Author Chat with Maggie Ann Martin (To Be Honest), Plus Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2018-08-22-at-6.28.40-AM

Today we're excited to chat with Maggie Ann Martin, author of To Be Honest.  Read on for more about Maggie and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

Meet Maggie Ann Martin! 

 
 

Maggie Ann Martin, author of The Big F and To Be Honest, hails from Des Moines, Iowa but moonlights as a New Yorker. She earned her BA in English and Journalism from the University of Iowa, the most welcoming literary community in the world. When she is not writing, you can find her binge-watching TV shows or passionately fangirling over fictional characters on the Internet. 

 
 
Meet To Be Honest!
 

The author of The Big F is back with another snappy, utterly relatable contemporary novel about loving yourself and forging your own path, perfect for fans of Julie Murphy and Rainbow Rowell.

Savannah is dreading being home alone with her overbearing mother after her big sister—and best friend—goes off to college. But if she can just get through senior year, she'll be able to escape to college, too. What she doesn't count on is that her mother's obsession with weight has only grown deeper since her appearance on an extreme weight-loss show, and now Savvy's mom is pressuring her even harder to be constantly mindful of what she eats.

Between her mom's diet-helicoptering, missing her sister, and worrying about her collegiate future, Savvy has enough to worry about. And then she meets George, the cute new kid at school who has insecurities of his own. As Savvy and George grow closer, they help each other discover how to live in the moment and enjoy the here and now before it disappears.

To Be Honest is another sharp, witty novel from Maggie Ann Martin, about a spunky heroine who is dealing with very real issues—body image, parental pressure, loneliness, first love, and finding your way—with heart and humor. 

 
A Chat with Maggie Ann Martin:
 

1. What gave you the inspiration to write To Be Honest?

The inspiration for TO BE HONEST came over many years in many different glimmers. The first glimmer came just after finishing the first season of the British TV drama My Mad Fat Diary. After watching it I went on the hunt for positive plus size representation in TV, movies, and books. When that list came up very short, I knew that I wanted to write a fat-positive character in YA. My second glimmer came when I left for college and was away from my sister for the first time in basically our whole lives. I drew a lot on our relationship and closeness when I wrote my main character, Savannah, and her older sister, Ashley. My third glimmer came in a creative writing class in college when we were doing a basic writing prompt exercise (I wish I could remember what the prompt was!) and a sarcastic, holds-no-punches gal named Savannah came onto the page. I actually ended up creating a whole book proposal for that class that very loosely resembles what became TO BE HONEST.

2. Who is your favorite character in the book?

Savannah is absolutely my favorite character (but her dog, a fluffy poodle monster named Fiyero, is a close second). Savannah holds so many parts of my heart and my own experiences are closely reflected in every struggle, internal battle, and reconciliation to self-acceptance that she goes through.

3. What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I think I’m most proud of the scene where Savannah finally confronts her mom about how her diet monitoring is affecting her. I don’t want to give too much away, but this may or may not be the scene where most of the promotional pull-out quotes come from. : )

4. What do you like most about the cover of the book?

EVERYTHING. The way Savannah is displayed so proudly with each curve on full display brings me endless joy. She’s REAL, she’s fierce, and she’s front and center.

5. What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2018?

I’m really looking forward to Mammoth by Jill Baguchinsky. It features a plus-sized fashion blogger who is also into paleontology. Sign me the heck up.

8. What was your favorite book in 2017?

That’s such a tough one! I think it was definitely a tie between Caraval by Stephanie Garber and Now Is Everything by Amy Giles.

9. Which character gave you the most trouble when writing To Be Honest?

Most definitely Savannah’s mom. I believe she’s the hardest character to tackle, because at her core, she just wants to be loved and accepted like everyone else in the novel. But, she firmly believes that the only way to gain that love and respect is to lose weight. She grew up in a society that taught her that her self worth is tied to her physical appearance, and that is difficult to unlearn.

10. Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

SO many. But, since TO BE HONEST delves into body positivity, below are some links to awesome body positivity organizations and resources.

The Body Positive: https://www.thebodypositive.org/
“Since 1996, The Body Positive has been re-connecting youth and adults to their innate body wisdom for 
more balanced, joyful self-care and a relationship with their whole selves that is guided by love, forgiveness, and humor.”

Virgie Tovar: https://www.virgietovar.com/
“Virgie Tovar is an author, activist and one of the nation's leading experts and lecturers on fat 
discrimination and body image.”

She’s All Fat Podcast: https://shesallfatpod.com/

“The podcast for body positivity, radical self love, and chill vibes only. Join Sophie and April as they talk about current events, popular culture, and the intersection between fatness and feminism.” 

 
 
 
 
 

The Be Honest

By: Maggie Ann Martin

Release Date: August 21, 2018

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a final copy of To Be Honest  (US only). 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Featured Review: Something of Substance by Tia Sou...
Waiting On Wednesday ~ August 22nd, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments 12

Already Registered? Login Here
Karen S. on Wednesday, 19 September 2018 21:06

This book sounds so refreshing, especially for a YA!

0
This book sounds so refreshing, especially for a YA!
Penny Olson on Thursday, 20 September 2018 20:23

I like the model on the cover. The story sounds real and relevant.

0
I like the model on the cover. The story sounds real and relevant.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a family car gets a flat on the way...
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In cut-paper artist Nikki McClure’s latest picture book, a kitten...
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Esme’s life changes when she discovers dinosaur bones on...
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join these happy pumpkins in a cheerful rhyming countdown, in...
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Set on the shores of Lake Superior, Wreck follows high...
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Benji and Red couldn't be more different. They aren't friends....
Wintercake
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This cozy, gently humorous, and irresistible holiday tale from Newbery...
Roar Like a Dandelion
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Ruth Krauss, the celebrated children’s book author of The...
The Bear and the Star
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
In this universal celebration of community and love, Bear gathers...
I Do Not Like That Name
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This funny picture book about friendship, family, identity, and why...

Latest Member Reviews

Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
"FIVE LITTLE PUMPKINS ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT is a cute board book that celebrates Halloween with a counting of pumpkins! In..."
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
"WRECK is a heart-wrenching story about a teenage girl on the brink of college as she discovers her father's life-altering..."
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
"THE MADMAN OF PINEY WOODS follows two young boys in Canada as their lives are changing and intersecting. Benji Alston..."
Wintercake
 
4.0
"WINTERCAKE is a lovely picture book that celebrates friendship and the holiday spirit. Thomas is about to make a wintercake..."
Roar Like a Dandelion
 
4.0
"A unique alphabet book, ROAR LIKE A DANDELION is filled with instructional that are sure to spark some giggles. Each..."
The Bear and the Star
 
4.5
"THE BEAR AND THE STAR is an elegant, Christmas-style book. Bear knows that it is time and so he finds..."
I Do Not Like That Name
 
4.0
"I DO NOT LIKE THAT NAME features a girl, Sophie, and her rabbit, Herb, as they order an elephant from..."
The Love Letter
 
5.0
"Lovely, endearing, and heartfelt, THE LOVE LETTER demonstrates the power of telling someone how much you care. Hedgehog, Bunny, and..."
The Wobbly Waitress
 
3.5
"THE WOBBLY WAITRESS is a silly read that will make young children giggle. Mabel is a giraffe waitress at the..."