Author Chat with Melissa Sarno (A Swirl Of Ocean), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

42927034

 Today we're excited to chat with Melissa Samo author of

A Swirl Of Ocean.

 Read on for more about Melissa her book, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Melissa Sarno!

Melissa Sarno is a freelance writer and editor with an MFA in screenwriting. She writes about middle-grade books for Barnes & Noble's B&N Kids Blog and edits YA and children's book reviews for Cleaver magazine. Just Under the Clouds was her debut novel. Read more about her at melissasarno.com [melissasarno.com]. Follow her on Twitter and Instagram at @melissasarno.

 

 

 WebsiteTwitter * Instagram

 


 

 

Meet A Swirl Of Ocean!

A touching, timeless novel--perfect for fans of Lisa Graff and Lauren Wolk--about a girl who discovers that the ocean is holding secrets she never could have imagined.

Twelve-year-old Summer loves the ocean. The smell, the immensity, the feeling she gets when she dives beneath the surface. She has lived in Barnes Bluff Bay since she was two years old, when Lindy found her on the beach. It's been the two of them ever since. But now, ten years later, Summer feels uncertainty about her place with Lindy and starts to wonder about where she came from. One night, Summer goes for a swim and gets caught in a riptide, swallowing mouthfuls of seawater. And that night, she dreams of a girl. A girl her age living in the same town, but not in the same time. Summer's not persuaded that this girl is real, but something about her feels familiar.

Summer dreams again and again about this girl, Tink, and becomes convinced that she is connected to her past. As she sees Tink struggle with her sister growing away from her and her friends starting to pair off, Summer must come to terms with her own evolving home life and discover how the bonds that make us family can help heal the wounds of the past.

From Melissa Sarno, the author of Just Under the Clouds, comes a new story of discovery, family, and finding where you belong.

 

 

Amazon * B & NIndiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

        

  YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

This book began with a dream I had years ago about a girl and the ocean. It was one of those hazy, blurry dreams I could sense more than see and I had a deep feeling in my gut that it was about a girl who was a part of the ocean and the ocean was a part of her. I didn’t know what that meant or where it would lead but every time I thought about what I would write “next” I thought of that girl. 


Years later I was watching a documentary about the secrets of the ocean and how we can understand and uncover entire histories and civilizations by studying the depths of the ocean floor. It fascinated me that the ocean could “hold” on to a history and I began to wonder what it would be like if we could understand that history in mysterious ways, by making the ocean a part of who we are, too.

My main character, Summer, wants to understand something about her own history. Her own past. And she learns it by capturing ocean water, swallowing it, and dreaming an entire mysterious history that she slowly learns belongs to her.



YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

I love Summer. I love her determination and curiosity. She’s also more outspoken than most characters I’ve written in the past. I wish I were more like her.

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

There’s a scene in the novel where Summer and her best friend, Jeremiah, discover starfish washed up on the shore. Summer is worried about these starfish and starts frantically tossing them back in the ocean, so desperate to make sure they get back to where they need to be. Then she learns that they are where they need to be. They come and go with the tides. This scene came to me, so fully formed, I don’t think I ever changed a word from the first draft.

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

I’m always learning new things as a writer but the most important thing I’ve learned is to give myself the time and space I need to write. That means being patient and respecting the time it takes to tell a good story. It also means carving out time in an already busy schedule to make sure I can read, dream, learn, and grow as an artist. I have to give myself permission to make that investment.  

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love the illustration by Leo Nickolls. The colors and mood convey a lot of mystery and intrigue and it perfectly captures Summer’s search to understand her connection to the ocean. My favorite part of the cover is the turtle with the numbers 47-3.

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

I really loved Real Friends, the graphic novel by Shannon Hale and illustrated by LeUyen Pham, so I can’t wait to read the follow-up, Best Friends, which was just released!

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I just turned over a draft of a new middle grade novel to my agent and I'm now in the most wonderful stage in a new novel's life: the dreaming stage. There are no guarantees in publishing, so I don't know what will happen to either of them, but they are both about girls and longing and identity, which, I guess, is my writerly jam.

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Facing the blank page is very daunting. I prefer revision. I like having a framework, however rough, and a hint at who the characters are and what they want. I like being able to reshape a story, rather than build it word by word from scratch.

