Author Chat with Kit Frick (I Killed Zoe Spanos)!

50202540

 Today we're excited to chat with Kit Frick author of

I Killed Zoe Spanos.

Read on for more about Kit and her book!

 

 

 

Meet Kit Frick!

  

Kit Frick is a novelist, poet, and MacDowell Colony fellow from Pittsburgh, PA. She studied creative writing at Sarah Lawrence College and received her MFA from Syracuse University. When she isn’t putting complicated characters in impossible situations, Kit edits poetry and literary fiction for a small press and edits for private clients. She is the author of the young adult thrillers I Killed Zoe SpanosAll Eyes on Us, and See All the Stars, all from Simon & Schuster / Margaret K. McElderry Books, as well as the poetry collection A Small Rising Up in the Lungs from New American Press. Kit is working on her next novel.

 

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

Meet I Killed Zoe Spanos!

For fans of Sadie and Serial, this gripping thriller follows two teens whose lives become inextricably linked when one confesses to murder and the other becomes determined to uncover the real truth no matter the cost.

What happened to Zoe won’t stay buried…

When Anna Cicconi arrives to the small Hamptons village of Herron Mills for a summer nanny gig, she has high hopes for a fresh start. What she finds instead is a community on edge after the disappearance of Zoe Spanos, a local girl who has been missing since New Year’s Eve. Anna bears an eerie resemblance to Zoe, and her mere presence in town stirs up still-raw feelings about the unsolved case. As Anna delves deeper into the mystery, stepping further and further into Zoe’s life, she becomes increasingly convinced that she and Zoe are connected—and that she knows what happened to her.

Two months later, Zoe’s body is found in a nearby lake, and Anna is charged with manslaughter. But Anna’s confession is riddled with holes, and Martina Green, teen host of the Missing Zoe podcast, isn’t satisfied. Did Anna really kill Zoe? And if not, can Martina’s podcast uncover the truth?

Inspired by Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca, Kit Frick weaves a thrilling story of psychological suspense that twists and turns until the final page.

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

     

     YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

When the idea for I Killed Zoe Spanos was bouncing around in my head, I’d recently re-read Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca for the fourth (fifth?) time and couldn’t help wondering: What if Rebecca de Winter had gone missing today, in the age of Serial and The Vanished and Bear Brook and all the other excellent true crime podcasts that have sprung up over the last five years? The idea came from a marriage between two obsessions of mine: Rebecca and true crime podcasts.

 



YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel! The title was originally Windermere, which is the name of the creepy old gothic estate next door to the house where Anna is nannying for the summer. My editor wisely pointed out that a book with the title Windermere could just as easily be a historical romance as a YA thriller, and so we landed on I Killed Zoe Spanos, which so clearly gestures toward the book’s compelling murder mystery!


 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I loved writing the podcast transcripts for Missing Zoe, the amateur true crime podcast hosted and produced by local Herron Mills teen Martina Green. It was almost like dabbling in a new genre. I listen to so many investigative podcasts that the style and cadence came really easily. I can’t wait to listen to the I Killed Zoe Spanos audiobook, which will include a full-cast recording for the podcast chapters!

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

The gorgeous cover is illustrated by Levente Szabó and designed by Debra Sfetsios-Conover. My absolute favorite feature is the sunglasses—look closely!

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or revising?

Revising for sure. I live in a state of near-constant panic when I’m drafting. What if I get two-hundred pages in, and it all falls apart? Even though I outline extensively, I still bite my nails throughout the entire drafting process. Once I have that first draft down on paper, I love digging into revisions. That’s my opportunity to make the story really sing.

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Schedule. Your. Time. Writing time = working time. Put it on your calendar like you’d mark down any other appointment or meeting or work engagement. You will have to guard your writing time fiercely. Sometimes you will have to say no to other plans. Sometimes others won’t understand. Don’t be afraid to say, “I’m working.”

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

The National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC) does amazing work. Their mission is to help find missing children, reduce child sexual exploitation, and prevent child victimization. As part of my pre-order promotion for I Killed Zoe Spanos, I’m giving a gift to NCMEC. The pre-order promo ended June 29, but you can still support NCMEC’s work by giving online < https://www.missingkids.org/HOME > and boosting their campaigns to find missing children and teens on Twitter < https://twitter.com/MissingKids >.

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2020?

Can I get four? I’m greedy! There are several excellent YA thrillers coming out this summer and fall, and everyone should pick up Little Creeping Things by Chelsea Ichaso, Throwaway Girls by Andrea Contos, I Hope You’re Listening by Tom Ryan, and Those Who Prey by Jennifer Moffett

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

I have a new YA thriller coming out with S&S/McElderry in summer 2021! Here’s a teaser: It’s a story about two girls searching for answers in a cursed New York town and the true crime docuseries calling national attention to the town’s many mysteries—and opening the door to new danger.

  

 

 

 

I Killed Zoe Spanos

By: Kit Frick

Publisher: Margaret K McElderry

Release Date: June 30th, 2020

 

 

 

 

Featured Review: Magic Bound (The Hybrid Trilogy #...
Featured Review: The Paper Girl of Paris (Jordyn T...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While...
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
MAY THE HAZEL BRING YOU WISDOM AND THE ASPEN...
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With passion and precision, Kekla Magoon relays an essential account...
Kneel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression through...

Latest Member Reviews

Fiver Finds Home
 
5.0
"'Fiver Finds Home' by Jill Bugbee, illustrated by Jennifer Davison, is a story of friendly Fiver, a blue giraffe who..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"The Lost Legends is one of those books that has everything in it. A princess, an evil king, pirates, a..."
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
"CURIOUS ABOUT INSECTS is a great non-fiction board book that lays out some basic facts about insects. Each page has..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Whose Big Rig?
 
4.7
"WHOSE BIG RIG? is a delightful board book that takes children through the vehicles involved in building a light rail,..."
Busy Little Ladybug
 
3.5
"BUSY LITTLE LADYBUG is a cute board book about a ladybug that loves colors. Ladybug wants to figure out what..."
One Springy, Singy Day
 
4.5
"ONE SPRINGY, SINGY DAY is a brightly colored and fun celebration of spring. Told in rhyming text, the book follows..."
Blade of Mad Vision
 
5.0
"Loved it! It makes me want to be an artist and a fencer and learn languages and go on adventures..."
The Lost Continent (Wings of Fire, Book 11)
 
5.0
"It was a good book i really want to buy is so i can read it all the time. I..."
The Curie Society
 
4.2
"Three roommates at Edmonds University all face different challenges in settling into college life. Biologist Simone is very young to..."
Spi-ku: A Clutter of Short Verse on Eight Legs
 
4.3
"From the creative team that brought us Amphibian Acrobats and Superlative Birds, we now have this poetic treatment about every..."