Author Chat with Melissa Sarno (A Swirl Of Ocean), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

42927034

 Today we're excited to chat with Melissa Samo author of

A Swirl Of Ocean.

 Read on for more about Melissa her book, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Melissa Sarno!

Melissa Sarno is a freelance writer and editor with an MFA in screenwriting. She writes about middle-grade books for Barnes & Noble's B&N Kids Blog and edits YA and children's book reviews for Cleaver magazine. Just Under the Clouds was her debut novel. Read more about her at melissasarno.com [melissasarno.com]. Follow her on Twitter and Instagram at @melissasarno.

 

 

 WebsiteTwitter * Instagram

 


 

 

Meet A Swirl Of Ocean!

A touching, timeless novel--perfect for fans of Lisa Graff and Lauren Wolk--about a girl who discovers that the ocean is holding secrets she never could have imagined.

Twelve-year-old Summer loves the ocean. The smell, the immensity, the feeling she gets when she dives beneath the surface. She has lived in Barnes Bluff Bay since she was two years old, when Lindy found her on the beach. It's been the two of them ever since. But now, ten years later, Summer feels uncertainty about her place with Lindy and starts to wonder about where she came from. One night, Summer goes for a swim and gets caught in a riptide, swallowing mouthfuls of seawater. And that night, she dreams of a girl. A girl her age living in the same town, but not in the same time. Summer's not persuaded that this girl is real, but something about her feels familiar.

Summer dreams again and again about this girl, Tink, and becomes convinced that she is connected to her past. As she sees Tink struggle with her sister growing away from her and her friends starting to pair off, Summer must come to terms with her own evolving home life and discover how the bonds that make us family can help heal the wounds of the past.

From Melissa Sarno, the author of Just Under the Clouds, comes a new story of discovery, family, and finding where you belong.

 

 

Amazon * B & NIndiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

        

  YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

This book began with a dream I had years ago about a girl and the ocean. It was one of those hazy, blurry dreams I could sense more than see and I had a deep feeling in my gut that it was about a girl who was a part of the ocean and the ocean was a part of her. I didn’t know what that meant or where it would lead but every time I thought about what I would write “next” I thought of that girl. 


Years later I was watching a documentary about the secrets of the ocean and how we can understand and uncover entire histories and civilizations by studying the depths of the ocean floor. It fascinated me that the ocean could “hold” on to a history and I began to wonder what it would be like if we could understand that history in mysterious ways, by making the ocean a part of who we are, too.

My main character, Summer, wants to understand something about her own history. Her own past. And she learns it by capturing ocean water, swallowing it, and dreaming an entire mysterious history that she slowly learns belongs to her.



YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

I love Summer. I love her determination and curiosity. She’s also more outspoken than most characters I’ve written in the past. I wish I were more like her.

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

There’s a scene in the novel where Summer and her best friend, Jeremiah, discover starfish washed up on the shore. Summer is worried about these starfish and starts frantically tossing them back in the ocean, so desperate to make sure they get back to where they need to be. Then she learns that they are where they need to be. They come and go with the tides. This scene came to me, so fully formed, I don’t think I ever changed a word from the first draft.

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

I’m always learning new things as a writer but the most important thing I’ve learned is to give myself the time and space I need to write. That means being patient and respecting the time it takes to tell a good story. It also means carving out time in an already busy schedule to make sure I can read, dream, learn, and grow as an artist. I have to give myself permission to make that investment.  

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love the illustration by Leo Nickolls. The colors and mood convey a lot of mystery and intrigue and it perfectly captures Summer’s search to understand her connection to the ocean. My favorite part of the cover is the turtle with the numbers 47-3.

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

I really loved Real Friends, the graphic novel by Shannon Hale and illustrated by LeUyen Pham, so I can’t wait to read the follow-up, Best Friends, which was just released!

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I just turned over a draft of a new middle grade novel to my agent and I'm now in the most wonderful stage in a new novel's life: the dreaming stage. There are no guarantees in publishing, so I don't know what will happen to either of them, but they are both about girls and longing and identity, which, I guess, is my writerly jam.

