Author Chat with Jeffrey Michael Ruby (Penelope March Is Melting), Plus Giveaway!

31841586

Today we're excited to chat with Jeffrey Michael Ruby,

author of Penelope March Is Melting. 

Read on for more about Jeffrey and his book, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

Meet Jeffrey Michael Ruby!

JEFFREY MICHAEL RUBY (@dropkickjeffy) is the chief dining critic of Chicago magazine. He is the coauthor of Everybody Loves Pizza: The Deep Dish on America’s Favorite Food, and has also played college basketball in Ireland, assisted in an autopsy, and sumo wrestled in front of 20,000 people in New Jersey. He lives in Chicago with his wife and three children. Penelope March Is Melting is his first novel. Visit Jeffrey at jeffrubymedia.com and instagram.com/dropkickjeffy.

 

 

Website * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

Meet Penelope March Is Melting!

An icy-cold mystery adventure to warm your heart—perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library!

Something sinister has come to Glacier Cove, an icy-cold town that sits on top of an iceberg. Nothing bad ever happens here. Until now. And it’s up to Penelope March to stop it.

Mmm-hmm, that Penelope—the bookworm who lives in the ramshackle house with her brother, Miles. The girl with the mom who—poof!—disappeared. The one everyone ignores . . . except strange Coral Wanamaker, a tiny thing with raven-black hair and a black coat.

When Penelope meets someone who seems to know secrets not only about Glacier Cove but about Penelope herself, she and Miles are pulled into an ancient mystery. Together, they’ll face the coldest, cruelest enemy ever known. Looks like the girl who only reads about adventures is going to start living one.

Magic cookies! Volcanoes! Penguins! Sea monsters! And a girl hero with the strength and imagination to spring into action.

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

It was the hottest day of the summer in Chicago. We don’t have air conditioning, so I took a Chicago Shower, which is when you stick your head in the freezer to cool off. When I did, my face was inches away from an ice tray. I got a good look at an ice cube, and up close, it looked like some kind of weird planet. Every crack and crater, every sapphire swirl, was enormous and creepy. That’s when the idea popped into my head: What if a whole world was in that ice cube, and that world was melting?

 

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

I like Atalanta Sparks. She’s a tough, funny penguin who has a tattoo on her wing and spits krill tobacco everywhere, but also shows tons of vulnerability. It was important for the book to have strong female characters beyond Penelope, and that’s what Sparks is. She’s a fearless and salty soldier, the kind you want leading you into the terrifying underwater mission near the end. Even if she’s two feet tall. And, you know, a penguin.

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel. Debates about the title went on long after I finished a draft. It got ridiculous, to the point where we were throwing around goofy suggestions like The Phenomenal Near-Sinking of Glacier Cove and Penelope March and a Bunch of Weird Penguins in a Submarine. At one point, my editor jokingly suggested calling it Unfrozen. I think a lot of little girls would have been really confused. Including my 5-year-old. “Where’s Elsa? . . . Where’s Olaf?”

 

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

The last one. I rewrote it dozens of times and it never felt right. To write something emotional that ties everything together in a satisfying way without being all syrupy was a tough trick for me to pull off. I still hope I got it right.

 

 

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

The act of writing is free. It costs nothing but emotion and sweat. I can spend hours tap-tap-tapping away and it exercises my brain without ever spending a penny. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve found it to be great way to spend my time.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

A lot of authors grumble about their book covers. But I love the cover. The way it mixes humor and horror totally nails the vibe of the book. It’s goofy, scary, and icy blue. And it leads to all these questions, like: Why is there a man with a chainsaw? What’s with the penguins looking like ghosts? Is this whole house an iceberg? And then you’ve got the creepy tentacles coming up from the dark water. You can feel the danger and the sense of fun. Alexandria Neonakis, the artist, absolutely nailed the cover.

 

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I’m working on a kids’ horror novel about four boys in Colorado who go camping in the woods and compete to tell the scariest ghost story. The loser is expected to sleep alone in a cave where all sorts of terrible things have happened. I’m tentatively calling it The Devil’s Lap.  

 

 

YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

The one in which Penelope and Miles sneak out of the house in the middle of the night and leave their father behind—maybe forever. They have no idea when, or if, they’re coming back. The scene itself is more suspenseful than sad, but I kept thinking about how their father would feel when he woke up.

 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

I do what every writer says not to do: I revise while I’m writing. Sometimes I work on one sentence for hours. Which sounds really unfun and unproductive, but that’s the way I work. I wish I could be one of those writers whose words just pour out onto the page, but it’s never been like that for me. Never will be.

 

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

If you throw something to me, I catch it. Whether it’s a frisbee or a penny or a pineapple, I’ve got pretty good hands. I’m the Catchman.

