Author Chat with Melissa Sarno (A Swirl Of Ocean), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

42927034

 Today we're excited to chat with Melissa Samo author of

A Swirl Of Ocean.

 Read on for more about Melissa her book, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Melissa Sarno!

Melissa Sarno is a freelance writer and editor with an MFA in screenwriting. She writes about middle-grade books for Barnes & Noble's B&N Kids Blog and edits YA and children's book reviews for Cleaver magazine. Just Under the Clouds was her debut novel. Read more about her at melissasarno.com [melissasarno.com]. Follow her on Twitter and Instagram at @melissasarno.

 

 

 WebsiteTwitter * Instagram

 


 

 

Meet A Swirl Of Ocean!

A touching, timeless novel--perfect for fans of Lisa Graff and Lauren Wolk--about a girl who discovers that the ocean is holding secrets she never could have imagined.

Twelve-year-old Summer loves the ocean. The smell, the immensity, the feeling she gets when she dives beneath the surface. She has lived in Barnes Bluff Bay since she was two years old, when Lindy found her on the beach. It's been the two of them ever since. But now, ten years later, Summer feels uncertainty about her place with Lindy and starts to wonder about where she came from. One night, Summer goes for a swim and gets caught in a riptide, swallowing mouthfuls of seawater. And that night, she dreams of a girl. A girl her age living in the same town, but not in the same time. Summer's not persuaded that this girl is real, but something about her feels familiar.

Summer dreams again and again about this girl, Tink, and becomes convinced that she is connected to her past. As she sees Tink struggle with her sister growing away from her and her friends starting to pair off, Summer must come to terms with her own evolving home life and discover how the bonds that make us family can help heal the wounds of the past.

From Melissa Sarno, the author of Just Under the Clouds, comes a new story of discovery, family, and finding where you belong.

 

 

Amazon * B & NIndiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

        

  YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

This book began with a dream I had years ago about a girl and the ocean. It was one of those hazy, blurry dreams I could sense more than see and I had a deep feeling in my gut that it was about a girl who was a part of the ocean and the ocean was a part of her. I didn’t know what that meant or where it would lead but every time I thought about what I would write “next” I thought of that girl. 


Years later I was watching a documentary about the secrets of the ocean and how we can understand and uncover entire histories and civilizations by studying the depths of the ocean floor. It fascinated me that the ocean could “hold” on to a history and I began to wonder what it would be like if we could understand that history in mysterious ways, by making the ocean a part of who we are, too.

My main character, Summer, wants to understand something about her own history. Her own past. And she learns it by capturing ocean water, swallowing it, and dreaming an entire mysterious history that she slowly learns belongs to her.



YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

I love Summer. I love her determination and curiosity. She’s also more outspoken than most characters I’ve written in the past. I wish I were more like her.

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

There’s a scene in the novel where Summer and her best friend, Jeremiah, discover starfish washed up on the shore. Summer is worried about these starfish and starts frantically tossing them back in the ocean, so desperate to make sure they get back to where they need to be. Then she learns that they are where they need to be. They come and go with the tides. This scene came to me, so fully formed, I don’t think I ever changed a word from the first draft.

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

I’m always learning new things as a writer but the most important thing I’ve learned is to give myself the time and space I need to write. That means being patient and respecting the time it takes to tell a good story. It also means carving out time in an already busy schedule to make sure I can read, dream, learn, and grow as an artist. I have to give myself permission to make that investment.  

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love the illustration by Leo Nickolls. The colors and mood convey a lot of mystery and intrigue and it perfectly captures Summer’s search to understand her connection to the ocean. My favorite part of the cover is the turtle with the numbers 47-3.

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

I really loved Real Friends, the graphic novel by Shannon Hale and illustrated by LeUyen Pham, so I can’t wait to read the follow-up, Best Friends, which was just released!

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I just turned over a draft of a new middle grade novel to my agent and I'm now in the most wonderful stage in a new novel's life: the dreaming stage. There are no guarantees in publishing, so I don't know what will happen to either of them, but they are both about girls and longing and identity, which, I guess, is my writerly jam.

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Facing the blank page is very daunting. I prefer revision. I like having a framework, however rough, and a hint at who the characters are and what they want. I like being able to reshape a story, rather than build it word by word from scratch.

 


 

 

 

A Swirl Of Ocean

By: Melissa Sarno

Release Date: August 6th, 2019

 Publisher: Knopf BYR

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Two winners will each receive a copy of A Swirl Of Ocean (Melissa Sarno) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Spotlight on The Athena Protocol (Shamim Sarif), P...
Author Chat with Jennifer Armentrout (The Burning ...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Gray Malin’s menagerie of wild animals for a stay...
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Hattie the magician―she’s a natural performer, and you’re invited...
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When spring arrives, baby animals come out to play with...
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The delightful follow-up to When Dimple Met Rishi and There’s...
The Child of Chaos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is what fantasy fiction should be." --Piers Anthony, New...
Want to Read Rate this book 1 of 5 stars2 of 5 stars3 of 5 stars4 of 5 stars5 of 5 stars Preview Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
“O say can you see” begins one of the most...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
July 20, 1969. It’s a day that has earned a...
Thurgood Marshall
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Thurgood Marshall—the great grandson of a slave—was born, African...
Down Under the Pier
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There’s lots of fun to be had up on the...
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This endearing story of identification and values shows the rewards...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Book three in a hilarious new series featuring one boy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everything starts with a question, like this one: Why do...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Worries, fears, and anxieties are all dragons that sneak up...
The Copycat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A funny, unpredictable, and heartfelt new novel from Wendy McLeod...
DC Super Hero Girls: Powerless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The DC Super Hero Girls learn what it's like to...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."
 
4.0
"NASA and the US space program are a direct result of the increases in aeronautical technology due to World War..."
Thurgood Marshall
 
5.0
"Born in 1908, Thurgood Marshall experienced an array of institutionalized racial injustices in his New York and Baltimore homes, even..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Down Under the Pier
 
4.3
"DOWN UNDER THE PIER is a beautifully illustrated poem about the magic that happens, not only above, but also below..."
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
"LALI'S FEATHER is a delightful and colorful picture book that explores birds and imagination. Lali is playing when she finds..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."
 
5.0
"This book is a winner the moment a reader lays eyes on that cover--and the title. My niece--who is picky..."
 
4.0
"Super Cute Illustrations I wasn't expecting a board book when I first saw this, but as soon as I..."
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Dragons can suddenly show up wherever the characters are and they have to..."
The Girl and the Ghost
 
4.0
"5 Reasons to Read THE GIRL AND THE GHOST 1.) Beautiful prose- This was my first time..."
Brother's Keeper
 
5.0
"BROTHER'S KEEPER is a highly engrossing and heartfelt read about a 12-year-old girl and her dangerous journey from North to..."