Author Chat with Kathy Parks (Notes From My Captivity), Plus Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2018-07-18-at-6.29.08-AM

Today we're excited to chat with Kathy Parks, author of Notes From My Captivity.  Read on for more about Kathy and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

Meet Kathy Parks! 

 

As a baby, Kathy Parks was thrown out with the bathwater. This experience shaped her life and art. She is the author of five novels and also works as an advertising copywriter. She lives with her husband Michael in Boulder, Colorado.

 

 
Meet Notes From My Captivity !
 

"Like Siberia itself, this story is wild, mysterious, full of danger—and then, quite unexpectedly, captivates you with its beauty. I was so glad I went on the adventure." —Goldy Moldavsky, New York Times bestselling author of Kill the Boy Band

Notes from My Captivity is a sharp, sensitive, and darkly funny novel perfect for fans of Libba Bray’s Beauty Queens and Adam Silvera’s More Happy Than Not.

Adrienne Cahill cares about three things: getting into a great college; becoming a revered journalist like her idol, Sydney Declay; and making her late father proud of her.

So when Adrienne is offered the chance to write an article that will get her into her dream school and debunk her foolish stepfather’s belief that a legendary family of hermits is living in the Siberian wilderness, there’s no question that she’s going to fly across the world.

But the Russian terrain is even less forgiving than Adrienne. And when disaster strikes, none of their extensive preparations seem to matter. Now Adrienne’s being held captive by the family she was convinced didn’t exist, and her best hope for escape is to act like she cares about them, even if it means wooing the youngest son.

 
A Chat with Kathy Parks:
 

1. What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I stumbled upon the real life story of the Lykov family, who fled from their home in Russia in 1936 to escape religious oppression, and lived a life of total isolation for the next 42 years.  There was nothing ominous about this family and of course they never kidnapped anyone, but it got me to thinking…what if?

 

2. Who is your favorite character in the book?                                       It’s hard to say, but I really do love Clara, the kind and mystical youngest member of the Osinov family.

 

3. Which came first, the title or the novel?                                           The novel came first.  Then my editor, Claudia, came up with the wonderful title.

 

4. What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?                   I have a few — but I love the scene where Adrienne and her stepfather wake up and everyone else is dead.  just so eerie and suddenly the whole tone of the narrative shifts.

 

5. Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?                              I’ve learned that writing is a secondary form of living.  Don’t forget to live. 

 

6. What do you like most about the cover of the book? 

I really love the crossed-out trees.  Big fan of the cover!

 

7. What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2018?  Wow that’s a great question.  Some of my most anticipated books have already come out!

 

8. What was your favorite book in 2017?                                      Technically I discovered this book in 2018—but A New Earth by Eckhardt Tolle.

 

9. What’s up next for you?                                                                     I’m writing a book on writing.

 

10. Is there anything that you would like to add?                                Just that I would encourage everyone to read the true story of the Lykovs — it’s riveting!

 

11. Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?        The action scenes were difficult. Challenging to communicate the adrenaline and fear.

 

12. Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?  I think it was difficult to capture the personality and inner world of Adrienne herself.

 

13. Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or                   Revising?  Revising is easier, that’s for sure!  But I do love discovering new ground in the first draft.

 

14. What would you say is your superpower?                                     God, always.

 

15. Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?  Anything to do with saving animals or helping the elderly.  One example: Best Friends in Utah.

 
 
 
 
 

Notes From My Captivity

By: Kathy Parks

Release Date: July 10, 2018

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 

One winner will receive a copy of Notes From My Captivity (US only). 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Bookstagrammer of the Month: Joel of @fictionalfat...
Featured Review: Strange New World (Rachael Vincen...

Related Posts

 

Comments 10

Already Registered? Login Here
Dianna G. on Friday, 20 July 2018 20:57

The cover is very basic, where less is more. I like it! I'm really curious about the story.

0
The cover is very basic, where less is more. I like it! I'm really curious about the story.
Janell Goode on Monday, 23 July 2018 10:49

love the cover and the synopsis

0
love the cover and the synopsis
Marisa Fort on Monday, 30 July 2018 23:35

The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!

0
The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!
Kara S on Tuesday, 31 July 2018 05:07

The cover has a great design, and the synopsis is such that this book is launching up my to-read (MUST-READ) list already.

