Author Chat with Maureen Johnson (The Hand On The Wall), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

45240918

 Today we're excited to chat with Maureen Johnson author of

The Hand On The Wall.

Read on for more about Maureen and her book, plus an giveaway.

 

 

 

 

Meet Maureen Johnson!

      

Maureen Johnson is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of more than a dozen YA novels, including the Truly Devious series, the Shades of London series, Suite Scarlett, and 13 Little Blue Envelopes. Her collaborative books include Ghosts of the Shadow Market (with Cassandra Clare), as well as Let It Snow (with John Green and Lauren Myracle), now a hit feature film on Netflix. She lives in New York City.  

 

 

Website * FacebookTwitter * Instagram

 

 

 

 

Meet The Hand On The Wall!

  

Ellingham Academy must be cursed. Three people are now dead. One, a victim of either a prank gone wrong or a murder. Another, dead by misadventure. And now, an accident in Burlington has claimed another life. All three in the wrong place at the wrong time. All at the exact moment of Stevie’s greatest triumph . . .

She knows who Truly Devious is. She’s solved it. The greatest case of the century.

At least, she thinks she has. With this latest tragedy, it’s hard to concentrate on the past. Not only has someone died in town, but David disappeared of his own free will and is up to something. Stevie is sure that somehow—somehow—all these things connect. The three deaths in the present. The deaths in the past. The missing Alice Ellingham and the missing David Eastman. Somewhere in this place of riddles and puzzles there must be answers.

Then another accident occurs as a massive storm heads toward Vermont. This is too much for the parents and administrators. Ellingham Academy is evacuated. Obviously, it’s time for Stevie to do something stupid. It’s time to stay on the mountain and face the storm—and a murderer.

In the tantalizing finale to the Truly Devious trilogy, New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson expertly tangles her dual narrative threads and ignites an explosive end for all who’ve walked through Ellingham Academy.

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson delivers the witty and pulse-pounding conclusion to the Truly Devious series as Stevie Bell solves the mystery that has haunted Ellingham Academy for over 75 years.
 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound


 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

     

   

  1. What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

The story comes out of my love of mystery and out of some classic crime cases. I wanted to take some of the things I love and have loved about many mystery novels—like the remote mansion as both setting and character, the amateur detective, the analogue clues that you can touch and see. I wanted to make a proper game that readers could play along with.

  1. Who is your favorite character in the book?

It’s part of my job to like them all. I relate quite a lot to Stevie Bell. She is a mystery and true crime obsessive who wants to be a detective. She has anxiety. She is my detective, and I love her. I may also feel quite close to Nate Fisher, the writer who is haunted by the fact that everyone wants him to finish his second book. I’m sure there is no connection here to myself.

  1.       Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel. The title came pretty early in the process, I think, as I was developing the backstory. But the story definitely came first.

  1.       What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I really enjoyed working on the 1930s scenes, in particular in The Hand on the Wall. Some fairly intense stuff happens in those.

  1.       Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

 Confidence. I always was confident in my writing to a point, but I didn’t know how you made that leap into becoming A Writer.  At a certain point, you just step out on to the stage, put your work out there, and say LOOK AT THIS.

  1.       What’s up next for you?

 I am working on another mystery! I’m not sure if I am allowed to say what it is yet, but I should be able to soon!

  

  1.     Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

It really depends on the book. Each book gets written in its own way.

  1.       What would you say is your superpower?

I like every dog. It’s a common superpower, but a very good one.

  1.     Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

Organizations that help with hunger and food insecurity, particularly ones that rescue and distribute good food that would otherwise be wasted, and ones that rescue animals. My mother works for a local kitchen that has no budget and feeds a large group of people. It’s an amazing place. Feed everyone, save every animal you can.



 

 

The Hand On The Wall

By: Maureen Johnson

Release Date: January 20th, 2020

 Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a signed copy of The Hand On The Wall (Maureen Johnson) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

  

  

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

It’s Live!! Cover Reveal and Excerpt: Winter, Whit...
Spotlight on Demon Bound (Chris Cannon), Excerpt, ...

Related Posts

 

Comments 3

Already Registered? Login Here
Brittany Colpitts on Sunday, 16 February 2020 11:01

Gorgeous cover and interesting synopsis!

0
Gorgeous cover and interesting synopsis!
Madeline Tebo on Sunday, 16 February 2020 14:25

I love this series, can't wait to read the final installment!

0
I love this series, can't wait to read the final installment!
Lily M. on Tuesday, 18 February 2020 03:11

I've been curious about this book ?

0
I've been curious about this book ?

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."