Author Chat with L.B. Schulman (Stolen Secrets), Plus Giveaway!

stolen-secrets

Today we're excited to chat with L.B. Schulman, author of Stolen SecretsRead on for more about L.B. and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

Meet L.B. Schulman!

 
 
 

L.B. Schulman writes middle-grade and young adult books. She grew up in Annapolis, Maryland and now lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband, two teen daughters, and a pair of lovable mutts. Her debut novel, LEAGUE OF STRAYS (Abrams, 2012), is about the ways we handle bullying. You can visit her online
at
LBSchulman.com

 
 
Meet Stolen Secrets!
 
 
 After an abrupt move across the country to San Francisco, sixteen-year-old Livvy is shocked to find that her mother has lied to her. Instead of looking for work at a bakery, her mom is taking care of Adelle, Livvy’s grandmother, who Livvy thought was long dead. Suffering from Alzheimer’s, Adelle shouts out startling details, mistakes her own name, and seems to relive moments that may have taken place in a concentration camp. When Livvy and her new friend Franklin D. find journal entries from the Holocaust in Adelle’s home, Livvy begins to suspect that her grandmother may have a shocking link to a notable figure -- Anne Frank. 
 
 
 
A Chat with L.B. Schulman:

1. What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I was listening to NPR in my car and I heard an interview from a Holocaust survivor. I started to think about how soon, there wouldn’t be any firsthand witnesses to the Holocaust alive anymore. That was one part of my inspiration. The second part happened when I saw an age-progressed photo of Anne Frank that showed how she would look today, if she had lived. I brought the two parts together in a contemporary and historical mystery.

2. Who is your favorite character in the book?

Franklin D., definitely. He is warm, funny, goofy, eccentric and different than many male characters. He loves people who are unique. I think we could all benefit from a friend like him.

3. Which came first, the title or the novel?

The title. I can’t seem to write without a title and an outline. That’s the Virgo in me.

4. What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

My favorite scene comes at the end so I can’t be specific, but every time I read it, I cry. This crying bit is new to me, and I think it’s a good sign. I am very proud of my tears.

5. Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Stop seeking and listening to “writing rules.” To sell a book today, you need an interesting angle or idea or presentation. This involves “thinking outside the box” with your writing.

6. What do you like most about the cover of the book?

It’s an eye-catching color scheme, but specifically, the beautiful bird resting on barbed wire captures what’s inside the pages.

7. What’s up next for you?

I am working on a screenplay based on Stolen Secrets. Then I have a picture book to write that won’t let go of me. After that, for NANOWRIMO, I want to continue with a contemporary YA project about how an Italian exchange student changes a family’s perspective on honoring, calculating, and taking risks in life.

8. Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

The grandmother. She has Alzheimer’s and it was very hard to have her communicate through the haze of a devastating disease.

9. What would you say is your superpower?

My books seem to have a strange psychic link to what’s going on in the world. League of Strays, my debut, came out at the height of the bullying discussion. Stolen Secrets examines people who change history with mistruths. Needless to say, that seems to be a prescient topic right now. 

 
 
 

Stolen Secrets

By: L.B. Schulman

Release Date: September 19, 2017

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Two winners will receive a signed copy of Stolen Secrets. (International). 
   
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Bookstagrammer of the Month: Bridget of @darkfaeri...
Waiting On Wednesday ~ September 20th, 2017

Related Posts

 

Comments 6

Already Registered? Login Here
Dianna G. on Wednesday, 20 September 2017 20:03

I love the idea of this book, but wish that the summary didn't give so much away. The cover doesn't match, in my opinion.

0
I love the idea of this book, but wish that the summary didn't give so much away. The cover doesn't match, in my opinion.
Sandy S on Thursday, 12 October 2017 19:13

A novel with a link to the Holocaust - this looks fantastic! Great simple and bright cover.

0
A novel with a link to the Holocaust - this looks fantastic! Great simple and bright cover.
Danielle Hammelef on Tuesday, 17 October 2017 15:36

I'm not sure how the cover matches the synopsis, but I'll have to read this exciting book to find out. I also wish that the synopsis wasn't so detailed.

0
I'm not sure how the cover matches the synopsis, but I'll have to read this exciting book to find out. I also wish that the synopsis wasn't so detailed.
Kelly G on Thursday, 19 October 2017 12:17

I think this sounds like a great book, but maybe the cover could be a little different so it matches the synopsis? The synopsis also gives away a bit much, I think.

0
I think this sounds like a great book, but maybe the cover could be a little different so it matches the synopsis? The synopsis also gives away a bit much, I think.
Penny Olson on Friday, 20 October 2017 00:37

The cover is beautiful and the premise sounds really interesting.

0
The cover is beautiful and the premise sounds really interesting.
Courtney Gendreau on Friday, 20 October 2017 21:43

It has a beautiful cover, and sounds like a great read

0
It has a beautiful cover, and sounds like a great read

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A haunted tower, an evil ghost, a monster spawned from...
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
What better way to encourage a little one to sleep...
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Bad Guys are back for the monstrously funny 9th...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sweet treats and friendship mix-ups abound in this story about...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From award-winning Carolyn Mackler, the story of Willa, who has...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This book is about the Stonewall Riots, a series of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Emily is flying with her parents to China to...
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...

Latest Member Reviews

Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
"This episode of THE BAD GUYS has the crew planning for a way to stop the aliens and help the..."
 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
 
4.0
"June 28th marks the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots in Greenwich Village, New York City, so it's great to..."
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old foster kid Elle Zoellner's life turns topsy turvy when a father, she never knew about, wants her to move..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
Finding Esme
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."