Author Chat with Melissa Sarno (A Swirl Of Ocean), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

42927034

 Today we're excited to chat with Melissa Samo author of

A Swirl Of Ocean.

 Read on for more about Melissa her book, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Melissa Sarno!

Melissa Sarno is a freelance writer and editor with an MFA in screenwriting. She writes about middle-grade books for Barnes & Noble's B&N Kids Blog and edits YA and children's book reviews for Cleaver magazine. Just Under the Clouds was her debut novel. Read more about her at melissasarno.com [melissasarno.com]. Follow her on Twitter and Instagram at @melissasarno.

 

 

 WebsiteTwitter * Instagram

 


 

 

Meet A Swirl Of Ocean!

A touching, timeless novel--perfect for fans of Lisa Graff and Lauren Wolk--about a girl who discovers that the ocean is holding secrets she never could have imagined.

Twelve-year-old Summer loves the ocean. The smell, the immensity, the feeling she gets when she dives beneath the surface. She has lived in Barnes Bluff Bay since she was two years old, when Lindy found her on the beach. It's been the two of them ever since. But now, ten years later, Summer feels uncertainty about her place with Lindy and starts to wonder about where she came from. One night, Summer goes for a swim and gets caught in a riptide, swallowing mouthfuls of seawater. And that night, she dreams of a girl. A girl her age living in the same town, but not in the same time. Summer's not persuaded that this girl is real, but something about her feels familiar.

Summer dreams again and again about this girl, Tink, and becomes convinced that she is connected to her past. As she sees Tink struggle with her sister growing away from her and her friends starting to pair off, Summer must come to terms with her own evolving home life and discover how the bonds that make us family can help heal the wounds of the past.

From Melissa Sarno, the author of Just Under the Clouds, comes a new story of discovery, family, and finding where you belong.

 

 

Amazon * B & NIndiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

        

  YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

This book began with a dream I had years ago about a girl and the ocean. It was one of those hazy, blurry dreams I could sense more than see and I had a deep feeling in my gut that it was about a girl who was a part of the ocean and the ocean was a part of her. I didn’t know what that meant or where it would lead but every time I thought about what I would write “next” I thought of that girl. 


Years later I was watching a documentary about the secrets of the ocean and how we can understand and uncover entire histories and civilizations by studying the depths of the ocean floor. It fascinated me that the ocean could “hold” on to a history and I began to wonder what it would be like if we could understand that history in mysterious ways, by making the ocean a part of who we are, too.

My main character, Summer, wants to understand something about her own history. Her own past. And she learns it by capturing ocean water, swallowing it, and dreaming an entire mysterious history that she slowly learns belongs to her.



YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

I love Summer. I love her determination and curiosity. She’s also more outspoken than most characters I’ve written in the past. I wish I were more like her.

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

There’s a scene in the novel where Summer and her best friend, Jeremiah, discover starfish washed up on the shore. Summer is worried about these starfish and starts frantically tossing them back in the ocean, so desperate to make sure they get back to where they need to be. Then she learns that they are where they need to be. They come and go with the tides. This scene came to me, so fully formed, I don’t think I ever changed a word from the first draft.

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

I’m always learning new things as a writer but the most important thing I’ve learned is to give myself the time and space I need to write. That means being patient and respecting the time it takes to tell a good story. It also means carving out time in an already busy schedule to make sure I can read, dream, learn, and grow as an artist. I have to give myself permission to make that investment.  

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love the illustration by Leo Nickolls. The colors and mood convey a lot of mystery and intrigue and it perfectly captures Summer’s search to understand her connection to the ocean. My favorite part of the cover is the turtle with the numbers 47-3.

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

I really loved Real Friends, the graphic novel by Shannon Hale and illustrated by LeUyen Pham, so I can’t wait to read the follow-up, Best Friends, which was just released!

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I just turned over a draft of a new middle grade novel to my agent and I'm now in the most wonderful stage in a new novel's life: the dreaming stage. There are no guarantees in publishing, so I don't know what will happen to either of them, but they are both about girls and longing and identity, which, I guess, is my writerly jam.

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Facing the blank page is very daunting. I prefer revision. I like having a framework, however rough, and a hint at who the characters are and what they want. I like being able to reshape a story, rather than build it word by word from scratch.

 


 

 

 

A Swirl Of Ocean

By: Melissa Sarno

Release Date: August 6th, 2019

 Publisher: Knopf BYR

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Two winners will each receive a copy of A Swirl Of Ocean (Melissa Sarno) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Spotlight on The Athena Protocol (Shamim Sarif), P...
Author Chat with Jennifer Armentrout (The Burning ...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet thirteen-year-old Agatha Oddly – a bold, determined heroine, and...
Skipping Forward
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
What if you could skip forward in time, but...
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson delivers the...
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A heartbroken teen, with the help of her best...
Golden Chains
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Never fall in love with the enemy. If only...
Wardens of Eternity
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic and magical creatures. Immortal gods and goddesses. History...
Tweet Cute
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Pepper, swim team captain, chronic overachiever, and all-around...
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fifteen-year-old JL Markham's life used to be filled with carnival...
The Lost Legends
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All her life, Princess Adalina heard tales of the legendary,...
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a series of interwoven fictionalized stories, Deborah Noyes gives...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this thrilling...
Birthday
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Boyhood meets The Sun Is Also a Star in this...
A Betrayal Exposed (Not Every Girl Book 3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia Davenport’s life is finally going smoothly, until if falls...
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Influencers. Movie nerds. Beauty queens. And one pink convertible. Have...
The Hunt
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. ...
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Will Tavares is the dream summer fling―he's fun, affectionate, kind―but...

Latest Member Reviews

Scarred
 
4.8
"Emotionally, I mean. What I loved: As you can guess from the title,..."
The Path Divided
 
5.0
"I'm going to break out of my usual review mold here because this book was so many things. It..."
Girl at Heart
 
4.8
"What I loved: Just about everything. This was an adorable YA Contemporary Romance with a surprisingly well-rounded..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.3
"What I loved: The world building was perfectly illustrated without bogging down the story. Everything from the..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
Julie Winsome M.D., Medical Detective Science Fiction Mysteries, Volume # 1
 
4.7
"Always fun to follow along with Dr. Julie Winsome Medical Detective! Great stories and I love the writing style..."
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
"FINDING MR. BETTER-THAN-YOU starts off like a cheesy romantic comedy, but ends up being a lot more fulfilling light-hearted YA..."
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
"FREAKY IN FRESNO is a spin on the old novel, FREAKY FRIDAY. Ricki (nickname for Lyric) had a falling out..."
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
"ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."
Ink in the Blood (Ink in the Blood Duology #1)
 
4.3
"INK IN THE BLOOD is an engaging and atmospheric YA fantasy. Celia Sand was delighted when she was chosen to..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
What I Want You to See
 
4.0
"WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE is an interesting book that discusses homelessness, choices and their intersection with privilege, as..."