TheLightBetweenWorlds_hc_c

 Today we're excited to chat with Laura E Weymouth author of The Light Between Worlds.

 Read on for more about Laura and her book, an interview, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Laura Weymouth!

Laura Weymouth is a Canadian living in exile in America, and the sixth consecutive generation of her family to immigrate from one country to another. Born and raised in the Niagara region of Ontario, she now lives at the edge of the woods in western New York, along with her husband, two wild-hearted daughters, a spoiled cat, and an indeterminate number of chickens. Visit her at www.lauraeweymouth.com [lauraeweymouth.com].

 

 Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

 

Meet The Light Between Worlds!

What happens when you return to the real world after being in a fantastical one like Narnia? This YA debut by Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of Melissa Albert’s The Hazel Wood and Lev Grossman’s The Magicians.

Six years ago, sisters Evelyn and Philippa Hapwell were swept away to a strange and beautiful kingdom called the Woodlands, where they lived for years. But ever since they returned to their lives in post-WWII England, they have struggled to adjust.

Ev desperately wants to return to the Woodlands, and Philippa just wants to move on. When Ev goes missing, Philippa must confront the depth of her sister’s despair and the painful truths they’ve been running from. As the weeks unfold, Philippa wonders if Ev truly did find a way home, or if the weight of their worlds pulled her under.

Walking the line between where fantasy and reality meet, this lyrical and magical novel is, above all else, an exploration of loss and healing, and what it means to find where you belong.

 

 

 

 Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

 

     YABC:   What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I've always wanted to read a book about what happens *after* the adventure in a YA novel. And then I serendipitously saw a tweet in which a publishing professional was looking for a book about Susan Pevensie after the Narnia series. I couldn't stop thinking about that idea, and finally decided I wanted to write a story about a family similar to the Pevensies, caught in parallel circumstances and struggling to cope in a way the Pevensie children never seem to.

   

 

YABC:     Who is your favorite character in the book?

I know Tom tends to be a fan favorite, but I really love Jack Summerfield, who appears in the second half of the book. He's very perceptive and has a quiet sort of self-confidence, which Philippa needs in the people around her, because she can be a little bull-headed.

    

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

My books always come first, I'm AWFUL with titles and they end up changing at least half a dozen times anyway!

    

 

  YABC:   What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

Okay, I'm going to phrase this as vaguely as possible to avoid spoilers, but there's a scene in which Jamie and Philippa are taken somewhere by Scotland Yard and that's the one I'm most proud of because it was just miserable to write. But I think it ended up being really effective and is a point in the book that always gets a very strong emotional response.

    

 

YABC:  Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

With The Light Between Worlds it was Evelyn by a landslide. Her mood swings and that particular headspace of being stuck on something and completely incapable of letting go was really hard to inhabit. I had to lock myself in my office at night to do a lot of her scenes, so I wouldn't be totally wretched to my family if they interrupted.

     

 

YABC:   What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

I mean, I can't choose just one!!!! But I'm most excited for ECHO NORTH by Joanna Meyer, THE BEHOLDER by Anna Bright, THE LIGHT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE WORLD by London Shah, SORCERY OF THORNS by Margaret Rogerson, and NATALIE TAN'S BOOK OF LUCK AND FORTUNE by Roselle Lim

   

 

YABC:    What was your favorite book in 2018?

MEM by Bethany Morrow was my favorite by a landslide. It's such a quiet, elegant, incisively brilliant little book. I had to work to keep up with every page, and recommend it to everyone--though it's billed as an adult novel, it can definitely cross under for the upper YA crowd. 

     

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

My sophomore novel, A TREASON OF THORNS, releases in Fall 2019! It's already up on Goodreads (you can add it here: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/41716322-a-treason-of-thorns [goodreads.com]) and is set in an alternate-history England where the health and prosperity of the land is tied to the well-being of five sentient magical Great Houses. Our heroine, Violet Sterling, has a family connection to one Great House in particular, and is given the task of serving as its Caretaker. But in the course of performing her duty, she discovers her House is slowly dying, and is forced to decide which she'll put first--the good of the countryside, or the good of her beloved House. Think Downton Abbey meets Beauty and the Beast!

     

 

YABC: Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

It used to be revising, but now that I spend the majority of my time in revisions, I love how illicit drafting feels. It's just me and the story, no one knows about us, and I can do whatever I want without fear of being edited. At least until I've got to hand that first draft in ????

    

 

YABC:   Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

Yes! Whenever possible I personally support and gently suggest that others who are able to support UNHCR, which is the branch of the United Nations that aids refugees and displaced peoples. They do incredible work around the world and are there on the ground in the midst of some really terrible, heart-breaking situations. Their website is www.unhcr.org [unhcr.org], if you'd like to give it a look.

 

 

    

 

The Light Between Worlds

By: Laura E Weymouth

Publisher: Harper Teen

Release Date: October 23rd, 2018

 

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a copy of The Light Between Worlds (Laura E Weymouth) ~ (US Only) 

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway