44303513

 Today we're excited to chat with Kathy Kimbray author of

A Shifting Of Stars.

 Read on for more about Kathy, plus an interview and an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Kathy Kimbray!

Kathy Kimbray is a YA author from Australia.​

After graduating from the University of Technology, Sydney, with a degree in Media Arts and Production, she went on to complete postgraduate studies in education and spent many years as a primary school teacher.​

Now a full-time novelist, Kathy is lucky to be able to tell stories every day.​

Aside from writing, Kathy is an avid reader, dancer, language learner, musical theater enthusiast and fan of terrible reality TV. She lives with her husband in Sydney, and dreams of one day owning that elusive chateau in France.


 

 WebsiteFacebookTwitterInstagram


 

 

 

 

 

Meet A Shifting Of Stars!

A squandering emperor.
A handsome stranger.
A reluctant heroine.
And the ancient magic that will capsize a kingdom.


Seventeen-year-old Meadow Sircha watched her mother die from the wilting sickness. Tormented by the knowledge that the emperor failed to import the medicine that would have saved her, she speaks out at a gathering of villagers, inciting them to boycott his prized gladiator tournament.

But doing so comes at a steep cost.

Arrested as punishment for her impulsive tongue, Meadow finds herself caught up in the kind of danger she’s always tried to avoid. After a chance meeting with an enigmatic boy, she’s propelled on a perilous trek across the outer lands. But she soon unearths a staggering secret: one that will shift her world—and the kingdom—forever.

Filled with longing and heart, surprise and wonder, A SHIFTING OF STARS is the first book in Kathy Kimbray’s thrilling Of Stars trilogy.Filled with longing and heart, surprise and wonder, A SHIFTING OF STARS is perfect for fans of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES, RED QUEEN and SHADOW AND BONE.Filled with longing and heart, surprise and wonder, A SHIFTING OF STARS is perfect for fans of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES, RED QUEEN and SHADOW AND BONE.Filled with longing and heart, surprise and wonder, A SHIFTING OF STARS is perfect for fans of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES, RED QUEEN and SHADOW AND BONE.



 Purchase from Amazon!!

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I love to write fantasy. I am a big fan of oppressed kingdoms, palaces and murmurs of revolution. However, despite the familiar backdrop, I wanted to write something a bit different, and I had this twisty plot idea that I’ve needed to include in a book for years. (And it was lots of fun making room for it within this fantasy world!) Aside from that, I wanted the story to be more than just an adventurous tale. I hoped to show a snapshot of grief through the MC’s eyes and to explore how it had muddled her life and shaped her decisions and behavior, even after the event was over. I thought it would be interesting to see that side of a character contrasted with all the chaos of the plot!

      

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

Meadow is definitely my favorite character. I like that she’s going through her own inner challenges, but she also has to contend with bigger problems around her, too, which force her out of her comfort zone. She may not consider herself the bravest, nor the most confident, but she has a good moral compass and an understated determination. And I love how she grows through the book.

     

 

 YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

I started writing with a different title. However, as the book progressed, I realized that I needed to tweak my original title a bit to fit with the direction of the story. I love reading books with titles that tie-in with something subtle in the novel. Hopefully by the time people reach the end of A Shifting of Stars, the meaning will be apparent.

      

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

There is a scene in the last chapter that I really like, but I can’t say too much about it without heading into spoiler territory.

      

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

One of the most important things I have learned is to finish the first draft. I used to spend a lot of time writing and rewriting the first chapter, then the second, then the third etc., and never completing the book because it took so long. Once I realized that a first draft doesn’t need to be perfect—it just needs to be written—I found that I started finishing whole novels. From there, I had something fully formed to work with. Which is so much better than just having a few opening chapters!

     

 

YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

There is a scene in the middle of the book that was really difficult to write because the characters stumble across something truly awful. It took a long time to flesh out that scene.

     

 

YABC:  Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Vogel was extremely difficult to write. I knew from the beginning that he was going to be one of the more complex characters—and I knew the reasons why—but the reader is obviously looking at him through Meadow’s eyes. And Meadow is only getting bits and pieces as she is trying to work him out. So it was quite a challenge to think about Vogel’s motivations and his history and portray that in a truthful way, despite how he may come across at times. It took a lot of writing and rewriting, but I am happy with the way he turned out in the finished book!

     

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

I love revising when I’m drafting, and I love drafting when I’m revising!

      

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I am writing the second book in the Of Stars trilogy! It has a tentative release date of 2020. It will expand the world of A Shifting of Stars and will delve deeper into the magic!

 

 

 

A Shifting Of Stars

By: Kathy Kimbray

Release Date: May 28th, 2019

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a copy of A Shifting Of Stars (Kathy Kimbray) plus some mystery extras ~ (International)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway