story of the ugly duckling is Wren. That archetype is her journey in Postcards for a Songbird. While I was writing, I kept Women Who Run With the Wolves next to me and if I was struggling, I’d pick it up and read a story. A lot of the imagery in Postcards for a Songbird is inspired by that book.

 

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

In truth, there are a lot of scenes I’m proud of in this book. There’s a chapter called “The Bus Stop to Nowhere” that I absolutely loved writing. The scenes with Baby Girl and Leia were particularly fun. But possibly the scene I’m most proud of is the third chapter “Hope Through the Trees”. There’s just something about the way Wren and Lizzie see life in the scene that makes me love them so fiercely. 

 

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Keep writing. Keep writing. Keep writing. Also, comparison is the thief of joy. Don’t waste your time on it. Kissing scenes make the world a friendlier place, so write one, even if you delete it.  And recently a friend reminded me—you can’t edit a blank page. So… keep writing.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Typically, I keep my nose out of cover design. I am not visually artistic at all. At all. But I had a vision for this cover from the beginning—two people sitting like birds on a wire. Luckily, my publisher was on board with my concept and they went with it. And I love it! I also love the Monet-like clouds in the background.

 

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

How to be an Antiracist by Ibram X. Kendi. It comes out on August 13. I read Kendi’s Stamped from the Beginning, one of the most important and educating books I’ve ever read. I can’t wait for his next one.

 

 

YABC:   Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

I wept writing the end of this book. I still can’t read it without crying. There is something about the last scene that gets me every time, particularly the last few paragraphs.

 

 

YABC:  Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Wilder. I don’t want to say too much, only that his role in the novel changed a few times while writing and editing.

 

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

My women’s intuition! My inner wolf can be pretty loud sometimes, and I really try to listen to what she’s telling me. Most notably, my intuition pushed me into writing. I just had a feeling it was what I was meant to do. And now here I am!

 

 

Postcards For A Songbird

By: Rebekah Crane

Release Date: August 6th, 2019

 Publisher: Skyscape Publishing

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Five winners will each receive a copy of Postcards For A Songbird (Rebekah Crane) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Author Of The Week: Chat with Derek Milman (Swipe ...
What's New In YA ~ August 5th, 2019

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."