Author Chat with Maggie Ann Martin (To Be Honest), Plus Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2018-08-22-at-6.28.40-AM

Today we're excited to chat with Maggie Ann Martin, author of To Be Honest.  Read on for more about Maggie and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

Meet Maggie Ann Martin! 

 
 

Maggie Ann Martin, author of The Big F and To Be Honest, hails from Des Moines, Iowa but moonlights as a New Yorker. She earned her BA in English and Journalism from the University of Iowa, the most welcoming literary community in the world. When she is not writing, you can find her binge-watching TV shows or passionately fangirling over fictional characters on the Internet. 

 
 
Meet To Be Honest!
 

The author of The Big F is back with another snappy, utterly relatable contemporary novel about loving yourself and forging your own path, perfect for fans of Julie Murphy and Rainbow Rowell.

Savannah is dreading being home alone with her overbearing mother after her big sister—and best friend—goes off to college. But if she can just get through senior year, she'll be able to escape to college, too. What she doesn't count on is that her mother's obsession with weight has only grown deeper since her appearance on an extreme weight-loss show, and now Savvy's mom is pressuring her even harder to be constantly mindful of what she eats.

Between her mom's diet-helicoptering, missing her sister, and worrying about her collegiate future, Savvy has enough to worry about. And then she meets George, the cute new kid at school who has insecurities of his own. As Savvy and George grow closer, they help each other discover how to live in the moment and enjoy the here and now before it disappears.

To Be Honest is another sharp, witty novel from Maggie Ann Martin, about a spunky heroine who is dealing with very real issues—body image, parental pressure, loneliness, first love, and finding your way—with heart and humor. 

 
A Chat with Maggie Ann Martin:
 

1. What gave you the inspiration to write To Be Honest?

The inspiration for TO BE HONEST came over many years in many different glimmers. The first glimmer came just after finishing the first season of the British TV drama My Mad Fat Diary. After watching it I went on the hunt for positive plus size representation in TV, movies, and books. When that list came up very short, I knew that I wanted to write a fat-positive character in YA. My second glimmer came when I left for college and was away from my sister for the first time in basically our whole lives. I drew a lot on our relationship and closeness when I wrote my main character, Savannah, and her older sister, Ashley. My third glimmer came in a creative writing class in college when we were doing a basic writing prompt exercise (I wish I could remember what the prompt was!) and a sarcastic, holds-no-punches gal named Savannah came onto the page. I actually ended up creating a whole book proposal for that class that very loosely resembles what became TO BE HONEST.

2. Who is your favorite character in the book?

Savannah is absolutely my favorite character (but her dog, a fluffy poodle monster named Fiyero, is a close second). Savannah holds so many parts of my heart and my own experiences are closely reflected in every struggle, internal battle, and reconciliation to self-acceptance that she goes through.

3. What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I think I’m most proud of the scene where Savannah finally confronts her mom about how her diet monitoring is affecting her. I don’t want to give too much away, but this may or may not be the scene where most of the promotional pull-out quotes come from. : )

4. What do you like most about the cover of the book?

EVERYTHING. The way Savannah is displayed so proudly with each curve on full display brings me endless joy. She’s REAL, she’s fierce, and she’s front and center.

5. What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2018?

I’m really looking forward to Mammoth by Jill Baguchinsky. It features a plus-sized fashion blogger who is also into paleontology. Sign me the heck up.

8. What was your favorite book in 2017?

That’s such a tough one! I think it was definitely a tie between Caraval by Stephanie Garber and Now Is Everything by Amy Giles.

9. Which character gave you the most trouble when writing To Be Honest?

Most definitely Savannah’s mom. I believe she’s the hardest character to tackle, because at her core, she just wants to be loved and accepted like everyone else in the novel. But, she firmly believes that the only way to gain that love and respect is to lose weight. She grew up in a society that taught her that her self worth is tied to her physical appearance, and that is difficult to unlearn.

10. Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

SO many. But, since TO BE HONEST delves into body positivity, below are some links to awesome body positivity organizations and resources.

The Body Positive: https://www.thebodypositive.org/
“Since 1996, The Body Positive has been re-connecting youth and adults to their innate body wisdom for 
more balanced, joyful self-care and a relationship with their whole selves that is guided by love, forgiveness, and humor.”

Virgie Tovar: https://www.virgietovar.com/
“Virgie Tovar is an author, activist and one of the nation's leading experts and lecturers on fat 
discrimination and body image.”