0
The cover has a great design, and the synopsis is such that this book is launching up my to-read (MUST-READ) list already.
Emily on Wednesday, 08 August 2018 10:48

I like the cover a lot! And the book sounds so good

0
I like the cover a lot! And the book sounds so good
Kelly G on Wednesday, 08 August 2018 13:23

I really love the cover, and the story sounds interesting.

0
I really love the cover, and the story sounds interesting.
Danielle Hammelef on Thursday, 09 August 2018 19:14

I love the cover! The synopsis sounds amazing with the setting and main character.

0
I love the cover! The synopsis sounds amazing with the setting and main character.
Penny Olson on Sunday, 12 August 2018 23:14

I like all the trees on the cover. The synopsis sounds like an amazing adventure.

0
I like all the trees on the cover. The synopsis sounds like an amazing adventure.
linda wong on Tuesday, 14 August 2018 12:29

Cover had me picking this up before I even read the synopsis. Looking forward to reading it.

0
Cover had me picking this up before I even read the synopsis. Looking forward to reading it.
wendy rinebold on Tuesday, 14 August 2018 19:44

I love this cover and the plot sounds very good and interesting. Rarely does a book take place in Siberia. Could make for a unique plot.

0
I love this cover and the plot sounds very good and interesting. Rarely does a book take place in Siberia. Could make for a unique plot.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Lali's Feather
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This endearing story of identification and values shows the rewards...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Book three in a hilarious new series featuring one boy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everything starts with a question, like this one: Why do...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Worries, fears, and anxieties are all dragons that sneak up...
The Copycat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A funny, unpredictable, and heartfelt new novel from Wendy McLeod...
DC Super Hero Girls: Powerless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The DC Super Hero Girls learn what it's like to...
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Space-obsessed 12-year-old Paola Santiago and her two best friends, Emma...
Clown in a Cornfield
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Quinn Maybrook just wants to make it until graduation. She...
The Oracle Code
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The #1 New York Times bestselling author Marieke Nijkamp (This...
Rival Magic
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young wizard's apprentice discovers that the best magic is...
Deeplight
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea meets Frankenstein in Frances...
The Girl and the Ghost
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally...
Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this companion to the award-winning Izzy Gizmo, Izzy Gizmo...
The Welcome Wagon
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Cubby Hill, someone new is someone to celebrate!In a...
Once Upon a Crime: Batman Tales
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Gotham City is filled with stories--of heroes and of villains,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With Joanie Stone's colorful illustrations and Allison Crotzer Kimmel's inspirational...

Latest Member Reviews

Lali's Feather
 
5.0
"LALI'S FEATHER is a delightful and colorful picture book that explores birds and imagination. Lali is playing when she finds..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."
 
5.0
"This book is a winner the moment a reader lays eyes on that cover--and the title. My niece--who is picky..."
 
4.0
"Super Cute Illustrations I wasn't expecting a board book when I first saw this, but as soon as I..."
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Dragons can suddenly show up wherever the characters are and they have to..."
The Girl and the Ghost
 
4.0
"5 Reasons to Read THE GIRL AND THE GHOST 1.) Beautiful prose- This was my first time..."
Brother's Keeper
 
5.0
"BROTHER'S KEEPER is a highly engrossing and heartfelt read about a 12-year-old girl and her dangerous journey from North to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention
 
5.0
"IZZY GIZMO AND THE INVENTION CONVENTION is a delightful, rhyming book about staying true to yourself and getting creative. Izzy..."
The Welcome Wagon
 
3.0
"THE WELCOME WAGON features four friends who decide to welcome a new family to Cubby Hill. As they travel to..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
Once Upon a Crime: Batman Tales
 
3.5
"BATMAN TALES: ONCE UPON A CRIME reimagines fairytales as Batman stories. There are four main stories in this graphic novel...."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
 
5.0
"Girls and women have run for a long time; even the author Louisa May Alcott made distance running part of..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
"Thomas' father perished in a mining accident, so when his mother became ill and died, he ended up with his..."
Bo the Brave
 
5.0
"BO THE BRAVE is a delightful story about courage and not judging others too quickly. Bo lives with her brothers,..."
Double Trouble!
 
3.0
"DOUBLE TROUBLE! features twins, Ellis and Erin, who are looking for trouble. They search all over the house, in the..."