Author Chat with Liz Kessler (Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island), Plus Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2018-03-22-at-9.47.44-AM

Today we're excited to chat with Liz Kessler, author of Emily Windsnap and the Fall of Forgotten Island. Read on for more about Liz and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

Meet Liz Kessler!

 
 

Liz Kessler is the author of the New York Times best-selling Emily Windsnap series as well as three adventures about Philippa Fisher and her fairy godsister. She is also the author of the middle-grade novels A Year Without AutumnNorth of Nowhere, and Has Anyone Seen Jessica Jenkins? Liz Kessler lives in England.

 
 
 
Meet Emily Windsnap and the Fall of Forgotten Island!
 
 

Emily is headed to a tropical island for a relaxing vacation with friends and family. And this time, Emily promises her best friend, Shona, there will be absolutely no adventure — just plenty of fun. But somehow excitement always seems to find Emily, and before she knows it, she ends up on the other side of a powerful waterfall on a forgotten island no one else can get to. Well, no one that isn’t a half-mer like Emily and her boyfriend, Aaron. The people who live on the island believe in a prophecy that foretells how they can be saved from an imminent, devastating earthquake — and this prophecy seems to revolve around Emily and Aaron, as well as a mysterious, mythic giant. Will they be able to find the giant — and fulfill the prophecy — before it’s too late?

While on vacation, Emily Windsnap finds herself swept up in an ancient prophecy as the New York Times best-selling series continues.

 

A Chat with Liz Kessler:

 

1.) What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I was doing a book tour in the US and Canada in 2015. I had a day off before doing events in Toronto and I went to visit Niagara Falls. I was completely awe-struck by the beauty and power of the place and I knew immediately that this was going to be the inspiration for Emily's next adventure.

 

2.) Who is your favorite character in the book?

Oh, I think it always has to be Emily. She takes me to places I never would have been without her, and makes me feel brave and adventurous!

 

3.) Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel.

 

4.) What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I think it has to be the scene at the very end, when there is a big goodbye as someone returns to nature. A scene like this had been in my mind for years, and I was glad to have it finally realised in a book.

 

5.) Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

To trust the process.

 

6.) What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love the title font!

 

7.) What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2018?

Oh gosh, this one is hard to pick as I have lots of friends who have books out this year. Too many to mention!

 

8.) What was your favorite book in 2017?

I was blown away by The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas

 

9.) What’s up next for you?

Well, it's still a bit of a secret, but there might be a new Emily Windsnap adventure on the way...

10.) Is there anything that you would like to add?

I'm not allowed yet! (If you mean in relation to the last question.)

 

11.) Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

Most emotional one was the one I mentioned above. I cried while I was writing it!

 

12.) Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

The giant. I knew I wanted him in the book, but it took me a long time to understand exactly who he was and how he fitted in.

 

13.) Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

They are both difficult and both enjoyable in different ways!

 

14.) What would you say is your superpower?

Um. I don't think I have one! I'd love to time travel if I had the choice though!

 

15.) Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

There are quite a few actually. For the last few years, I have supported a local charity that runs a hospice for children with life limiting illnesses. But also close to my heart are any organisations who work to help others in any way, and to do exactly what happens in this book - help build bridges between communities and foster peace and harmony.

 
 
 
 
 
 

Emily Windsnap and the Fall of the Forgotten Island

By: Alexandra Christo

Release Date: March 20, 2018

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 
Three winners will receive a copy of Emily Windsnap and the Fall of the Forgotten Island (US & Canada only).
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Giveaway: EMERGENCY CONTACT (US Only)
Featured Review: Stage Kiss by M.F. Lorson

Related Posts

 

Comments 8

Already Registered? Login Here
Dianna G. on Thursday, 22 March 2018 23:27

I'm so thrilled there's a new Emily Windsnap title! My daughter loved this series SO MUCH when she was entering 5th grade, and many of my students enjoy it, too. This cover is very eye catching. The colors stand out, and I like how the designs sort of frame the title.

0
I'm so thrilled there's a new Emily Windsnap title! My daughter loved this series SO MUCH when she was entering 5th grade, and many of my students enjoy it, too. This cover is very eye catching. The colors stand out, and I like how the designs sort of frame the title.
John on Saturday, 24 March 2018 22:25

The cover is very original and I liked learning about the book!

0
The cover is very original and I liked learning about the book!
Davianna Nieto on Wednesday, 28 March 2018 21:05

That cover is absolutely stunning and the synopsis has me excited to continue the emily windsnap series!

0
That cover is absolutely stunning and the synopsis has me excited to continue the emily windsnap series!:D
Sharon C on Friday, 30 March 2018 07:54

The cover of the book is original and eye-catching. I like the synopsis of the book since it is about adventure and an interesting location. I think my granddaughters would enjoy the story.

0
The cover of the book is original and eye-catching. I like the synopsis of the book since it is about adventure and an interesting location. I think my granddaughters would enjoy the story.
Marisa Fort on Saturday, 31 March 2018 19:33

The cover is beautiful, I love the colors! The synopsis sounds amazing!

0
The cover is beautiful, I love the colors! The synopsis sounds amazing!
Dan Denman on Thursday, 19 April 2018 10:40

The book cover is colorful and fun. This sounds like a magical adventure for Emily.

0
The book cover is colorful and fun. This sounds like a magical adventure for Emily.
Danielle Hammelef on Friday, 20 April 2018 19:24

The cover is so fun! The synopsis sounds unique and suspenseful.

0
The cover is so fun! The synopsis sounds unique and suspenseful.
Penny Olson on Friday, 20 April 2018 22:12

The cover is beautiful and the whole series sounds adventurous and magical.

0
The cover is beautiful and the whole series sounds adventurous and magical.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Twin
 
3.7
"When Ivy and Iris were ten, their parents divorced. Ivy lived with their father and Iris with their mother. Then..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."