Author Chat with Justin Reynolds (Opposite Of Always), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

35380157

 Today we're excited to chat with Justin Reynolds author of Opposite Of Always.

 Read on for more about Justin, an interview, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Justin Reyolds!

Justin A. Reynolds has been a pest control operator, night security guard, steel mill janitor, NASA intern, salesman of high-end faucet fixtures, and carpet-flooring installer. He was most recently a registered nurse, before trading his stethoscope for a pencil, but he likes to think both instruments reveal the heart. He lives in northeast Ohio, home to snow, Lake Erie, and the Cavaliers. You can visit Justin at justinareynolds.com [justinareynolds.com].

 

 Website * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

 

Meet Opposite Of Always!

Debut author Justin A. Reynolds delivers a hilarious and heartfelt novel about the choices we make, the people we choose, and the moments that make a life worth reliving. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and John Green.

When Jack and Kate meet at a party, bonding until sunrise over their mutual love of Froot Loops and their favorite flicks, Jack knows he’s falling—hard. Soon she’s meeting his best friends, Jillian and Franny, and Kate wins them over as easily as she did Jack.

But then Kate dies. And their story should end there.

Yet Kate’s death sends Jack back to the beginning, the moment they first meet, and Kate’s there again. Healthy, happy, and charming as ever. Jack isn’t sure if he’s losing his mind.

Still, if he has a chance to prevent Kate’s death, he’ll take it. Even if that means believing in time travel. However, Jack will learn that his actions are not without consequences. And when one choice turns deadly for someone else close to him, he has to figure out what he’s willing to do to save the people he loves.

Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

     

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

This story stemmed from great personal loss. Two people who still mean the world to me passed away rather unexpectedly, and this story began as a series of questions that I desperately wanted/needed answers to: if I could see my dead loved ones again, who or what would I be willing to risk? If I could see them again (and that time was limited), what would I say, what would I ask them? Would it be fair to them—wanting them back here—when they’d have to die all over again?

      

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?   

        Good question! Honestly, to answer it, I feel sorta terrible, but okay. I think I’m going to go with Franny, because here’s a person with so much heartache in his life, and yet he is also possibly the most hopeful.

      

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

        The novel came first! I usually have a working title that doesn’t actually stick. The actual title, for me, comes later!

      

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?      

Trust that your voice is enough. You don’t have to write like the people that you admire; your voice has its own power.

      

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

        I like that it tells the story of the book rather succinctly, and that depending on if you look at it from the top down, or vice versa, the narrative changes completely.

      

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

        Lots of new releases to look forward to in 2019! I’ll go with one that I’ve been in love with ever since I first heard about it: Let Me Hear a Rhyme by Tiffany D. Jackson! Look out for it for sure!

     

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

        I’m working on a few things, including a book that once more grapples with death, and how it affects the way we all choose to live—naturally, haha.

   

 

YABC:    Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Is this a trick question?! Whichever part I’m not currently doing! :D

 

 

     YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

        My super power is convincing myself that I work better when I’ve waited until the last possible moment to start working, haha. It’s a pretty cool power!

 

 

 

The Opposite Of Always

By: Justin Reynolds

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Release Date: March 5th, 2019

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

  

Three winners will each receive a copy of Opposite Of Always (Justin Reynolds) ~ (US Only)

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: White Stag (Kara Barbieri)
Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Excerpt & Giveaway:...

Related Posts

 

Comments 13

Already Registered? Login Here
Kylie on Thursday, 07 March 2019 17:38

Sarah Henning recommended this book on Instagram and then I saw that it has a special release at Target! Very excited to read!!!

0
Sarah Henning recommended this book on Instagram and then I saw that it has a special release at Target! Very excited to read!!!
Dianna G. on Thursday, 07 March 2019 20:32

I love the cover. It's lighthearted and makes me think of friendship. I wish the summary didn't have so much info, though!

0
I love the cover. It's lighthearted and makes me think of friendship. I wish the summary didn't have so much info, though!
Colleen Burns on Thursday, 14 March 2019 11:05

I really like the cover and the book sounds interesting.

0
I really like the cover and the book sounds interesting.
Madeline Tebo on Thursday, 14 March 2019 19:40

I can't wait to read this!

0
I can't wait to read this!
Nikita Costa on Friday, 15 March 2019 18:13

Thank you author for the diversity representation! I adore the cover and the synopsis already got me hooked. Can't wait to read this!

0
Thank you author for the diversity representation! I adore the cover and the synopsis already got me hooked. Can't wait to read this!
Tiffany Engler on Saturday, 16 March 2019 08:13

Love this cover! Can't wait to read it!

0
Love this cover! Can't wait to read it!
Emily on Wednesday, 20 March 2019 14:32

This story sounds heart wrenching and beautiful!

