Author Chat with L.B. Schulman (Stolen Secrets), Plus Giveaway!

stolen-secrets

Today we're excited to chat with L.B. Schulman, author of Stolen SecretsRead on for more about L.B. and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

Meet L.B. Schulman!

 
 
 

L.B. Schulman writes middle-grade and young adult books. She grew up in Annapolis, Maryland and now lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband, two teen daughters, and a pair of lovable mutts. Her debut novel, LEAGUE OF STRAYS (Abrams, 2012), is about the ways we handle bullying. You can visit her online
at
LBSchulman.com

 
 
Meet Stolen Secrets!
 
 
 After an abrupt move across the country to San Francisco, sixteen-year-old Livvy is shocked to find that her mother has lied to her. Instead of looking for work at a bakery, her mom is taking care of Adelle, Livvy’s grandmother, who Livvy thought was long dead. Suffering from Alzheimer’s, Adelle shouts out startling details, mistakes her own name, and seems to relive moments that may have taken place in a concentration camp. When Livvy and her new friend Franklin D. find journal entries from the Holocaust in Adelle’s home, Livvy begins to suspect that her grandmother may have a shocking link to a notable figure -- Anne Frank. 
 
 
 
A Chat with L.B. Schulman:

1. What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I was listening to NPR in my car and I heard an interview from a Holocaust survivor. I started to think about how soon, there wouldn’t be any firsthand witnesses to the Holocaust alive anymore. That was one part of my inspiration. The second part happened when I saw an age-progressed photo of Anne Frank that showed how she would look today, if she had lived. I brought the two parts together in a contemporary and historical mystery.

2. Who is your favorite character in the book?

Franklin D., definitely. He is warm, funny, goofy, eccentric and different than many male characters. He loves people who are unique. I think we could all benefit from a friend like him.

3. Which came first, the title or the novel?

The title. I can’t seem to write without a title and an outline. That’s the Virgo in me.

4. What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

My favorite scene comes at the end so I can’t be specific, but every time I read it, I cry. This crying bit is new to me, and I think it’s a good sign. I am very proud of my tears.

5. Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Stop seeking and listening to “writing rules.” To sell a book today, you need an interesting angle or idea or presentation. This involves “thinking outside the box” with your writing.

6. What do you like most about the cover of the book?

It’s an eye-catching color scheme, but specifically, the beautiful bird resting on barbed wire captures what’s inside the pages.

7. What’s up next for you?

I am working on a screenplay based on Stolen Secrets. Then I have a picture book to write that won’t let go of me. After that, for NANOWRIMO, I want to continue with a contemporary YA project about how an Italian exchange student changes a family’s perspective on honoring, calculating, and taking risks in life.

8. Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

The grandmother. She has Alzheimer’s and it was very hard to have her communicate through the haze of a devastating disease.

9. What would you say is your superpower?

My books seem to have a strange psychic link to what’s going on in the world. League of Strays, my debut, came out at the height of the bullying discussion. Stolen Secrets examines people who change history with mistruths. Needless to say, that seems to be a prescient topic right now. 

 
 
 

Stolen Secrets

By: L.B. Schulman

Release Date: September 19, 2017

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Two winners will receive a signed copy of Stolen Secrets. (International). 
   
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Bookstagrammer of the Month: Bridget of @darkfaeri...
Waiting On Wednesday ~ September 20th, 2017

Related Posts

 

Comments 6

Already Registered? Login Here
Dianna G. on Wednesday, 20 September 2017 20:03

I love the idea of this book, but wish that the summary didn't give so much away. The cover doesn't match, in my opinion.

0
I love the idea of this book, but wish that the summary didn't give so much away. The cover doesn't match, in my opinion.
Sandy S on Thursday, 12 October 2017 19:13

A novel with a link to the Holocaust - this looks fantastic! Great simple and bright cover.

0
A novel with a link to the Holocaust - this looks fantastic! Great simple and bright cover.
Danielle Hammelef on Tuesday, 17 October 2017 15:36

I'm not sure how the cover matches the synopsis, but I'll have to read this exciting book to find out. I also wish that the synopsis wasn't so detailed.

0
I'm not sure how the cover matches the synopsis, but I'll have to read this exciting book to find out. I also wish that the synopsis wasn't so detailed.
Kelly G on Thursday, 19 October 2017 12:17

I think this sounds like a great book, but maybe the cover could be a little different so it matches the synopsis? The synopsis also gives away a bit much, I think.

0
I think this sounds like a great book, but maybe the cover could be a little different so it matches the synopsis? The synopsis also gives away a bit much, I think.
Penny Olson on Friday, 20 October 2017 00:37

The cover is beautiful and the premise sounds really interesting.

0
The cover is beautiful and the premise sounds really interesting.
Courtney Gendreau on Friday, 20 October 2017 21:43

It has a beautiful cover, and sounds like a great read

0
It has a beautiful cover, and sounds like a great read

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."