 


 

 

 

A Swirl Of Ocean

By: Melissa Sarno

Release Date: August 6th, 2019

 Publisher: Knopf BYR

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Two winners will each receive a copy of A Swirl Of Ocean (Melissa Sarno) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Spotlight on The Athena Protocol (Shamim Sarif), P...
Author Chat with Jennifer Armentrout (The Burning ...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the last days of the twenty-first century, sea creatures...
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if Anna and Elsa never knew each other? ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling Divergent and Carve the Mark author Veronica Roth delivers...
Bernard Pepperlin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The drowsy Dormouse from Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland...
Vicarious
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Paula Stokes weaves together a series of mysteries and the...
The Bookworm Crush
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spinoff of The Replacement Crush featuring Amy and Toff...
The Unexpected Everything
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Andie must learn to embrace the beauty in chaos in...
What I Like About You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can a love triangle have only two people in it?...
The Kinder Poison
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the magical kingdom of Orkena, Zahru has long dreamed...
Scared Little Rabbits
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
We stand in a tight cluster, high above the lake....
Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky (Tristan Strong #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
The Library of Lost Things
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the moment she first learned to read, literary...

Latest Member Reviews

The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LIGHT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE WORLD is a compelling and atmospheric YA fantasy/science fiction. In the future, the..."
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
"If you adored FROZEN, you need to get your hands on this Twisted Tale which reimagines the story if Anna..."
 
4.0
"THE END AND OTHER BEGINNINGS is the latest from DIVERGENT author, Veronica Roth. The novel is comprised of six YA..."
Bernard Pepperlin
 
4.0
"Bernard Pepperlin is the doormouse from Alice in Wonderland. After being forced into a teapot, Bernard climbs out to find..."
The Bookworm Crush
 
5.0
"THE BOOKWORM CRUSH is an absolutely charming romantic comedy with all sorts of booklover homages. Amy McIntyre is @redheadrecs and..."
Scared Little Rabbits
 
3.0
"SCARED LITTLE RABBITS follows Nora (aka Eleanor, Lowercase) as she sets out on a summer camp adventure that resulted in..."
A Constellation of Roses
 
5.0
"A CONSTELLATION OF ROSES is a beautiful story of familial love and healing. Trix has been trying to make her..."
The Squatchicorns: A Delightful Read
 
4.0
"In this chapter book, The Squatchicorns by Ellen Potter, the third book in a series about a friendship between a..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"'Dating My Best Friend' (former title: 'The F Word') by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven delves deeply into themes..."
The Cook and the King
 
4.0
"'The Cook and the King' by Julia Donaldson, illustrated by David Roberts, is a cute story that shows how working..."
Santa Mouse
 
4.5
"SANTA MOUSE is a cute rhyme about a mouse who did not have a name but does have a special..."
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0
"Pawns by Patrick Hodges is the first book in the Wielders of Arantha series. Complex and creative don’t begin to..."
The Reader
 
5.0
"I devoured The Reader by M.K. Harkins. There’s no other way to describe it. I read it in one sitting..."
Silly Lullaby (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
"Boynton is a hit with toddlers, and this is another charming book that makes it easy to see why. SILLY..."
Frankly in Love
 
5.0
"FRANKLY IN LOVE is a surprisingly deep and heartfelt read. Although it is described as a rom-com, this is not..."
American Royals
 
4.7
"What if at the end of America’s Revolutionary War, George Washington was offered a crown and what if he said..."
Nikki Tesla and the Ferret-Proof Death Ray
 
4.5
"Nikki Tesla is an espionage novel for pre-teens. It’s exciting, engaging, and utterly unique. Nikki Tesla is a..."
Take the Mic: Fictional Stories of Everyday Resistance
 
4.0
"This is the type of book I’d like to see included in school curriculums. The stories are like wide open..."
Penny and Her Sled
 
4.5
"PENNY AND HER SLED is a chapter book for early readers that follows a mouse named Penny. Penny has been..."
Twins
 
5.0
"TWINS is an adorably charming picture book that celebrates close friends, siblings, and twins (whether identical or not). A boy..."