0
This story sounds heart wrenching and beautiful!
Lily M. on Thursday, 21 March 2019 00:59

Wow, this book its going to be sad I can tell, but I'm looking forward to it ?

0
Wow, this book its going to be sad I can tell, but I'm looking forward to it ?
Delaney on Monday, 25 March 2019 11:58

This book sounds fantastic and this cover is perfect.

0
This book sounds fantastic and this cover is perfect.
Penny Olson on Thursday, 28 March 2019 23:32

The cover really fits the story. I like books about the consequences of time travel. This book sounds really emotional.

0
The cover really fits the story. I like books about the consequences of time travel. This book sounds really emotional.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fence: Striking Distance
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The boys of Kings Row bout with drama, rivalry, and...
Pirate Nell's Tale to Tell
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From the author/illustrator team behind The Snatchabook comes a book-filled...
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Once Upon a Time meets Game of Thrones in...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. A team of...
Finding Balance
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Jase Ellison doesnt remember having acute lymphocytic leukemia when...
Be a Voter!: 450 Stickers for Democracy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Get out the vote! It’s...
I Believe In You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A charming picture book that inspires confidence, boosts self-esteem, and...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling...
Of Thorns and Beauty (Twisted Pages Book 1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
You think you know the tale as old time,...
The Verity
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When being eaten alive is the least of your...
Meanwhile
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate 10 years of this completely original graphic novel take...
Grant Beagan: The Finder's Code
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s just an ordinary teenager who likes astronomy, video games,...
Sting Magic
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She has the wrong kind of magic but the right...
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s on the hunt for a fresh start. She’s trapped...
Fisher- Price Fun in the Jungle: Explore, Touch, and Feel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children will love exploring the different textures in this playful...
Glitter Globes: The Night Before Christmas
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On the night before Christmas, all over the house, not...

Latest Member Reviews

Fence: Striking Distance
 
5.0
"FENCE: STRIKING DISTANCE is a charming YA contemporary fiction that takes place at a boys' boarding school. We follow different..."
Crossing Lines
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central And engaging story about how our differences shape our worldview. ..."
Focused
 
4.0
"!"
Horrid
 
4.7
"After Jane's father sudden dies, Her mother, Ruth, ends up moving them across the country. They move into her mother's..."
Pirate Nell's Tale to Tell
 
4.5
"PIRATE NELL'S TALE TO TELL is a charming picture book about Nell, who has always dreamed of being a pirate...."
Be a Voter!: 450 Stickers for Democracy
 
4.5
"BE A VOTER! is a delightful collection of stickers that encompass the power of voting, the democracy, and the reasons..."
I Believe In You
 
5.0
"I BELIEVE IN YOU is a delightfully encouraging book with bright colors and a charming story. While the main text..."
The Oracle Code
 
4.0
"THE ORACLE CODE visits Barbara Gordon (aka Batgirl and Oracle) in her teens after an accident that paralyzes part of..."
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
"THE GLASS QUEEN is an intense and fantastically written fairytale retelling of Cinderella. In the kingdom of Enchantia, fairytales are..."
The Kingdom of Back
 
5.0
"Marie Lu’s The Kingdom of Back is an historical fantasy based on real-life talents, Wolfgang Amedeus Motzart and his sister,..."
Meanwhile
 
3.7
"'Meanwhile' by Jason Shiga is a graphic novel adventure that will remind readers of the types of books in which..."
Fisher- Price Fun in the Jungle: Explore, Touch, and Feel
 
4.5
"FUN IN THE JUNGLE is an adorable board book great for infants and young toddlers who are exploring the world..."
Glitter Globes: The Night Before Christmas
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS modifies the original poem to be more modern and easily understood by young children. The classic..."
Twisting Minds
 
4.8
"The story: At seventeen, Claire Harper’s life has taken a turn for the worse – her mother..."
Breathless
 
4.0
"BREATHLESS is a book about change, secrets, and the aftermath. Claudine (Claude) is about to graduate high school, and she..."
Fae's Prisoner (Crimes of the Fae)
 
5.0
"This is the book I didn’t know I needed! Fae’s Prisoner by M. Lynn & Melissa A. Craven is the..."
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
"SKYHUNTER is an enthralling and lush YA fantasy. Lu really paints the story with her words, and this new novel..."
The Library of Lost Things
 
5.0
"I wasn't sure what to expect with The Library of Lost Things, but I know I didn't anticipate a book..."
Fae's Prisoner (Crimes of the Fae)
 
5.0
"After reading Queens of the Fae, I had such mixed feelings about Griffin... but now I love him! This book..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra, a teenager from the 2160s, is put into cryogenic stasis fulling expecting to wake up on another planet one..."