Author Chat with Leslie Landis (Chendell: A Natural Warrior)!

44003490

 Today we're excited to chat with Leslie Landis author of Chendell: A Natural Warrior.

 Read on for more about Leslie and an interview!

 

 

 

 

Meet Leslie Landis!

Leslie Landis

Leslie Landis has done many different things. She has been a teacher, a financial planner, a bank trust officer, worked for a U.S. Senator, and was an associate director in television. Then she went back to school to earn a master’s degree in psychology, and became a licensed Marriage and Family Therapist. Her first book was a humorous take on our food and diet obsessed culture titled The Art of Overeating: A Bellyful of Laughs About Our Food-phobic Culture, which was published by Sterling, a division of Barnes & Noble in 2009. Leslie lives with her husband in Los Angeles. CHENDELL: A Natural Warrior is her first novel.

 

 Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

 

 

Meet Chendell: A Natural Warrior!

CHENDELL A Natural Warrior - A Natural Warrior is the first book in the CHENDELL series. It follows the lives of Jamie Chen and Robin Dell. Two people from different worlds. But they are more alike than they realize. They each have abilities to communicate with and direct the natural world. They are perfect for each other. Maybe too perfect. They believe their lives are mapped out until fate gives them a fantastic adventure and a transformative mission. Using heightened powers they fight the forces behind ecocide to save the Earth. One battle at a time. Finally, nature has a hero.

 

 

 Purchase From Amazon!! 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

   

   

  YABC:  What gave you inspiration to write this book?

I became aware that the "superhero" genre is having it's moment. And actually, I'm not into the superhero stories that are commonly told. The man - and occasionally a woman - who discovers powers of super strength and/or other unnatural abilities. Then fights an evil person or force trying to take over or destroy the world. The repetitiveness of this theme made me want to come up with something different. Something unique. And since I believe that a superhero represents our best hope to solve our worst fear, I wanted to address my worst fear - the real life problem of climate destruction.
 
 
 
 
YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?
 
I honestly like my two protagonists - Robin Dell and Jamie Chen - equally. Both have a little bit of me in them but they are also very different from me.
 
 
 
 
YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?
 
I always knew the title was going to be a combination of the Jamie Chen and Robin Dell's names - CHENDELL. But it wasn't until I finished writing the book that I came up with the subtitle: A Natural Warrior.
 
 
 
 
YABC:  What scene from  the book are you most proud of, and why?
 
I am most proud of the action scene in the Peruvian rainforest. It was the most challenging for me but also the most fun. I had to come up with inventive ways for CHENDELL to use the natural world to overcome the illegal loggers and save the trees.
 
 
 
 
 
YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what's the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?
 
A writer has to find their voice. It's an old saying but it is true. My first attempt at writing the story in my head didn't go well. I was stuck on writing it in the style of most every book I have ever read. Then I decided to try writing in first person narrative. And from there, my writing just flowed. I could envision my characters better and it allowed me to let them speak for themselves.
 
 
 
 
 
YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?
 
A face always grabs my attention. And this face - with one black-colored eye and one green eye - definitely stands out. Also, I like that the face is androgynous. Some people see a man and some see a woman. I too can see it either way.
 
 
 
YABC:  What's up next for you?
 
I am already working on the second book in the CHENDELL series: Double Trouble. There is more conflict between Robin and Jamie, a rise of an unexpected evil character and lots more action.
 
 
 
 
YABC:  Is there anything that you would like to add?
 
While CHENDELL: A Natural Warrior has an environmental theme, it is a positive and fun read with humor and even a little romance.
 
 
 
 
YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?
 
The scenes that described personal loss or problems were difficult. Such as when Jamie's father died, how Robin's mother dealt with her disease and how Robin's talked about her friend Julie's limitations. I wanted to portray these situations with honesty but still with a positive message.
 
 
 
YABC:  Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?
 
Casey Dee Roy, the CEO of TransFormancy, the company that Robin and Jamie work for. I need to make his background fit with the person he became and is today.
 
 
 
YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?
 
Definitely drafting. That's when it was all imagination. Revising is where I had to make it more better and more real. And I never expected to have to do so many revisions. Also, I found that just as some artists don't know when their painting is finished, I had trouble knowing when to stop revising. 
 
 
 
 
YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?
 
My imagination.
 
 
 
 
YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?
 
I belong to and contribute to a lot of environmental organizations - the Sierra Club, The Nature Conservancy, The Center for Biological Diversity, Audubon, Environmental Defense Fund, Ocean Conservancy, Earthjustice - and more! But the ones closest to my heart are those involved in saving animals and wildlife - World Wildlife Fund, Defenders of Wildlife, The Humane Society, National Wildlife Federation, The Marine Mammal Center, The Center for Biological Diversity, ASPCA. And that's not a complete list! I write a lot of checks often but when I read of their successes, I know it is not all bad news out there and my money is making a difference. 

 

 

 

Chendell: A Natural Warrior

By: Leslie Landis

Publisher: Waldo LLC

Release Date: February 16th, 2019

 

 

Author Chat with Nioucha Homayoonfar (Taking Cover...
Featured Review: 364 Days A Year (Sarah Riad)

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
"A compilation of excerpts from fifteen noteworthy speeches, selected from across American history. The chosen pieces represent great variety,..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."