Author Chat with Jaye Robin Brown (The Key to You and Me), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

TK.jp_20210422-165050_1

 Today we're excited to chat with Jaye Robin Brown author of

The Key to You and Me.

 Read on for more about Jaye, her book, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Jaye Robin Brown!

   

Jaye Robin Brown is the critically acclaimed author of the young adult novels Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit and No Place to Fall. Her latest book is The Key to You and Me. She lives in North Carolina with her dog, horses, and wife. You can visit her on Instagram @jayerobinbrown or online at www.jayerobinbrown.com.

 

 

  Website * Twitter * Facebook * Instagram * Amazon Author Page

  

Click Here To Sign Up For Jaye Robin Brown's Newsletter!

 

 

 

 

 

Meet The Key to You and Me!

A sweet and funny ownvoices LGBTQ+ romance perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Julie Murphy, from the critically acclaimed author of Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit!

Piper Kitts is spending the summer living with her grandmother, training at the barn of a former Olympic horseback rider, and trying to get over her ex-girlfriend. Much to Piper’s dismay, her grandmother is making her face her fear of driving by taking lessons from a girl in town.

Kat Pearson has always suspected that she likes girls but fears her North Carolina town is too small to color outside the lines. But when Piper’s grandmother hires Kat to give her driving lessons, everything changes.

Piper’s not sure if she’s ready to let go of her ex. Kat’s navigating uncharted territory with her new crush. With the summer running out, will they be able to unlock a future together?

 

Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

           

     

      YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

I really love MaMolly, Piper’s grandmother. She’s self-assured, confident, a successful entrepreneur, and could give a flip about what anyone else thinks. Yes, she’s a little bougie, but it’s part of her charm. That and her gold bangle bracelets. Plus, she’s got tricks up her sleeve when it comes to Piper. She’s the best kind of meddler.

     

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

I never have titles first. My rough drafts have names like Preacher’s Daughter or Grief Book, or in the case of this one, Coffee Dogs (My wife said wouldn’t it be great if we could teach our dogs to bring us coffee? This somehow morphed into an idea about a teen with an errand business. That teen ended up being Kat in THE KEY TO YOU AND ME.) The title for this book came from a brainstorming session. I love titles that play on what happens in the novel. In the case of THE KEY TO YOU AND ME, Kat’s car keys were pretty instrumental in her meeting Piper and their romance developing.

     

 

YABC:  Do you have a favorite writing snack?

It used to be Jelly Bellys. (Insert sad face here) But now I really avoid sugar, so I’m more likely to eat some chili-coated pistachios or a sliced apple. I also really love coffee and always have at least three cups over the course of the morning.

     

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

For me it’s that writer friends are essential. I have two different groups of friends I go on retreats (pre-Covid and hopefully post-vaccine) with. Those two long weekends carry me through the whole year. It’s so important to have sounding boards, people you can gripe with, and friends who are willing to give you a quick read and a super honest opinion. Writers really are the only ones who understand what it is we do on a daily basis. Thank goodness for Zoom 2020 and early 2021, the pandemic restrictions would have been even more awful if I hadn’t been able to see my writer friends face to face.

     

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I absolutely love the bright fun colors. The artist, Colleen Reinhart, did a super job capturing each girl’s personality and style. I love the key fob in Kat’s hand and the use of the highway to create the heart behind them. The cover makes me happy.

     

 

YABC:  What’s a book you’ve recently read and loved?

I really loved Upright Women Wanted by Sarah Gailey. It’s about subversive horseback librarians in a future west that seems kind of old. And it’s very queer.

   

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

I really love to revise. The rough blueprint of the story is there and it’s all a matter of fine-tuning. This is when I go back in and get deeper with voice, emotion, and setting. It’s when I begin to see the overall theme and work toward making the heart of the story shine. I even love polishing on a sentence level during the revision stage.

     

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

Directions. We call it the family compass. I can go someplace once and find my way back. My dad is the same way. Honestly, it’s a little freaky. I’m like an intuitive GPS.

   

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

I’m a big fan of Lambda Literary. They have a great summer program for emerging LGBTQIA writers, they bring LGBTQIA authors into schools, and support the queer writing community as a whole. I also really like the Southern Poverty Law Center. They do great working striving for justice and equality in the deep South. It’s where I put my political donation dollars.

   

 

YABC:  What advice would you give to new writers?

Write. Maybe that’s a bit concise, but really writing is how we learn to write (along with reading) and writing is how we finish things. More writing is how we edit and get to the stages to pursue publication. But also take breaks. Go on vacations, walk your city streets, listen in on conversations, take pottery classes or learn to snorkel. Everything you do, every interaction you have, teaches you about being human and being human is what makes fiction so intriguing.

 

 

 

The Key to You and Me

By: Jaye Robin Brown

Release Date: April 20th, 2021

 Publisher: HarperTeen

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Two winners will each receive a copy of The Key to You and Me (Jaye Robin Brown) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: The Dreamcatcher Codes (...
Author Chat with Haylie Hanson (World Diver), Plus...

Related Posts

 

Comments 5

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Thursday, 22 April 2021 14:37

Book looks great, look forward to reading it!

0
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Chiara Jucha on Wednesday, 05 May 2021 10:31

This looks cute!

0
This looks cute!
Colleen Burns on Thursday, 06 May 2021 16:53

Such a cute cover!

0
Such a cute cover!
Danielle Hammelef on Friday, 14 May 2021 12:51

The cover is bright and fun. This synopsis has everything I loved about contemporary YA.

0
The cover is bright and fun. This synopsis has everything I loved about contemporary YA.
Tiffany Engler on Sunday, 16 May 2021 14:28

Love this yellow cover

0
Love this yellow cover :)

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites,...
Ember of Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
I am a weed. Unloved by my abusive, alcoholic...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good...
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fourteen-year-old Iranian-American Parvin Mohammadi sets out to win the...
Havoc (Haven, #2)
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the first time in his life, Rain Ryland...
Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps...
Parachutes
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jaret Bachmann travels with his family to his beloved...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...

Latest Member Reviews

Rent a Boyfriend
 
5.0
"I'm not even sure where to begin with this review, to be honest, because I loved this book so much...."
Reclaimed
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
New Moon (Twilight #2)
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
"Junie Kim faces racist comments from a school bully at her middle school. Along with that her school is vandalized..."
Parachutes
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Claire is a rich Chinese girl living the high life in Shanghai with both her parents even..."
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
"SISTER OF THE BOLLYWOOD BRIDE is an engaging YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and community with a dash of..."
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
"NOSOTROS MEANS US is a beautiful bilingual picture book about the enduring and unconditional love between mother and child. The..."
On the Way to Birdland
 
5.0
"Reviewed By Vincent Dublado for Readers’ Favorite A touching coming of age novel by Frank Morelli, On..."
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."