 

 

 

 


Penelope March Is Melting

Author: Jeffrey Michael Ruby

Publishing Date: November 14th, 2017

Publisher: Delacorte Press

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a copy of Penelope March Is Melting (Jeffrey Michael Ruby) ~ US Only 

 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Top Ten Tuesday ~ Top Ten Books I Want My Future C...
What's New In YA ~ November 14th, 2017

Related Posts

 

Comments 10

Already Registered? Login Here
Crista cast on Tuesday, 14 November 2017 14:51

The cover is beautifully eye catching (I love the blue) and the story sounds like an intriguing mystery.

0
The cover is beautifully eye catching (I love the blue) and the story sounds like an intriguing mystery.
John on Tuesday, 14 November 2017 21:04

The cover looks fun! The book would be fun in a Lemoncello way!

0
The cover looks fun! The book would be fun in a Lemoncello way!
Amber Terry on Tuesday, 05 December 2017 23:45

I am in love with everything about this book. The cover is gorgeous and the plot sounds so original. Thank you for the chance to win!!!

0
I am in love with everything about this book. The cover is gorgeous and the plot sounds so original. Thank you for the chance to win!!! :D
Nancy Hernandez on Monday, 11 December 2017 00:35

I love this cover its so fun and exciting.

0
I love this cover its so fun and exciting.
Danielle Hammelef on Monday, 11 December 2017 13:07

The cover colors are great and it looks fun. The synopsis sounds fun to read and unique too.

0
The cover colors are great and it looks fun. The synopsis sounds fun to read and unique too.
Kelly G on Monday, 11 December 2017 13:43

I really love the cover! The book sounds amazing, too!

0
I really love the cover! The book sounds amazing, too!
Nicole Baker on Monday, 11 December 2017 22:31

I absolutely adore the cover art. Its so inviting and imaginative. Its a world I'd love to exlore with my children.

0
I absolutely adore the cover art. Its so inviting and imaginative. Its a world I'd love to exlore with my children.
Penny Olson on Tuesday, 12 December 2017 00:02

I love the cover. It is beautiful and has a lot going on. It really caught my eye. The story sounds intriguing and imaginative.

0
I love the cover. It is beautiful and has a lot going on. It really caught my eye. The story sounds intriguing and imaginative.
Dan Denman on Tuesday, 12 December 2017 12:36

I think the book cover is colorful and fun. Penelope sounds like a good character and I can't wait to read this book!

0
I think the book cover is colorful and fun. Penelope sounds like a good character and I can't wait to read this book!
wendy rinebold on Thursday, 14 December 2017 21:19

The cover and the book sounds really fun. My kid will love this.

0
The cover and the book sounds really fun. My kid will love this.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Cousins
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of One...
A Curse of Roses
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Based on Portuguese legend, this #OwnVoices historical fantasy is an...
I Don't Want to Wash my Hands!
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From beloved children's author and illustrator Tony Ross, comes a...
Dance Like a Leaf
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As her grandmother's health declines, a young girl begins to...
The Bitterwine Oath
 
3.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
San Solano, Texas, is a quaint town known for...
Sing Like No One's Listening
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a talented young singer...
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first book in an epic and romantic YA...
The Good Girls
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One of Us Is Lying meets Sadie in this...
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Iduna harbors a dark secret. On the surface,...
The Camelot Betrayal
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a new fantasy trilogy from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every summer, they say goodbye. Dorit goes to Tel Aviv...
Incredible Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this illustrated guide, discover fascinating and unusual information about...

Latest Member Reviews

The Cousins
 
5.0
"THE COUSINS is a highly devourable and engaging family drama/mystery. The Story family is very wealthy, running a bunch of..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."
The Raven and the Dove
 
4.0
"An intriguing tale of forbidden love as two young lovers fight to stay together. Well written and entertaining. ..."
The Devil's Apprentice
 
4.5
"This was actually a pretty interesting story. At first I really wasn't sure how it was going to go so..."
A Curse of Roses
 
3.7
"A CURSE OF ROSES is an intriguing YA historical fantasy based on a Portuguese legend. The book tackles themes of..."
Speechless
 
4.7
"this story is amazing! i have a project for honors english 10, and this is a great story to chose..."
I Don't Want to Wash my Hands!
 
3.0
"I DON'T WANT TO WASH MY HANDS is a picture book about the need for frequent hand washing. The little..."
Dance Like a Leaf
 
5.0
"DANCE LIKE A LEAF is a beautiful book about grief and loss of a loved one. A young girl loves..."
The Bitterwine Oath
 
3.3
"THE BITTERWINE OATH is a YA fantasy and light horror read. Nat is the descendent of the girl who put..."
Heart Sister
 
4.8
"The story: When Emmitt’s twin sister Minnie dies in a tragic accident, it cripples not only him..."
Incredible Animals
 
5.0
"INCREDIBLE ANIMALS is a fascinating collection of animals by special skills, including clever camouflage, devoted parents (such as penguins), and..."
Special Delivery
 
4.0
"SPECIAL DELIVERY is a delightfully silly picture book. A little duck is eagerly awaiting the delivery of her baby brother...."