Author Chat with Laurie Wallmark

Author Chat with Laurie Wallmark

 

Contributed by Angela Blount

 

Greetings, YABC! Today we’re delighted to welcome Laurie Wallmark, author of Ada Byron Lovelace and the Thinking Machine Her book presents a beautifully illustrated way of learning about the woman who is widely regarded as the founding mother of modern computer programming. Laurie was kind enough to answer a few questions I had about her new release!--Angela Blount

 

 

First we'd like to introduce you to this literary duo! 

 

 

Meet Laurie.

b2ap3_thumbnail_Wallmark.jpg

LAURIE WALLMARK writes in many different genres from picture books to middle grade novels, poetry and nonfiction. Like Ada, she had a fulfilling career in software engineering and hopes that stories of extraordinary women in science and technology will help girls embrace the possibilities of these fields.

 

 

 

Now meet Laurie's book. 

Ada Lovelace, the daughter of the famous romantic poet, Lord Byron, develops her creativity through science and math. When she meets Charles Babbage, the inventor of the first mechanical computer, Ada understands the machine better than anyone else and writes the world’s first computer program in order to demonstrate its capabilities. This spellbinding illustrated biography introduces children to the possibilities of science and technology at a young age. Over a hundred years before the invention of the electronic computer, when women had very few options outside the home, Ada followed her aspirations and became the world’s first computer programmer. The story serves as an inspiration for children, especially girls, to be fearless in pursuing their passions.

 

 

With introductions in order, it's time to CHAT! 

 

 

Anegla Blount: How did you come to take an interest in the real­life story of Ada Byron Lovelace?

 

 

Laurie Wallmark: I teach computer science, so writing a story about the world’s first computer programmer was a natural. Also, I feel that women in STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math) are woefully underrepresented in books for young children. Ada Byron Lovelace and the Thinking Machine will help remedy that situation.

 

 

AB: You’ve previously published a number of stories in children’s magazines such as Highlights and Cricket. How much does your creative process differ in writing a full book?

 

 

LW: Though picture books and magazine stories/articles both have a similar limited word count, they are very different. In a picture book, the writer has the luxury of knowing an illustrator will be carrying part of the story. This allows the writer to craft a more in­ depth story. The creative process for both is similar though: (1) come up with a general idea of what you want to write about; (2) refine and research that idea until you find a good focus for your story or article; (3) write your story; (4) revise your story; and, (5) repeat steps 3­4, and often step 2, over and over and over again.

 

 

AB: This book is beautifully illustrated. How do you feel the illustrator (April Chu) has enhanced your storytelling?

 

 

LW: I am so lucky to have April as my illustrator. Not only are her illustrators gorgeous, but they bring details to each scene that aren’t in the text. For example, the spread where Ada is working on her program shows a diagram of the Analytical Engine.

 

 

AB: What were a few books that had a strong impact on you as a child?

 

 

LW: This is a question that people love to ask, and I hate to answer. I read so many books that it’s impossible to single out only a few. (I don’t like to play favorites.) As a child, I read mostly science­fiction. In fact, a lot of my knowledge of STEM came from my voracious reading of SF authors like Isaac Asimov, Arthur C. Clarke, and Robert Heinlein. But I also enjoyed nonfiction. I think I checked out every popular mathematics book our public library had to offer.

 

 

AB: Do you have plans to continue writing non­fiction children’s books? If so, who can readers look forward to as your next biographical subject?

 

 

LW: I write both fiction and non­fiction, poetry and prose, picture books and novels. In the future, I certainly plan to include more biographies of strong, smart women in STEM.

 

 

 

 

A big thanks to both Laurie Wallmark and Angela Blount for this enlightening interview! Now read on for the latest giveaway below!

 

 

 

 

 

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Ada-Lovelace.jpg

 

 

Ada Byron Lovelace and the Thinking Machine

  1. By: Laurie Wallmark

  2. Release Date: October 13, 2015 

  3.  

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

 

One winner will receive a  copy of Ada Byron Lovelace and the Thinking Machine, open to US only.

 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_angela-blount.jpg

Angela N. Blount is a Minnesota native, transplanted to the deep South–where she currently resides with her understanding husband, their two children, and a set of identity-confused cats. She is a staff book reviewer for Young Adult Books Central, an underwriter for LitPick, a memoirist, sporadic poet, and webcomic artist. In her spare time, Angela enjoys painting, reading, coffee shop loitering, questionable attempts at horticulture, and all things geeky.

 

Sneak Peek at Fathomless by Anne M. Pillsworth + G...
MORE Spooktacular Stories up for Grabs! (US Only)

Related Posts

 

Comments 1

Already Registered? Login Here
Guest - Alice Hollinbeck on Monday, 09 November 2015 20:35

Have been hearing a lot about this book and hope I can get to it soon.

0
Have been hearing a lot about this book and hope I can get to it soon.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Dating Makes Perfect
 
5.0
"DATING MAKES PERFECT is a beautifully written YA contemporary romance that had me grinning from ear-to-ear. Winnie has two older..."
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."