Author Chat with Joy Jones (Fearless Public Speaking), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

42293702._SY475_

 Today we're excited to chat with Joy Jones author of

Fearless Public Speaking.

 Read on for more about Rena her book, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Joy Jones!

Performance poetry, training workshops, storytelling, classroom teaching - Joy Jones has addressed countless audiences. She is the director the of performance poetry group, The Spoken Word and founder of the multigenerational double Dutch team, DC Retro Jumpers. Jones is the author of several books including Private Lessons: A Book of Meditations for Teachers. and Tambourine Moon, which was selected as one of the best books for children by the black caucus of the ALA and featured on the Bernie Mac show. Visit her at www.joyjonesOnline.com and keep up with what she’s doing now on Instagram at #joyjones1433.

 

 

 WebsiteFacebook Twitter * Instagram

 

 


 

 

Meet Fearless Public Speaking!

Scared of speaking in public? You’re not alone! This accessible guide, written by a former teacher and poetry slam coach, will help tweens and teens find their voice!
If you have weak, wobbly knees and a pounding heart when you face an audience—don’t worry, that’s good! Joy Jones is here to show teens and tweens that stage fright is your friend. With its funny, friendly, slightly irreverent approach, Fearless Public Speaking helps young people feel more comfortable and confident in front of a crowd. 
Jones covers it all, from how to write and organize your speech, to how to deliver it and use audiovisual equipment, to how to troubleshoot when things go wrong, this book is all about helping young people feel more comfortable in front of a crowd and become more confident public speakers. Get ready to go from meek to unique when you speak!

 

 

Amazon * B & NIndiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

      

YABC:   What gave you the inspiration to write this book?
I love public speaking. Ever since I was a kid I was always the first one to raise her hand in class, to recite a poem for the special occasion, to perform in a play. I find it hard to understand why people are afraid of it because for me it feels so good! I actually feel waves of love cascading over me as I stand before a group. I want to show other people how they can tap into into that good feeling, too.
 
 
YABC:   Which came first, the title or the book?                 
The book came first, although a title presented itself soon after. My original title was Stage Fright Is Your Friend And Other Things You Need To Know About Public Speaking. But the publisher rejected my choice for the title.
 
                          YABC:    What chapter in the book are you most proud of, and why?                                                            
Chapter 2: Stage Fright Is Your Friend. That’s the first chapter I wrote and the idea that sparked the desire to write the book. 
 
      YABC:   Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?   
Persistence, persistence, persistence. Regard rejection as just part of the process. Discipline comes in handy, too. My favorite definition of discipline is - remembering what you want. If you want to be published, you have to persist in being disciplined at doing the things that will bring that result. 
 
YABC:    What do you like most about the cover of the book?
The color! Orange is such a vivid, vibrant color. How can you look at orange and not feel upbeat?
 
      YABC:   What was your favorite book in 2018?                                    
I Will Always Write Back: How One Letter Changed Two Lives by Caitlyn Alifirenka and Martin Ganda with Liz Welch came out in 2015 but I just discovered it a few months ago and it was a joy and an inspiration to me.
YABC:    What’s up next for you?          
                              I’ve just finished a novel about a girl who starts a double Dutch team. One Jump Ahead,(working title) scheduled to come out Fall, 2020. IRL I actually founded a double Dutch team, DC Retro Jumpers. Last year, we toured Russia as cultural ambassadors teaching double Dutch. 
YABC:   Is there anything that you would like to add?
Do you every wonder how creative people get the job done? After all, lots of folks have great ideas but what is the process by which they take that inspiration and turn it into a book, a song, a movie, a painting? I’ve been interviewing artists of every variety and posting what they tell me about their creative journey on Instagram. Check it out - #joyjones1433
 
 
     YABC:   Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?
                             Hmmm.... I’d have to say I enjoy revising more. Getting that first draft down on paper is work. Creating something out of nothing takes a massive amount of thought, energy and discipline. But once I have the story laid out before me, polishing and refining it is a much easier process. Tedious, but easier.
                        YABC:   What would you say is your superpower?                       
 
The ability to see things from the other person’s point of view.
 
YABC:    Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?
I created something called The Story Gift Project. We give away new books to people who might not otherwise have books of their own. Primarily, we’ve donated books to people at local schools and hospitals. But now, after a recent (fabulous, life-enlarging) trip to India, I’m thinking of broadening the scope. While in India, we visited an impoverished school where the paperbound textbooks had to be shared 2-3 to a student and in some classrooms, students had to sit on the floor for class. I’m trying to arrange a Story Gift donation for them.

 

 

 

 

Fearless Public Speaking

By: Joy Jones

Release Date: May 7th, 2019

 Publisher: Sterling Publishing

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Four winners will each receive a signed copy of Fearless Public Speaking (Joy Jones) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Voyages In The Underworld Of Orph...
Spotlight on Sword and Pen (Rachel Caine), Excerpt...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
 
4.8
"This is a beautiful book—both in how it is designed and how it is written. The prose is lyrical, yet..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."