She’s All Fat Podcast: https://shesallfatpod.com/

“The podcast for body positivity, radical self love, and chill vibes only. Join Sophie and April as they talk about current events, popular culture, and the intersection between fatness and feminism.” 

 
 
 
 
 

The Be Honest

By: Maggie Ann Martin

Release Date: August 21, 2018

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a final copy of To Be Honest  (US only). 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Featured Review: Something of Substance by Tia Sou...
Waiting On Wednesday ~ August 22nd, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments 12

Already Registered? Login Here
Kara S on Thursday, 23 August 2018 01:27

I like the boldness of celebrating a plus size body in and of itself on the cover; the synopsis convinces me this will be a compelling coming of age story!

0
I like the boldness of celebrating a plus size body in and of itself on the cover; the synopsis convinces me this will be a compelling coming of age story!
Marisa Fort on Monday, 27 August 2018 15:41

LOVE the cover! The synopsis sounds so good, can't wait to read!

0
LOVE the cover! The synopsis sounds so good, can't wait to read!
Janell Goode on Monday, 03 September 2018 15:23

love the cover and the synopsis

0
love the cover and the synopsis
Noma A. on Wednesday, 05 September 2018 16:56

The cover looks great and the synopsis sounds good! I'm definitely excited to read this!

0
The cover looks great and the synopsis sounds good! I'm definitely excited to read this!
Davianna Nieto on Tuesday, 11 September 2018 04:47

I love that the cover features a curvy girl like me and the synopsis looks promising

0
I love that the cover features a curvy girl like me and the synopsis looks promising:)
Candice Gigous on Tuesday, 11 September 2018 05:43

The cover is colorful and I like the title font. The synopsis is very interesting. Sounds like a great read.

0
The cover is colorful and I like the title font. The synopsis is very interesting. Sounds like a great read.
Debra Branigan on Tuesday, 11 September 2018 14:13

I am glad the girl on the colorful cover portrays the character on the inside. The synopsis was interesting and I hope the character overcomes all doubts.

0
I am glad the girl on the colorful cover portrays the character on the inside. The synopsis was interesting and I hope the character overcomes all doubts.
necole on Sunday, 16 September 2018 08:37

I love the cover … It portrays a normal healthy female .. The colors pop .. I love the synopsis because well it is reality now a days unfortunately, and am intrigued with how the story plays out! Also looking forward to the laughs it will bring.

0
I love the cover … It portrays a normal healthy female .. The colors pop .. I love the synopsis because well it is reality now a days unfortunately, and am intrigued with how the story plays out! Also looking forward to the laughs it will bring.
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 16 September 2018 19:00

I love the cover and it fits well with this emotional synopsis.

0
I love the cover and it fits well with this emotional synopsis.
Andrea Carroll on Sunday, 16 September 2018 21:44

My YA girls are going to devour this book, like they did Dumplin'. Any book with real life characters and situations is a hit!

0
My YA girls are going to devour this book, like they did Dumplin'. Any book with real life characters and situations is a hit!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet thirteen-year-old Agatha Oddly – a bold, determined heroine, and...
Skipping Forward
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
What if you could skip forward in time, but...
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson delivers the...
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A heartbroken teen, with the help of her best...
Golden Chains
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Never fall in love with the enemy. If only...
Wardens of Eternity
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic and magical creatures. Immortal gods and goddesses. History...
Tweet Cute
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Pepper, swim team captain, chronic overachiever, and all-around...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fifteen-year-old JL Markham's life used to be filled with carnival...
The Lost Legends
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All her life, Princess Adalina heard tales of the legendary,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a series of interwoven fictionalized stories, Deborah Noyes gives...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this thrilling...
Birthday
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Boyhood meets The Sun Is Also a Star in this...

Latest Member Reviews

The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
Julie Winsome M.D., Medical Detective Science Fiction Mysteries, Volume # 1
 
4.7
"Always fun to follow along with Dr. Julie Winsome Medical Detective! Great stories and I love the writing style..."
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
"FINDING MR. BETTER-THAN-YOU starts off like a cheesy romantic comedy, but ends up being a lot more fulfilling light-hearted YA..."
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
"FREAKY IN FRESNO is a spin on the old novel, FREAKY FRIDAY. Ricki (nickname for Lyric) had a falling out..."
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
"ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."
Ink in the Blood (Ink in the Blood Duology #1)
 
4.3
"INK IN THE BLOOD is an engaging and atmospheric YA fantasy. Celia Sand was delighted when she was chosen to..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."