Author Chat with MG Hennessey (The Echo Park Castaways), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

43438425._SY475_

 Today we're excited to chat with MG Hennessey author of

The Echo Park Castaways .

 Read on for more about MG, plus an interview and an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet MG Hennessey!

USA TODAY bestselling author Olivia Wildenstein grew up in New York City, the daughter of a French father with a great sense of humor, and a Swedish mother whom she speaks to at least three times a day. She chose Brown University to complete her undergraduate studies and earned a bachelor’s in comparative literature. After designing jewelry for a few years, Wildenstein traded in her tools for a laptop computer and a very comfortable chair. This line of work made more sense, considering her college degree.

 

 

 Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 


 

 

Meet The Echo Park Castaways!

From the author of The Other Boy comes a poignant and heartfelt novel that explores what it means to be a family. Perfect for fans of Counting by 7s.

Nevaeh, Vic, and Mara are veterans of the Los Angeles foster care system. For over a year they’ve been staying with Mrs. K in Echo Park. Vic spends most of his time living in a dream world, Mara barely speaks, and Nevaeh is forced to act as a back-up parent. Though their situation isn’t ideal, it’s still their best home yet.

Then Child Protective Services places Quentin in the house, and everything is turned upside down. Nevaeh really can’t handle watching over anyone else, especially a boy on the autism spectrum. Meanwhile, Quentin is having trouble adjusting and attempts to run away.

So when Vic realizes Quentin just wants to see his mom again, he plans an “epic quest” to reunite them. It could result in the foster siblings getting sent to different group homes. But isn’t family always worth the risk?

 Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

      YABC:   What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

        I serve as an advocate in the Los Angeles foster care system, and my experiences working with those kids inspired the novel. I realized during my training that there was so much about foster care that I didn’t know, and so many ways in which it could be improved. All of the characters are composites of real cases, and their foster home experiences are also, sadly, far too common. I think that by shining a light on the system, and humanizing the people who are trapped in it, maybe we can eventually affect some change.

 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?

I can’t choose between my babies, I love them all! Vic and Quentin are both so sweet, and so funny (frequently unintentionally so, at least on their part). Nevaeh is such a survivor, I admire her so much. And although Mara is the only one without a direct POV in the book, she really serves as the story’s conscience and moral compass; she’s also frequently the engine that nudges the plot forward, although the other characters don’t always realize it.

 

 

YABC:   Which came first, the title or the novel?

Honestly, they came kind of simultaneously. My original title was “The Epic Quest of the Echo Park Castaways,” but my editor thought that was too long :)

 

 

YABC:   Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Even if you only write a page a day, by the end of a year you’ll have a book.

 

 

YABC:   What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I really, really love this cover. I love the colors, the font...everything. It’s rare to receive that cover jpg and have no complaints, but honestly, I didn’t- I think the designer did a phenomenal job with it.

 

 

YABC:   What was your favorite book in 2019 so far?

 I adored Abdi Nazemian’s recent release “Like A Love Story.” I think he’s a fabulous writer, and as someone who recently became OBSESSED with the TV show Pose, this book serves as a perfect companion to it since they both deal with the same era and place (NYC in the late 80s, during the rise of the AIDS crisis).

 

 

YABC:   Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Quentin was tricky, because I needed to show that his relatively mild autism had become much more severe as a reaction to an emotional trauma. So I spoke to a lot of parents of kids with varying degrees of autism about their experiences. It was really important to make sure that his behavior wouldn’t be too extreme or atypical. We had a sensitivity reader who was the parent of an autistic child, and they were really helpful and also appreciative of Quentin’s depiction in the story, so hopefully I got it right!

 

 

YABC:   Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

 Can I say neither? Jk. The truth is, it really depends on the book. When the writing is really flowing, I prefer that. When it feels like I’m slogging through quicksand in my first draft, I’d much rather be editing. The one trick I’ve learned, though, is to NEVER try to do both simultaneously. At least for me, I have to finish the entire first draft before I go back to edit a single word (consequently, my rough drafts are SERIOUSLY rough, total hot messes).

 

 

YABC:   What would you say is your superpower?

Insomnia? Is that a superpower? No? Because I am truly amazing at not getting enough sleep.

 

 

YABC:   Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

CASA is a national organization that trains advocates for foster children, and they’re always looking for donations and new recruits! Really, just a few hours a month of your time can literally change the life of a child. If you want to have an impact on homelessness, mass incarceration rates, and teen pregnancy, volunteering as a CASA is a great place to start, since far too many foster kids end up in one or more of those situations within five years of aging out of the system.

 

 

 

 

 

The Echo Park Castaways

By: MG Hennessey

Release Date: July 2nd, 2019

Publisher: Harpercollins

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a copy of The Echo Park Castaways (MG Hennessey) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: OverRun (Brittney Joy)
Featured Review: The Virtue Of Sin (Shannon Schure...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"After Cassie witnesses the murder of her mother, she develops anxiety over just about everything. She doesn't talk to anyone..."
Seneca Lake
 
4.8
"Meg lives in a small town in upstate NY (outside Ithaca) in the later years of WWII. She is torn..."