Author Chat with Jo Treggiari (The Grey Sisters), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

gre_20191029-173749_1

 Today we're excited to chat with Jo Treggiari author of

The Grey Sisters.

 Read on for more about Jo and her book, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Jo Treggiari!

JO TREGGIARI was born in London, England, and raised in Canada. She spent many years in the San Francisco Bay Area and New York, where she trained as a boxer, wrote for punk magazines and owned a successful gangster rap/indie rock record label. Her bestselling novel, Ashes, Ashes (Scholastic), was a multi-award nominee. Her previous YA novel is Blood Will Out. She lives with her children in Nova Scotia where she co-owns a carefully curated, community-active bookstore, Lexicon Books. 

 

 Website * TwitterInstagram

 


 

 

Meet The Grey Sisters!

  

Two years after a deadly plane crash, best friends D and Spider head into the mountains to face their grief. A gripping psychological thriller for fans of The Cheerleaders and Sadie.

D and Spider have always been close friends, and they are further united in their shared heartbreak: they both lost siblings in a horrific plane crash two years earlier. A chance sighting of a beloved cuddly toy in a photograph of the only survivor spurs D to finally seek closure. She and Spider and their friend, Min, set off on a road trip to the mountainside site of that terrible crash.

Ariel has lived on the mountain all her life. She and her extended family are looked down upon by neighboring townsfolk and she has learned to live by her wits, trusting few people outside of her isolated, survivalist community. A terrifying attack sends her down the mountain for help; on her way, she comes upon the three girls -- a chance encounter that will have far-reaching consequences for them all.
 


 

Amazon * B & NIndiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

      

     YABC: What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I got the idea for The Grey Sisters while on a road trip through Nova Scotia with two girlfriends. We were in the middle of nowhere; nothing for miles but thick woods; no houses or stores, but I got that feeling on the back of my neck. “I feel eyes on me,” one of the characters says. I had also just finished reading a historical book about an isolated community and the children who grew up there.

     

 

YABC: Who is your favorite character in the book?

I love all my characters, of course, but probably my favourite is the one who arrived in my mind last: Ariel. She is a girl soldier in Avalon, a close-knit community deep in the Grey Sisters mountain range. She’s just everything – strong, conflicted, fierce, loyal and her voice was this shout – demanding attention and so clear to me.

     

 

YABC: Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel in bits and pieces came first. I started with a road trip, a quest of a sort, and then it expanded from there.  I do need some kind of title to get going though. I think it’s a psychological thing where if you name the work in progress then it will become a finished book. There was never any question that The Grey Sisters would be the first and final title and that’s never happened before. My working titles are usually discarded.  

     

 

YABC: Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now? 

Every book makes you a better writer, even the ones that go to the back of the drawer. Writing never gets easier, but it shouldn’t. It should always challenge you; that’s how you know you are evolving.

     

 

YABC: What do you like most about the cover of the book?  

The beautiful purples and the mirrored image of the girl in greys speak of the poignancy of loss and grief. The girl captures how I imagined D to look. You get the sense that she is searching for something that means a lot to her. 

      YABC: What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019/2020?

Juliet Takes aBreath by Gabby Rivera, and I’m on tenterhooks for Tomi Adeyemi’s follow-up to Children of Blood and Bone.

     

 

YABC: What was your favorite book in 2018?

 It’s just coming out but I was lucky enough to read an ARC. Thirteen Doorways, Wolves Behind Them All by Laura Ruby, a historical, ghosty book set in a girl’s home. 

     

 

YABC: What’s up next for you? 

I'm currently working on a new thriller about what makes family, kids who fall through the cracks, girl gangs, secrets, and murder by screwdriver.

   

 

YABC: Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate? 

There’s a death scene near the end of the book that was very hard to write. These two characters had such a complex relationship – sisters in that way that encompasses everything. I cried when I wrote it.

   

 

YABC: Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising? 

I love revising. I will shout it to the rooftops. It’s the first draft that gives me the most trouble always. I try to get the story down as fast as possible so that I can look at the whole thing, see where it gapes and hangs and bunches, then go back in with my scissors and trim and shape it. I especially love the fine edits when I am choosing words with infinite care.

 

 

 

The Grey Sisters

By: Jo Treggiari

Release Date: September 24th, 2019

 Publisher: Penguin Teen Canada

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner gets copies of The Grey Sisters, as well as a paperback copy of the previous book, Blood Will Out ~ (US/Canada Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Author Chat with Farah Naz Rishi (I Hope You Get T...
Featured Review: End and Other Beginnings (Veronic...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."