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Facing the blank page is very daunting. I prefer revision. I like having a framework, however rough, and a hint at who the characters are and what they want. I like being able to reshape a story, rather than build it word by word from scratch.

 


 

 

 

A Swirl Of Ocean

By: Melissa Sarno

Release Date: August 6th, 2019

 Publisher: Knopf BYR

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Two winners will each receive a copy of A Swirl Of Ocean (Melissa Sarno) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Spotlight on The Athena Protocol (Shamim Sarif), P...
Author Chat with Jennifer Armentrout (The Burning ...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Bohring-home to 453 people, 2,053 alligators, and one...
Where the World Ends
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Winner of the 2018 Carnegie Medal! New from Michael L....
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Fast, funny, frightening—and filled with shocks and surprises. These books...
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finding out my mother was taken by the demons...
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut about first love and second...
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Two teens meet after tragedy and learn about love,...
Golden Crown
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
No longer only a warrior. Not just a queen....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first vampire. The last Nephilim. The end...
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
What is it like to live in 4519 AD...
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
This action-packed graphic novel based on the New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Rose Hemmersbach aspires to break out of small town...
Stuffed
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome, little one. You have been chosen to join us,...
Merged
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seven of our country’s most gifted teens will become Nobels,...
Bury Me
 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)
No one ever leaves Copper Hollow. It's a town with...
Estranged #2: The Changeling King
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enter a world of faerie magic and epic adventure in...
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The exciting follow-up to Mightier Than the Sword, the humorous...

Latest Member Reviews

Frankly in Love
 
4.7
"I love this book so much. I read it pretty much in one sitting because I couldn't put it down!..."
The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
"THE MONSTER HYPOTHESIS is a really fun middle grade investigative mystery. Kick is living with her grandmother, a fake psychic..."
Legacy Awakened
 
5.0
"Ava is the child of prophesy and all eyes are on her because she is the daughter of the Prime..."
Hushed
 
4.0
"Romy has just finished school and is torn because she isn't sure what she wants to do with her life...."
Where the World Ends
 
3.0
"WHERE THE WORLD ENDS is an intriguing historical fiction, based on a true story. The boys of Hirta are sent..."
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
"Ren and Kip aren't sure what to expect when they visit their Aunt for Halloween. She works at an Old..."
Stuffed
 
4.0
"STUFFED follows Clark and Foon. Clark is a boy who loves stuffed animals and feels that they keep him safe...."
Bury Me
 
4.7
"In horror books and movies, we often see dolls as the main source of scares( such as Annabelle or Child's..."
Golden Crown
 
4.3
"I have mixed feelings about this book. It follows the second book immediately and starts off with Etta struggling with..."
Juliet Takes a Breath
 
4.7
"Juliet Takes a Breath is a coming of age story about a Latina lesbian from the Bronx who travels to..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
5.0
"Fireborne is a fantasy novel set nine years after a bloody uprising against a brutal regime in which the poor..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"i am from Italy hello. Can you help me translate? /rardor"
Write to Me: Letters from Japanese American Children to the Librarian They Left Behind
 
5.0
"This is a must read book that shows the lives of Japanese American children who ended up being taken from..."
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF THE WORD is another absolutely delightful interactive story, where you are the main character in the book...."
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
"Kali is the hope of saving the world from vampires and demons. She’s a vampire huntress who also happens to..."
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
"THE GALACTIC ADVENTURES OF HAZEL - GURECOA takes place in the far future, where our planet is only vaguely recognizable...."
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
"BATMAN: NIGHTWALKER (THE GRAPHIC NOVEL) converts the YA novel by Marie Lu into graphic novel format. The plot remains the..."
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
 
5.0
"RAT RULE 79 is charming, ridiculous, and completely engaging. Fred is about to turn thirteen in a new place, as..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
4.0
"Jack and Annie get an invitation from "M" to spend Christmas in Camelot, which excites them since they haven't heard..."
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
4.0
"Marty Fontana and his mother move to a new town for her job, and have a house that belonged to..."